WTK 17's Mess up your ride?

douglaking

WTK 17's Mess up your ride?

Postby douglaking » July 24th, 2007, 3:08 pm

More specifically would 17's on a b14 mess up the ride. I live on a bad road but I take my time most of the time but ppl are telling me the bigger the rims the slower the ride.

And the rougher the ride is this true or jus crap?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 24th, 2007, 10:00 pm

Yes, with bigger rims, u'll want to put lower profile tyres on it, so the quality of ur ride will drop.......

but ppl are telling me the bigger the rims the slower the ride.

No, it wouldnt really get slower, but u'll have an increase in gas milage :D

eitech

Postby eitech » July 24th, 2007, 10:22 pm

yuh lose yuh take of as well...

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » July 25th, 2007, 3:42 pm

u will lose ur low end/take off speed because it will take more effort from the engine 2 revolve the wheel...

with a bigger rim u will need less tyre thus minimizin the comfort of ur ride...

and u will put extra pressure an tension on ur cradles, axles, steerin column etc because more effort will beneeded 2 turn the vehicle...

i will recommend nothin more than 2" bigger than ur stock rims...

e.g. stock rims 14" customized 16" anythin more will be longterm stress...

my $0.02

Primera_GT_NeoVVL

Postby Primera_GT_NeoVVL » July 26th, 2007, 12:01 pm

^^ yep he is right on the money$

eitech

Postby eitech » July 26th, 2007, 4:29 pm

and yuh know some ppl go say nah man, i have 17" and d ride is d same and it wokin good. believe me i have heard it. i went from 14 to 15 and i good right dey...

daryl0510

Postby daryl0510 » July 26th, 2007, 4:43 pm

dougla, i had 17's on my ride, it takes a tool on your ends and joints but thats the price you pay for comfort or style, they don't always go hand in hand, but b14 can accomodate like 215\45\17 tyres, so you might get away with the smoother ride and longer tyre wear than others with say 205\40\17. i think! :?:

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » July 26th, 2007, 10:27 pm

16's on an ad van pressure wit suspension 205 50 16

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 26th, 2007, 10:51 pm

Primera_GT_NeoVVL wrote:^^ yep he is right on the money$

no more that 2 inches from stock recommended. U ever see how those B14(with the original engine eh, not no SR business) and non v-tec civics with 17's does accelerate, man u could ride faster than that...

aviboy

Postby aviboy » July 27th, 2007, 9:39 am

wa stupidness yuh talking.... have a stock b14 with 17" rims and i'll admit u loose A LIL BIT OF SPEED BUT NOT MUCH.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 27th, 2007, 10:15 am

umm, there is a difference between speed and acceleration...i believe u lose some acceleration. ur car will still reach 100 or more

eitech

Postby eitech » July 27th, 2007, 10:16 am

by d time yuh ar reach 100, i way in front. and i have 15"

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 27th, 2007, 11:07 am

^^^ Leave him nah, he eh know the difference........

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » July 27th, 2007, 1:39 pm

i have 18" chrome on ah almera n d take of slow but when u reach up to 80 or so i fine i does accelerate to 140 n thing real good .......like normal nah...yuh know.

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » August 1st, 2007, 7:01 am

17" . Not much loss of take off power. In a manual vehicle this loss is overcome within a couple secs. Covers road like a mofo when running. The ride is a lil bit rougher( running 215/45/R17) but hey its up to your comfort & how you drive. I only chnge bushings on the cradle once per year. No big set of money there

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » August 1st, 2007, 10:11 am

^^^ wud u like me 2 prove d facts on a tarmac... :fist:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 1st, 2007, 2:47 pm

real misconceptions going on here boi......
17's wont mess up your accel....providing you do your research......make sure you dont put 40lbs rims on your car and yuh good...... :lol:

simply.......by adding weight to your wheels you increase the inertia (resistance to move) of the wheels to turn so your accel drops off.....but increasing size dosent mean increasing weight....lots of rims on the market are lightweight.......
a simple rule of thumb......1 pound off your wheels is like taking 20 pounds from your car....thats how much heavier/lighter rims affect your acceleration.....
yes the ride would be rougher, but it wont kill your acceleration if u put lighter wheels, it would increase your accel.....hence: buy lightweight rims
thats why top secret and Jun and those other big tuners have cars on 20's and they can still run in 9's and 10's or run in drift races and still win

i have 17's lightweight for over 2 years and i'll be moving up to 18's lightweight, as soon as my 17's are sold :!:

eitech

Postby eitech » August 1st, 2007, 6:51 pm

and having said all that, what u all tink bout this...do d calculations for your tyre sizes.

http://www.1010tires.com/TireSizeCalculator.asp

douglaking

Postby douglaking » September 17th, 2007, 10:50 am

sorry to revive the dead but here is a further question

Say i was to put 16's and i want to drop the car. Coilovers or drop springs?

I more lookin to the coilover becuase right now i have 15's and i'll be droping the car before i buy the 16's. (Only becuase the current front suspension dead).

AND if i do use the coil overs what other adjustments i need to put in place. My car is stock right now.

If I choose drop springs what would be the recommened size and what type of shocks to use?

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » September 17th, 2007, 11:44 am

how much u wanna drop yur car cuz drop springs gives you 2" drop max....

douglaking

Postby douglaking » September 17th, 2007, 1:13 pm

for the 16's or 17's to look neat

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 17th, 2007, 6:08 pm

just to look neat....coilovers is overkill and would run up your bill unnecessarily. drop springs mated to good shorter shocks you should be well on your way....for a b14 there must be a combo sumwhere that not expensive....check around the websites for tokico, KYB, ebachai (sp?) tein springs and tokico shocks is a nice setup, but tokico sells spring/shock combs as well.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » September 18th, 2007, 6:51 am

OK so then. Whats the price of a good lowering spring/shock combo?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 18th, 2007, 8:24 pm

top notch adjustable spring/shock combo from tokico is about $650US...which is overkill for you......there should be lower performance packages, for way less.....