Synthetic oil question...

QG

Synthetic oil question...

Postby QG » December 16th, 2006, 12:22 am

i bought my oil about over 3 months now, and when you check the oil it seems to go down little by little, but faster than the ordinary motor oil. I definately know that the oil ain't leaking, plus the lady who sold me this at RAMASIR's said that the oil will last me 9months without changing. What you all have to say bout this?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 16th, 2006, 1:49 am

No matter what oil you use, you MUST to what the owner's manual for your car recommends. If you have a QG15DE engine....then, stick to 5000 km or 3 month change intervals, regardless of the type of oil you use.

And if you're going that route, then it makes little sense to use Synth oil in a QG15DE engine....your better off with something like GTX (excellent for regular usage), or if you want a higher end oil...maybe Castrol Syntec Blend.

And NO oil is supposed to last you nine months...that's just bogus IMO. What brand and viscosity of oil are you using anyways?

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 16th, 2006, 9:51 am

What brand and viscosity of oil are you using anyways?

that was going to be my first question :!:
also check to see if you car smoking, maybe a sign of internal problems :arrow: valve seals leaking/rings :idea:

QG

Postby QG » December 17th, 2006, 2:26 am

i'm using castrol syntec sae 5-50W. the engine smoke is not black but at times it releases smoke when in heavy traffic.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 17th, 2006, 9:36 am

blue coloured smoke is a sign of burning oil.

u said u had it in there for 3 months, it could be burn off, that is usually associated with thin oils.

like Knight1, said better off using GTX, for an engine like a QG, those engines dont require high end oils. nothing is wrong with using synthetic in your car, but its over kill and waste of money for the same protection. if u switch to GTX (prob 20W50) u should see the burning off problem solving itself.

Terran

Postby Terran » December 17th, 2006, 12:09 pm

If you are using a 5W on a QG15, then it is indeed an overkill. The oil is too thin and becomes too volatile for your application. It will begin to burn off. I suggest you continue to use a fully or even semi synthetic oil, but use a 15W-40 or 15W-50.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 17th, 2006, 7:52 pm

If you are using a 5W on a QG15, then it is indeed an overkill. The oil is too thin and becomes too volatile for your application. It will begin to burn off. I suggest you continue to use a fully or even semi synthetic oil, but use a 15W-40 or 15W-50.

I totally agree :!:
I use 15W 40 and it works just fine :idea:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 17th, 2006, 11:04 pm

Terran wrote:If you are using a 5W on a QG15, then it is indeed an overkill. The oil is too thin and becomes too volatile for your application. It will begin to burn off. I suggest you continue to use a fully or even semi synthetic oil, but use a 15W-40 or 15W-50.

I thought that with a multi-grade oil that it would be thin at colder temperatures and then thicken as the temperature rises. Would the burn off you are referring to occur only at cold temperatures, i.e., at startup. I had tried NP Ultratec 5W-50 in a NA engine with 330,000 km on the odometer (engine was re-built at 230,000 km) just to see how it worked as compared to the Shell 15W-50 semi synthetic that I was previously using. After 5,000 km, the engine suffered no burn-off whatsoever with the Ultratec. I never had to top off the oil at all.

JWT

Postby JWT » December 17th, 2006, 11:21 pm

hmm thas strange when i had my qg i ran 10w 30 from the first day i had my car till i did my sway and engine was still good

advice run a mineral oil becaus eyou are not stressing this synthetic oil
also lack of use of synthetics may cause sludge to build up on engines (saw this first hand)

QG

Postby QG » December 18th, 2006, 8:12 am

aight, good info...i will check into this soon. BTW, does castrol syntec comes 15w50? or anyother figures close to it?

Postby Dave » December 18th, 2006, 8:51 am

the grades in castrol that we get here are 5w-50(full syn), 10w-30(dino), 20w-50(dino and blended), 15w-40(blended) and 25w-60(dino)

moti

Postby moti » December 18th, 2006, 9:06 am

I use Castrol Syntec Blend but oil level don't drop and i change my oil every 3000 km. thats like every 5-6 weeks. Many said that it is to often to change the oil but I say that with the traffic from chag to pos from mon-fri while you in traffic the engine is working so I don't wait until the car does 5000 km because by that time the engine would have crossed the 5000 mark but thats just me.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » December 18th, 2006, 10:15 am

art n motion wrote:

I totally agree :!:
I use 15W 40 and it works just fine :idea:

This is something I can't understand.
At our temperatures, shouldn't a 5W50 and a 15W50 have exactly the same viscosity?????

Isn't the first digit is only for cold temperatures?

Someone clear this up for me nah.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 18th, 2006, 10:26 am

Corollaman wrote:
This is something I can't understand.
At our temperatures, shouldn't a 5W50 and a 15W50 have exactly the same viscosity?????

Isn't the first digit is only for cold temperatures?

Someone clear this up for me nah.

Check out this thread.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... +viscosity

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » December 18th, 2006, 10:32 am

^^Taken from API motor oil guide.

Multigrade oils such as SAE 5W-30 and 10W-30 are widely used because, under all but extremely hot or cold conditions, they are thin enough to flow at low temperatures and thick enough to perform satisfactorily at high temperatures

Doesn't this agree with what i was saying?

Rory, am I missing something?

QG

Postby QG » December 18th, 2006, 12:38 pm

i even tried formular 1 full synthetic oils and i've seen some performance.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 18th, 2006, 11:06 pm

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 18th, 2006, 11:07 pm

Oil type Typically used in....
5W-30 Cooler climates, like Sweden or Canada
10W-40 Temperate climates, like England
15W-50 Hot climates, like Italy, Spain, Egypt

eitech

Postby eitech » May 21st, 2007, 12:34 am

well, i used synthetic oil for my last change (castrol 5w50) and to be honest, the only difference i saw was in d price "ouch"..i only reach 3000km so far with it. no fuel efficiency improvement or nothin of the sort dat was testified by others. actually, while checkin my spark plugs last week, i noticed a slight film of what appears to be oil on one of the washers..dat can't be right! :shock: i never got that with the mineral oil. other than that the oil never burned off, level is good. car's performance was the same. I think i gonna revert to castrol 20w50..dats my $0.02. cars is a b15 (QG15DE)

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 21st, 2007, 12:53 am

Using the Mobil 1 5w-50 and it taking real jamming. Kinda expensive but i feel its worth it. using it about 4 mths now and no need to top up yet :fadein: .

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 21st, 2007, 9:50 am

I have a QG15 & run castrol gtx 10W 30 and the car gives me > 525km per tank on Super gas. Those engines especially the e-throttle version are NEO LEV engines so a good light weight mineral oil will do the trick- no need to waste your hard earned money on oil. Pls see below off the web:

AD Van Undergoes Full Model Change
--Featuring the NEO Di Direct-Injection Diesel Engine, Winner of the FY 1998 Sho-Ene Taisho (The Energy Conservation Prize)--

AD Van 1.5VE (fitted with optional features)

Since its debut, the AD Van has been well received by a wide spectrum of users as a commercial van that combines outstanding economy, due to its low fuel consumption, with spacious interior comfort and practical utility.

As part of this full model change, the AD Van adopts completely new hardware units along with Nissan's new-generation M&S class platform for midsize and small cars. In addition, ease of operation, visibility and maneuverability have been improved for greater practicality, the premium-quality look of the interior and exterior trim has been further enhanced and a large cargo area has been created for improved payload capacity.

The engine selection features the newly developed 2.2-liter NEO Di YD22DD direct-injection diesel engine, recipient of the FY 1998 Sho-Ene Taisho (The Energy Conservation Prize)*, and the NEO QG gasoline engine series (QG13DE, QG15DE and QG18DE) that delivers powerful driving performance. These superb engines are combined with the smooth-shifting E-ATx automatic transmission and the newly developed Auto Control 4WD system, distinguished by its compact, lightweight design, to provide both excellent fuel economy and superior driving performance.

Under the revised tax code for FY 1999, all AD Van models qualify for a reduction of the automobile acquisition tax as low fuel consumption vehicles.
Moreover, to expand the lineup further, 4WD gasoline engine models are now available with an automatic transmission.

Cleaner emissions have also been achieved for enhanced environmental friendliness. All diesel engine models comply with the exhaust emission standards of the*gLaw Concerning Special Measures for Total Emission Reduction of Nitrogen Oxides from Motor Vehicles in Specified Areas,*hand all gasoline engine models are available with a low-emission vehicle (LEV) specification that reduces emission levels to approximately one-tenth of the average values currently required under Japan's exhaust emission regulations.

Nissan plans to add a natural gas-fueled model, friendly to the environment and effective for preventing global warming, in the early part of 2000 with the aim of completing this improved lineup of low-pollution commercial vans.

High-level safety performance has also been vigorously pursued. All AD Van models are built with Nissan's high-strength Zone Body construction for excellent crashworthiness and come with a driver's airbag supplemental restraint system (SRS) as standard equipment. A passenger's airbag SRS, antilock braking system (ABS), front-seat Active Head Restraints and other safety technologies are also available as optional features on all models.

*Sponsored by the Energy Conservation Center, Japan (ECCJ), the Sho-Ene Taisho (The Energy Conservation Prize) program commends apparatuses and systems for residential and commercial use that demonstrate outstanding energy conservation performance and other superior features.

Price Range and Sales Target
The new AD Van is priced in a range from 894,000 yen to 1,557,000 yen in nationwide. Nissan projects a monthly sales volume of 3,000 units.

SPECIFICATIONS OF THE AD VAN Grade 1.5VE

Overall Length (mm) 4,370

Overall Width (mm) 1,695

Overall Height (mm) 1,475

Wheel base (mm) 2,535

Tread Front (mm) 1,480

Tread Rear (mm) 1,440

Ground Clearance (mm) 145

Curb Weight (kg) 1,110

Turning Radius (m) 4.6

Steering Rack & pinion with power assistance

Suspension Front Struts

Rear Torsion beam type trailing-arm

Brakes Front Ventilated disks

Rear Leading-trailing

Tires Front 165R13-6PRLT

Rear 165R13-6PRLT

Engine Ê
Type NEO QG15DE, In-line 4, DOHC

Displacement (cc) 1,497

Bore x Stroke (mm) 73.6 *~ 88.0

Max. Power (PS/rpm) 100/6,000

Max. Torque (kg-m/rpm) 13.5/4,400

Compression Ratio 9.5:1

Induction EGI(ECCS)

Transmission 5-speed manual transmission

Gear ratio 1st 3.333

2nd 1.955

3rd 1.286

4th 0.926

5th 0.756

Reverse 3.214

Final 4.176

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BACK

Polydor

Postby Polydor » May 21st, 2007, 10:05 am

Nice read.....I've got a YD22 of which you speak of ......call me....

eitech

Postby eitech » May 21st, 2007, 10:25 am

QG

Postby QG » May 22nd, 2007, 10:23 am

great read there padna, very interesting indeed.

QG

Postby QG » May 22nd, 2007, 10:27 am

what is the E-ATx transmission? Another thing is, AD are a bit crash proof because i was in an accident and just the bonnet bend in, cracked bumper and a mash up fender.

Everything else was in good condition.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 22nd, 2007, 11:25 am

Polydor, what is a YD22 eh?

QG15, If this car was bought used, you really don't know the true mileage. If the bearings, rings, valve clarences wear to a specific tolorence using say a 50 body oil then switching to a lighter oil WILL cause oil to burn off slightly, so my advice is just stick to the oil you were using. E-ATx is the electronic t/mission as they work parallel with the e-throttle.

You will notice how much more efficient these cars are on fuel compared with the older QG15, however, the older ones are alot faster.

As for the part with the AD being crash proof- well i'll take your expert advice on that !!!! :D

Polydor

Postby Polydor » May 22nd, 2007, 1:06 pm

Chemical Darryl wrote:
The engine selection features the newly developed 2.2-liter NEO Di YD22DD direct-injection diesel engine, recipient of the FY 1998 Sho-Ene Taisho (The Energy Conservation Prize)*

Diesel pwr... :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 22nd, 2007, 1:22 pm

Polydor, did not know it was a diesel engine , & how much yuh piping it for. If I put this engine will i have to put stiffer springs etc. Do you have them ? does this have a turbo if so then we can talk business cause ah fed up with dem taxi's leffing me out from acceleration @ Nestle to finish @ couva flyover. Dem e-throttle qg15 real real slow !!! :crazyeyes:

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » May 23rd, 2007, 1:45 am

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 24th, 2007, 3:57 pm

Polydor, do you have the Y22d & does it have a turbo on it. I real shame cause ah man in ah Hilman hunter PX 6307 cut meh arse from Nestle heading south this morning.

Ah putting a G5% tint on this car to hide my FACE!!! :cry: