Fuel prob, or ignition?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Fuel prob, or ignition?

Postby zodiaque » June 2nd, 2007, 11:30 pm

Been having a problem with my rwd lancer that I can't figure out a solution to.

After about 130 kmph the engine starts to do a repetitive buck and it won't cross that speed. The car used to reach about 160 on good days befor this problem. It happens through all the gears at around 4-5000 rpm (can't say accurately what rpm, tach is fried)

It also happens on on hard cornering and hard stop and take off situations.

Could this be the carb starving for fuel because of a defective pump or other reason? Or does it sound more like an ignition problem?

I'm running a 32/36 Webber on a 1400 engine. I already replaced the fuel filter, carb check valve, points, condenser, rotor and cap.

Thanks 8-)

Anton

Postby Anton » June 3rd, 2007, 11:02 am

As it happens with cornering and sudden stops i would suspect a fuel issue. Defective fuel pump will be my first guess.

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » June 3rd, 2007, 3:04 pm

Anton wrote:As it happens with cornering and sudden stops i would suspect a fuel issue. Defective fuel pump will be my first guess.

Yes, or a sticky float assembly... 8-)

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » June 3rd, 2007, 3:20 pm

If yuh stayed within the speed limit 80km/h, u wudnt have dat problem :mrgreen:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 3rd, 2007, 9:30 pm

^true but :roll:

it sounding like a Fuel problem...wha kinda pump u runnin?
also Have u taken out the plugs to check its condition?

Postby Dave » June 4th, 2007, 9:08 am

points may be closing up, try re-adjusting them

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 4th, 2007, 12:36 pm

^ That is what I thought the problem was, changed the points, gapped em properly, same problem.

I'm running the stock mechanical fuel pump, is it possible for a pump to loose efficiency without completely dieing? Last time it just died without warning.

Guess I will check the plugs too, will do that when I get home.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 4th, 2007, 12:38 pm

SUZUKI SPORTsman wrote:If yuh stayed within the speed limit 80km/h, u wudnt have dat problem :mrgreen:

I does try, it does not work :oops:

droppa

Postby droppa » June 4th, 2007, 1:23 pm

[quote="zodiaque"]^

I'm running the stock mechanical fuel pump, is it possible for a pump to loose efficiency without completely dieing? Last time it just died without warning.

quote]

yes it is, some time they die slowly and sometime they jus fail......

try using an electric pump and adjust the float a little bit..... :twisted:

Postby Razkal » June 4th, 2007, 1:41 pm

i guessing fuel pump...had a similar prob wid my car, got a used walbro n prob gone :mrgreen:
if u did all the necessary ignition checks and repairs then its deff a fuel delivery problem.

Postby Dave » June 4th, 2007, 2:10 pm

in the mechanical pumps, there is a valve and as it wears, yes u will loss pressure
do a pressure test and see b4 replacing
carb jet clogged?
what about the filter in the weber?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 4th, 2007, 10:13 pm

well Put in ah SR20 :mrgreen:

But, it could be ur Fuel pump must be Dirty and needs servicing/cleaning, or it not supplying sufficient Fuel at that speed.....

u might wanna put a Electric fuel pump

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 4th, 2007, 10:39 pm

Dave wrote:in the mechanical pumps, there is a valve and as it wears, yes u will loss pressure
do a pressure test and see b4 replacing
carb jet clogged?
what about the filter in the weber?

Yep, cleaned out jets and the filter in the weber, I had forgotten it had that filter but my cousin reminded me it was there.
Next check is the pump.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 4th, 2007, 10:41 pm

Dragsta wrote:well Put in ah SR20 :mrgreen:

But, it could be ur Fuel pump must be Dirty and needs servicing/cleaning, or it not supplying sufficient Fuel at that speed.....

u might wanna put a Electric fuel pump

No SR20, lol! Was thinking of investigating the electric route.

Postby Dave » June 5th, 2007, 7:55 am

plunger and high speed diaphram in the weber? they good?
vacuum lines clogged or broken?
pigtail in the distributor broken?

droppa

Postby droppa » June 5th, 2007, 9:22 am

pigtail in the distributor broken?

yuh see that fawker.....
he cud be the suspect rite dey, i used to get sumtin like that wid my 1.4 in the lancer and believe it or not twas the frikkin pigtail wire jus groundin on the dizzy housing and shortin off the circuit..... :twisted:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 11th, 2007, 11:49 am

Problem solved, I replaced the fuel pump yesterday befor dex, no more fuel cut :mrgreen:
thanks for all the advice :D