ok there wats goin on when i accelerate they is a hi pitch noise comin from my speaker. i want to know wat could cause this an how do i go about fixing it ?
Tell us about your system and how it is installed. The noise you are hearing is alternator whine and is transmitted as a high frequency radio sugnal. The power supply in your amp (deck or external) is amplifying it and hence the noise.
The way to reduce it is to run wires properly and ground properly.
ok my system is made up of a headunit,preamp,4champ,components and an 8"sub.
every thing waz workin find on till the rca form the deck to the preamp started shortin so lastnight i took out the deck an replace the rca cable to the pre amp and dat when i started gettin the engine noise when i started the van an accelerated.
AHA! Did you run it in the same location as the previous one? If the RCA is run too close to the amp power wire or the pre-amp power wire then it will pick up noise. Also you should use a high quality RCA cable. If the one you used is a cheaper brand try a better quality one. Also chack the gronds for your preamp and deck and make sure they didn't get loose when you were changing the RCA cable.
Switch off everything. Get any rca cable. The shield is the outer part, not the inner pin.
Take a piece of wire and temp attach one side to the shield and the other side to a good ground point. Listen to your system and hear if the noise goes away. If so, solder the fcker, or if you want, you can send your deck to repair the trace fuse that has blown (which causes the problem)
As lance asked is it a pioneer headunit? If so yuh guh have tuh let a pro repair the trace fuse as silent riot suggested. My headunit was a victim of similar circumstances.
aye men,,,i gettin the same problem,,,,when i used my deck alone,,,no noise,,,when i use the pre-amp,,,i am hearin the whining noise,,,,its a pioneer deck and directed pre-amp,,,,what nex