Turbo Charging a K20A

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Death-Row

Turbo Charging a K20A

Postby Death-Row » October 2nd, 2007, 7:58 pm

ok so i was on youtube and was checkin for some evo videos and i came across a turbo charged tegra running a K20A so i wanted to get some info on it, since i THINK the compression is high in this engine right? So.....

will the K20A operate flawless if turbocharged running low boost (8psi)?

also what is needed to successfully turbo charge this engine?

can someone run something like 20psi of boost on this engine in any way? how can this be done? will this be a significant gain in HP ?

if done as said above, will this shorten the life of the engine?

not really a honda guy, thats why im askin so much :lol:

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2007, 9:51 am

high compression... the type R version has even more compression than the US type S, so low boost is all you should do on stock block.

There is a bit of work involved to rework the stock fueling system, but it's a DIY project for shade tree mechs. The biggest difficultly is tuning the car since the cam phasing (i-vtec) is tricky... but it's a nasty powerful setup, even at low boost (8psi) is will have you pissing urself... :mrgreen:

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 3rd, 2007, 10:28 am

According to those before me when vtec meets boost ...

:mrgreen:

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 3rd, 2007, 10:37 am

there was a local teg that was turboed but as zhane said..boom..i tink he went thru 3 engines

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2007, 10:54 am

^^ That's because our local tuners over estimate the potency of our gas.

Our '95 octane' is not as knock resistant as we would like to feel.... throw boost on that high compression n/a engine...add in a tuner with high hopes... and BOOM ah got yuh girlfriend...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 1:42 pm

ok so Stock stuff will go boom :lol: what if you got a deep pocket. Can the engine be rebuilt to take a nice amount of boost, something like 18psi? how much will this cost and can it be done down here?

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2007, 2:36 pm

if ur pocket deep enuff... you can boost 30psi... but u hadda bring ur own gas... :lol:

Postby noshownogo » October 3rd, 2007, 3:18 pm

if your pockets real deep then let an established team build the motor in the US using high octane fuel; some shops in the US will even certify the build. As X2 said, 30 psi is possible on a K20 motor but you will no longer be visiting Unipet or NP stations.

Go brave and let us know how it goes :skurry:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 3rd, 2007, 3:25 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:there was a local teg that was turboed but as zhane said..boom..i tink he went thru 3 engines

wasnt 3 engines......................was 3 gearboxes. the gearboxes cant take de jaming with boost. at that time, nobody was selling boxes alone, so he had to buy de engine an box for 20K. de man just had 3 engines rest down.
DE MAN USED TO BE LIKE :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2007, 3:38 pm

HondaB20B wrote:wasnt 3 engines......................was 3 gearboxes. the gearboxes cant take de jaming with boost. at that time, nobody was selling boxes alone, so he had to buy de engine an box for 20K. de man just had 3 engines rest down.

yuh feel we chupid ? :?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 3:55 pm

:lol: :lol: lookin for a daily driver here so a reliable turbo setup. i dont even own the car, its just some research im doing for a future project. since its a daily driver then it will have to be running on regular gas :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 3rd, 2007, 3:59 pm

X2 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:wasnt 3 engines......................was 3 gearboxes. the gearboxes cant take de jaming with boost. at that time, nobody was selling boxes alone, so he had to buy de engine an box for 20K. de man just had 3 engines rest down.

yuh feel we chupid ? :?

An wat dat supposed tuh mean :? :? :? de man realy had engines rest down.

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2007, 4:24 pm

why one would spend near $60k on replacing transmissions when less than half that would been spent on beefing up the box internals in the US and shipping down ?

oh wait... i must be chupid... :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 3rd, 2007, 4:28 pm

I realy dont know wat de FCUK to tell you again nah.................. i jus telling you as it is.

:? :? :?

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2007, 4:31 pm

i dunno meng... say what the funk you want.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 3rd, 2007, 4:35 pm

X2 wrote:i dunno meng... say what the funk you want.

wasnt my car, so if de man only want to buy gearboxes, wat u want me to do.

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » October 3rd, 2007, 4:42 pm

theres a guy with a k20 on boost in a civic like kezays that i saw in vids from up here..that bi**h learnt to drive that car like a boss...with the loss of traction and everything and damn..it just sweeettttt

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 3rd, 2007, 5:20 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:there was a local teg that was turboed but as zhane said..boom..i tink he went thru 3 engines

wasnt 3 engines......................was 3 gearboxes. the gearboxes cant take de jaming with boost. at that time, nobody was selling boxes alone, so he had to buy de engine an box for 20K. de man just had 3 engines rest down.

yea ok....if u say so

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 5:20 pm

yea cause i thinkin, the k20 already pushing good stock so if you beef it up a bit and turbo that it would be a beast. i recently started to dig up in the honda world so excuse the noob comments and ting :lol:

so can it be done? turbo the engine, run about 18psi of boost and run it on our crappy gas? daily driver.

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2007, 5:31 pm

18psi will blow just about any n/a engine...

...jus concentrate on buying a car first nah... :lol:

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » October 3rd, 2007, 5:35 pm

get some pistons and cams and fuel management and of course upgrade your fuel system and run a 10psi

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 5:35 pm

X2,hahah im the curious type lol, i see something and then i want to know how it works and i was surfing you tube and i saw this sweet dc5 doing it to evos and stuff on the track and it was turbo and the evos were upgraded also. so i just wanted to get some info on it.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 5:36 pm

im not gonna be running 18psi but i just wanted to know the possibilities. what will it take to do this successfully.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 3rd, 2007, 6:14 pm

Death-Row wrote:im not gonna be running 18psi but i just wanted to know the possibilities. what will it take to do this successfully.

real $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » October 3rd, 2007, 6:16 pm

^what he said

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 6:23 pm

hahahha ah know but a lil run down on what this real money will be doing and how much is REAL money :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 3rd, 2007, 6:33 pm

Death-Row wrote:hahahha ah know but a lil run down on what this real money will be doing and how much is REAL money :lol:

NOT MONOPOLY :lol: :lol: :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 7:39 pm

HondaB20B, :lol: :lol:

gimme some exact figures nah lol or aproximate stuff

paz

Postby paz » October 3rd, 2007, 9:30 pm

you going to look at least 40kttd ..and you will spend that and still be like ..fcuk i need some more sheit ..

go n/a its a beastly n/a engine ..
cams.intake ,headers,exhaust and kpro .

do some weight reduction on your ITR and you got a low 13sec car that could take real jamming .its better to go n/a and spend the rest ,on suspension ,brakes ,looks .in the end you will have a better allrounded car..

check buddy club they recently had a special on their k20 cams,camsgears and valvetrain

paz

Postby paz » October 3rd, 2007, 9:33 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

i aint know why he was crying ..he ah crunt .
with all that money he spend he coulda invest in a quaife box or one built by gearspeed to take the jamming ..

Return to “HONDA”