super white light bulb review thread

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 28th, 2007, 2:36 pm

yeah ok the PIAA's have 2 be decent then but all things aside if you paying upwards of $500 TT for a pair of filament bulbs you might as well explore the option of installing a cheap HID (High Intensity Discharge) lighting kit. of course that would run you around US $200 but the ouput is intense for 33W power consumption. plus the bulbs should outlast any filament bulb and they come in an array of color temperatures so you could ask around and find out what color temp may best suit u then get one that bests suits your visual requirements. from experience though i can assure everyone of u that if u follow krack korn's advice you will have no further night/rain visibility problems

venum

Postby venum » March 28th, 2007, 5:14 pm

jasonsjohn16,

the things mentioned above about windscreen etc is good advice - use this along with better headlights

I would recommend the PIAA H4's cuz i have seen it side by side with the Sylvania Silverstars

however I do not think that you will escape the rain effect

I experience the increased reflection off the wet road with teh Silverstars, but it is not too bad

I have a friend with a CK 4 that warned me about 100W, started to meth teh sockets, these were the cheapo set though

Rudman would be able to give a better comparison, since he had stock Phillips, then went Silverstars and now has PIAA

I gonna try the PIAA's in teh CS though

Terran

Postby Terran » March 29th, 2007, 10:10 am

This is some useful info... I decided to give the PIAA's a try... got them off Amazon for US$64.99.

fras

Postby fras » March 29th, 2007, 10:46 am

Besides hyper white what are the other colours 100w???
I know a CK4 Lancer with bright purple-ish head and fog lights

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 30th, 2007, 10:56 pm

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 30th, 2007, 11:44 pm

So does anyone know where in south selling PIAA" and does it really cost ^ of $500TT?

Postby equipped2ripp » March 31st, 2007, 1:57 am

Saied, i doubt... it's too expensive to stock.

yeah sheriff's has the silverstars for $385, so the PIAA would cost more than $500 if it was to be sold here.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 31st, 2007, 2:59 am

^^^yuh see? HID"s for me yes i not goin through that.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 31st, 2007, 3:53 am

Aritethanks to all and well its not my eyes cause i thought i needed glasses buh is not that and well i doh tink its my lights cause it doh only happen when i driving my car..and i talking bout night when rain falling on the highway...now YES i see buh i mean i wanna see better....so basically i nah saying i cant see u know..I CUD and well i jus wanna see BETTER...

and well yea the engine heavier than the original engine buh tha eh cause tha cause even before tha use 2 happen and well the lights work gud normally..my only problem is when rain falls sometimes at night..as i said i cud see but not as gud as i want, so hence the reason i asked for the better bulbs..

dave where can we get these bulbs that u use in trinidad??

venum

Postby venum » April 1st, 2007, 12:15 am

Saied, you need to get a powerseller to bring in those lights

check W2J

Rudman got his from W2J, for ~ TT$550.00 I believe

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 29th, 2007, 6:39 am

BUMP for an Informative thread :mrgreen:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 29th, 2007, 6:53 am

Now took a small read, silverstars sounding cool. Operating on the same wattage but give off a brighter light. Chances are I may not have to upgrade the sockets and wiring. Anyone has any down here and for how much?

fras

Postby fras » July 12th, 2007, 12:28 am

When u put theses 100w bulbs on ur head/fog lights do u need to add a relay?

The guy I got the bulbs from told me u dont need relay... But an electrician told me I'll need relay :!:

So which is it :?:

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 12th, 2007, 6:00 am

ill go with the electrician

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 12th, 2007, 7:15 am

If you are running 100watts you will need the relays.

Terran

Postby Terran » July 12th, 2007, 8:17 am

I've used 100W bulbs already and they're not that great of a lighting boost. More light, yes, a bit more dangerous to oncoming drivers, but not worth the extra cash and time, the relay, etc. just for that little extra.

I got the PIAAs and they work DAMNED WELL. It will cost even more, but believe when I say the output is cleaner, and adds a bit of style too.

I am considering HIDs for my other ride, but the housing is not HID compatible and the beam pattern is below impressive. I may very well stick to the PIAAs since I've had good experience with them for the last three months and add an aftermarket Xenon fog light kit for added effects without the dangers to oncoming drivers.

fras

Postby fras » July 12th, 2007, 9:35 am

I'm not big on electrical... So what really would the Relay do?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 12th, 2007, 1:55 pm

Check it out here:http://www.the12volt.com/relays/relays.asp

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 19th, 2007, 10:22 pm

Very good info

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 20th, 2007, 6:46 am

I should be getting a pair of PIAA bulbs in a couple of weeks. I'll let y'all know how they compare to the 100 watt halogens I have at the moment.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 23rd, 2007, 2:04 pm

pimptacular wrote:it helps in complete darkness..but in the rain when the roads are wet an there is a reflection from other lights u dont see ya light beams on the road..an also bcuz the lights are white if u pass under a street lamp which lights are kinda yellow or orange u wont see ur headlight beam
^^^^X2

I have them,and i does see real trouble with it! :(

Especially at night..... :(

Sometimes when rain fallin,i does even take off my head lights,cause, on or off....with them bulbs,it don't make a difference! :(

My $0.02... 8-)

aidan

Postby aidan » July 24th, 2007, 1:01 pm

Hella Optilux XP, work real good,dark or rain still works great!but ensure ur headlamps aligned properly if not any different bulb wont make a difference.
which model fielder u hav?cuz i kno d newest ones (2005-2007) comin with HID lowbeam.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 24th, 2007, 6:53 pm

hella is good sheit as well

aidan

Postby aidan » July 25th, 2007, 1:25 pm

^^of course.i have sum liteglow i had buy from street concepts,dem is work good too,but it more effective for drivin dan if u want a HID look.

fras

Postby fras » August 1st, 2007, 11:33 am

What about bulbs for fog light? I bought some 80w hyperwhite 9006 Bulbs but they looking like the original in colour (doesn't have that tinge of blue like the hyper for the head light)... And I dont really know if they brighter cause I change the bulbs same time I installed the fogs!

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 1st, 2007, 2:37 pm

arite people there are a lot of good info here taught i add a few to it a lot of you asking about why the bulb socket keep burning with out the relay system it's because the socket is the weekest point of connection so when the wires get hot it seems to expand a bit at that point reducing the flow of electrons arite let me don't get so technical :? it just get hot and burns at that point up grage to heavy duty suckets and upgrade to the relay system .. it improves the lighting don't matter the brand , wattage of the bulb your low beam shows like what your high beam used to look like and you high beam ummmmmmm just imagine :lol:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 2nd, 2007, 8:25 pm

yea jus wanted to add my experience with the sylvania silverstars

shows kinda yellowish, not the white i expected but visibility at night is definitely better

i also got a set of HIDs 10000K for High.. well thats a dream, its just a nuisance to oncoming drivers.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » August 4th, 2007, 7:25 am

If ur silverstars are showing yellow, get the wiring upgrade done, it means that the voltage at the lamp is too low.

bas

Postby bas » August 14th, 2007, 4:11 pm

100w 130w

Postby nervewrecker » April 3rd, 2008, 11:30 am

I hav these headlights & hav the normal yellow lights installed in dem, cetch arse tuh drive in the night where it hav street lights.
his is how it does show in the pitch dark:

high beam:

low beam up close:

it dosent carry the normal almera headlight bulb wih the high & low beam in one bulb. wat wattage bulb can you guys recommend? (white light preferably cuz i eh able wit the yellow).
I asw som1 mention something bout a bulb tha has the same consumption with respect to wattage (bout 55 - 60) but a higher output (somwhere within the 100 watt region), can i put those without having to run a relay & risk melting my sockets etc?