vvl sounding kinda noisy

firehead..

vvl sounding kinda noisy

Postby firehead.. » November 1st, 2007, 11:56 pm

tuners ah need sum help here...ah have ah question.....

is the sr20vvl a relatively quiet engine or iz it not so silent as compared to a regular sr20?....reason im askin iz that i fine when mine idleing d tappets or sumthing sounding kinda loud...does anyone know a good mechanic who iz good with these engines for when ah hadda do stuff or run into problems in the future?.....

the noise im hearing is like a ticking noise....

Postby X_Factor » November 2nd, 2007, 9:26 am

^^ when last u change ur oil?...

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 2nd, 2007, 11:00 am

that could be ur injectors pulsing :|

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 2nd, 2007, 11:17 am

Good points X_Factor and Dragsta
8-)

Langdon

Postby Langdon » November 2nd, 2007, 11:21 am

change oil or try a treatment

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 2nd, 2007, 11:30 am

^^^personally i wouldn't put a treatment......the oil chang yes,but no treatment.WHY?

Cause the SR20 works with something like 10/30 oil and thing,thats a very thin oil,the treatment does thicken the oil so that will defeat the whole purpose of usin the thin oil in the first place!

Don't get me wrong,the treatment is good,but i would not use it in my SR20.

My $0.02 :|

boogy

Postby boogy » November 5th, 2007, 8:56 am

Oil change, clutch release bearing gone bad, pulsing injectors check all these!!

spliffington

Re: vvl sounding kinda noisy

Postby spliffington » November 5th, 2007, 9:56 am

firehead.. wrote:tuners ah need sum help here...ah have ah question.....

is the sr20vvl a relatively quiet engine or iz it not so silent as compared to a regular sr20?....reason im askin iz that i fine when mine idleing d tappets or sumthing sounding kinda loud...does anyone know a good mechanic who iz good with these engines for when ah hadda do stuff or run into problems in the future?.....

does these engines come with adj tappets..if they do it cud be the valve clearance (valve lash) needs adjusting..or if you hear it wen the engine is cold it would be the injectors pulsing..

THE SYNDICATE

Re: vvl sounding kinda noisy

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 6th, 2007, 6:47 am

spliffington wrote:
firehead.. wrote:tuners ah need sum help here...ah have ah question.....

does these engines come with adj tappets..if they do it cud be the valve clearance (valve lash) needs adjusting..or if you hear it wen the engine is cold it would be the injectors pulsing..

I think the tappets are hydraulic and they are self adjusting...... 8-)

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » November 6th, 2007, 6:01 pm

lifters

krack korn

Postby krack korn » November 7th, 2007, 1:38 pm

no lifters in this engine breds if u want to adjust the clearance u need to change shims

it is a mechanical valve train. not a lot of ppl in trin can do this for u correctly and it ent going to be cheap. put a sound dampener on bonnet and call it george.

thicker oil will help but will slow down the engine and waste gas.

make sure the noise is from the head and not from the bottom end, get a real mechanic to verify its not rod knock or something else first. If its 'ticking' is most likely clearance but always good to check if u don't know for sure.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 8th, 2007, 8:32 am

^^^^Good info bro! :|

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » November 23rd, 2007, 5:21 pm

sr20's known to make funny noise after a while!