SR20 speed cut 160km.....180km???????

THE SYNDICATE

SR20 speed cut 160km.....180km???????

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 28th, 2007, 7:28 am

Have a SR20 highport with an automatic transmission and brain.Everything stock.
The car cuts at 180km but recently it started to cut at 160km :?

When driving,upon reaching 160km the car dies off :? .....when i drop speed it picks up again.Another time,upon reaching the 160 km i decided to hold it down.....the car reach 160km,died off and i still kept my foot on the peddle.It picked up back for itself went to the 180km and then cut again,which the 180km cut is normal.

Can anyone tell me why it cuts at 160km AND 180km and why it picks up back speed holding down the peddle?

thanks.... 8-)

Krakkle

Re: SR20 speed cut 160km.....180km???????

Postby Krakkle » November 28th, 2007, 11:46 am

When driving,upon reaching 160km the car dies off :? .....when i drop speed it picks up again.Another time,upon reaching the 160 km i decided to hold it down.....the car reach 160km,died off and i still kept my foot on the peddle.It picked up back for itself went to the 180km and then cut again,which the 180km cut is normal.

This sounds like a restriction in gas flow (when the engine demands the max amt of fuel) i.e. a partial gas choke which will probably get worse if you do not check/replace your gas filter(s) in the tank and the engine bay. :roll:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 29th, 2007, 4:09 am

i na no engine expert but doesnt some of those engines have a speed limiter on it?

nortel

Postby nortel » November 29th, 2007, 8:32 am

check your gas filter. when i used to get speed dropp it was because of that. the filter was fill with sheit. try changing it and see what happens

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » November 29th, 2007, 5:22 pm

pimptacular wrote:i na no engine expert but doesnt some of those engines have a speed limiter on it?

he is right check that.also filters.also if the chip not programed for it and d gears running out.

nortel

Postby nortel » November 30th, 2007, 3:49 am

any results?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 30th, 2007, 6:52 am

pimptacular wrote:i na no engine expert but doesnt some of those engines have a speed limiter on it?

yes it has a speed limiter on it and it's 180km not 160km. :roll:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 30th, 2007, 6:55 am

Sheriff! wrote:

he is right check that.also filters.also if the chip not programed for it and d gears running out.

The car always cut at 180km since i installed the engine,so if it was the ECU it would not have made the 180km in the first place!

It's while building speed i get the drop....it's not that the gears runnin out cause if i didn't have a speed cut i would have gone past the 180km!

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 30th, 2007, 7:02 am

Will check the filter over the weekend but i wont be able to test it .......i have some stablizing and engine mounts work to start so i'll be down for a little bit!

i hope it's nthe filter and not the fuel pump!

solo

Postby solo » November 30th, 2007, 9:19 am

Try resetting the ecu.

Postby bushwakka » November 30th, 2007, 9:40 am

yea...sounds similar to the case when the diesel filter in the frontier is clogged or waterlogged due to poor quality fuel or filter or both lol

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » November 30th, 2007, 10:48 pm

There's a possibility that the Speedometer unit/sensor/sender could be at fault. try swapping it out for another one and then run the car flat-out! see what happens.

nortel

Postby nortel » December 1st, 2007, 2:45 am

I really think you should check the filter. Thats most likely the problem rite there.

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » December 2nd, 2007, 6:43 pm

If it is the filter, he should get an overall drop in performance under hard acceleration and the car would be generally slower than usual. don't get me wrong, the filter could very well be the culprit; the speedo sensor is also worth a try.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 2nd, 2007, 8:04 pm

my old de brain had 2 speed cuts. One at 160 and one at 180... VERY ANNOYING

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 12th, 2007, 8:06 am

Well i finally finished my engine mounts work and took the car for a spin and hear this........(didn't change filters or pump eh)

Upon reaching the 160km driving NORMAL,it went PAST the 160 going to 180,so i slowed down to about 120km..........when i ruff up the ride and drive aggressive, it cut at the 160km again! :?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 12th, 2007, 8:09 am

OldSkoolRule wrote:There's a possibility that the Speedometer unit/sensor/sender could be at fault. try swapping it out for another one and then run the car flat-out! see what happens.

I have a cable spedo not electric :oops: so i don't think it could be that! :|

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 12th, 2007, 9:57 am

The only time the speed cut at 160kms used to come on with my old brain was if i was flooring it but if I was light on the trottle it would pass it and only come on at 180kms

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 13th, 2007, 6:40 am

sentraman wrote:The only time the speed cut at 160kms used to come on with my old brain was if i was flooring it but if I was light on the trottle it would pass it and only come on at 180kms

Then that's it right there.When i flooring it cuts but gradually reaching, it passes 160km and goes to 180km.

Can anyone explain why it does this?

Thanks tuners..... 8-)

someone904

Postby someone904 » March 16th, 2011, 11:01 am

hey did u get this fixed?? i'm getting the exact same thing, even after re-wiring the engine......does anyone know whats goin on with this??one day it didnt happen and went up to 200 kmph in 4th gear (sr20from a primera gt with a 5fwd)...........let me add...there are times the engine would go up to 160 other times 180. only once got the 200.the speed signal is hooked up to the gauge but not the brain (a diaganostic tester was used with the car driving)so the brain does not know the engine speed still it happens.not too sure what gearbox i got but i see it even happening with autos. and would not get the 200 with 4th if it was the box

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 16th, 2011, 8:38 pm

changed pump to 255 walbro......180 right through now,well so far!

gradually or flooring same cut now!

someone904

Postby someone904 » March 17th, 2011, 9:16 pm

but before when u hit the cut did the car slow down to 120 kph before u can build back up??

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » March 18th, 2011, 8:28 pm

your car looks familiar...if its the one in the pic dey. If its from cunupia side.

Hey listen, pm Anil Sooknanan on tuner or check the nissan forum for his details.

Excellent guy when it comes to them SR20's. He maintains our SR20ve Primera and ive seen alot of work he has done.

Im very sure he will sort you out.

someone904

Postby someone904 » March 18th, 2011, 10:17 pm

nah, thats just a pic off the net.... and yea he's my electrican/mechanic too but was just looking through tuner and saw other ppl have the same problem, will try to buy a rb fuel pump tom

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 20th, 2011, 2:51 pm

someone904 wrote:but before when u hit the cut did the car slow down to 120 kph before u can build back up??

when it cut at 140,yes!

other times give or take the same amount of km then picked back up!

someone904

Postby someone904 » March 21st, 2011, 6:04 pm

changed out the fuel pump and the engine has alot more power and no more cut.......thanks

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 1st, 2011, 10:46 pm

^^^smooth.. 8-)

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » April 7th, 2011, 5:50 pm

speed cut :D my ga16 will blow past you when you get your speed cut :D

someone904

Postby someone904 » May 5th, 2011, 8:17 pm

bad news!!!!!!!! its still happening, now i know its not fuel....was driving today and shifted from 3rd to 4th gear at low rpms, ran 4th up to 140kph and got the cut, the car started to slow down and no matter how much i pressed the gas...nothing..... untill i dropped it in 3rd then the engine came back alive.....any ideas??

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » May 18th, 2011, 8:08 pm

buy a speed defender - bye bye speed cut! $800 by garvin's