Y11 calliper pin problems

NASIO

Y11 calliper pin problems

Postby NASIO » May 4th, 2007, 7:20 pm

ppl ah find meh front caliper pins wearing regular. is it the grease the type of pins. What de F@#k to do ah getting mad. Ah only have meh wingroad ah yearand changed twice already.

Postby wagonrunner » May 4th, 2007, 8:06 pm

changing your caliper pins?
what type of wear do you see?

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 5th, 2007, 6:46 am

did u change with new or used?

did u assemble them with the correct grease?

It may be the housing is worn and not the pins so it may appear as if the pins are wearing but in fact the hole has too much clearance.

What are the symtoms? Just a clicking when applying brakes? The best bet would be to replace the whole caliper and bracket assy and u could upgrade one time to a P11 set, they kinda cheap for the normal ones and u don't have to change rotors.

U can also machine the pins near the end and put on a few o-rings on it so it becomes similar to the other pin, there are two pins one with a rubber sleve and one bare, the bare pin is usually the load bearing pin. If u have the pins mixed up u could get the noise too.

NASIO

Postby NASIO » May 5th, 2007, 8:10 am

i changed themwith new ones i bought at union auto supplies
i saw the mechanic putin some red grease, not sure of the name.
there are rubbing type of marks on the pins. it makes a rattling sound when going through the rough similar to when u have a bad bushing.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 5th, 2007, 9:09 pm

did one pin have a bit of rubber on it? In each pair of pins one has a ruber sleeve and one is all steel. In normal use rubbing marks are expected, mine has those marks but doesn't rattle.

Colour of the grease is not sufficient, it has to be 'brake grease'. The pins are the correct size? When the pins are loaded into the caliper bracket there should be little or no lateral movement.

kieron21

Postby kieron21 » December 8th, 2007, 11:33 pm

jus remove the pins n fill the holes wit red silicone and re assemble it. wait a few hours and take a spin. i did dat almost 2 yrs ago wen i bought mine. still working great without any noises

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 12th, 2007, 10:14 pm

i had that same prob with pins
bought original pins and had the same prob

more info on the p11 brakes up grade
a high speeds when braking i get a shaking in front feel it on the brakes pedal what could be the prob

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » December 13th, 2007, 7:26 am

^^ i get that same shaking also with a 2003 almera ... any info on this anyone?

krack korn

Postby krack korn » December 13th, 2007, 10:57 am

If u get the shaking between 120 to 100 km/h then ppl will tell u the 'rotor warp' which is not the case. Go to http://www.stoptech.com/tech_info/wp_wa ... disk.shtml they have it all described pretty good.

All u have to do is sand down the disks, u could get them machined but it removes more material. After doing that use wagner organic pads, the problem doesn't seem to occur with wagner. This problem still happens with genuine nissan pads.

Regarding the P11 upgrade get a set of 10" P11(or P10) rotors and calipers and put it in. Bolt for bolt fitment in the B15/N16/WFY11.

cobo

Postby cobo » December 14th, 2007, 8:44 pm

So is not that yuh rotors warped but rather is deposits of cementite(formed by dusts from abrasion and heat) that leads to the 'warping effect'....hmmmmm that is ah interesting scene right dey! I have dat same vibration when stopping and well I gonna change my rotor anyway buh at least ah know how to prevent d problem now. Decent link dey hoss !

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 16th, 2007, 11:04 pm

i have the rotors 10" my y11 carries 9and a 1/4 rotors holes not lined up
rotors i bought wrks on a b15 any suggestions
wanna do the primera brakes set up

by the way they told me rotors warped lol
had em machined earlier this year
gonna change annyway