WTK: Air intake improvements for performance

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

shamzipi

WTK: Air intake improvements for performance

Postby shamzipi » May 10th, 2007, 3:39 pm

I was thinking a turbonator K&N combo and ducting for cool air.
Any suggestions??

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 10th, 2007, 9:12 pm

ah boy a man who know about turbonator does it really work?? and did u get it down here or order.

shamzipi

Postby shamzipi » May 11th, 2007, 10:55 am

i really dont know much about the turbonator but im hearing that there is little to no improvement on HP........ im looking for a local dealer though?
One person even saying they lost HP with the turbonator.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 11th, 2007, 7:19 pm

dyno test it :lol: link up with that whole dyno lime

Coolieboy

Postby Coolieboy » May 12th, 2007, 7:19 am

for real
if allyuh could get ah turbonator and we could dyno test it on that day, :?: that would be perfect but i heard that is dosent do one as$ eh

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » May 12th, 2007, 11:45 am

Just the idea of putting someting between you trottle body and the the air filter tells me that the turbonator ain't really go help!! Yuh better off doing a cold air intake and if possible getting larger trottle body.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 12th, 2007, 12:03 pm

what about men who have carb's like me? same thing apply?

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » May 12th, 2007, 3:32 pm

There is a general principle for making more power and it's basically deals with displacement, ignition timing, fuel and air!! If you air is colder that means it will have more oxygen hence that's why on mornings and at nights your car seems to be on red bull!! Your engine is like an large air pump, it sucks through the intake and thows out the exhaust. Anything done to increase thus process will give you more power. Other mods usually increases efficiency which may result in an apparent increase in power but its efficiency(eg a ligthened flywheel)

Coolieboy

Postby Coolieboy » May 13th, 2007, 10:29 pm

i think the k&N drop in or CAI is a good enough upgrade, turbonator...i dont think so.

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » May 13th, 2007, 10:57 pm

From an engineering point of view, engineer I am, when the air is colder, the heat transfered in cumbustion is greater, i.e the combustion efficiency is greater and with better combustion the vehicle performs better! It has to do with the calorific value of the fuel and so on!!! But you guys get the point! Cold air intake is cheap and you get alot more hp out of your car!! It would be the same for any kind of engine!!

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 14th, 2007, 9:34 pm

i was thinking about trying a cold air for my carb the price was looking nice

Postby AllTrac » May 14th, 2007, 9:39 pm

snake oil

Postby gt4tified » May 15th, 2007, 11:07 am

TRD FACTORY....you talking a pack of bullcrap and moreso contradicting yuhself. Go to school and stay off the toyota forum nah....

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » May 17th, 2007, 2:53 pm

That's why we toyota men cannot reach anywhere!! Always slashing each other !! Ok Gt4tified I have a right like everyone to voice an opinion whether you agree with it or not. Hard luck!! Already went to school and to U.W.I at that too.

Postby gt4tified » May 18th, 2007, 11:15 am

TRD_FACTORY wrote:That's why we toyota men cannot reach anywhere!! Always slashing each other !! Ok Gt4tified I have a right like everyone to voice an opinion whether you agree with it or not. Hard luck!! Already went to school and to U.W.I at that too.

Eh? You may have the right to voice your opinion in yuh back yard under a fig tree but not in a forum where you giving ppl bad advice or talking a pack a stupidness.

For eg.
"Just the idea of putting someting between you trottle body and the the air filter tells me that the turbonator ain't really go help!! Yuh better off doing a cold air intake and if possible getting larger trottle body."

Ahhmm I have something between my TB and airfilter....its called a turbo! You telling me that that ain't gonna help either?

or...
"There is a general principle for making more power and it's basically deals with displacement, ignition timing, fuel and air!! If you air is colder that means it will have more oxygen hence that's why on mornings and at nights your car seems to be on red bull!! Your engine is like an large air pump, it sucks through the intake and thows out the exhaust. Anything done to increase thus process will give you more power. Other mods usually increases efficiency which may result in an apparent increase in power but its efficiency(eg a ligthened flywheel)"

What de hell does that^^^ have to do with the turbonator? Plus....since when cold air have more oxygen and how does that = more power? NOT TRUE! SOmeone else on the thread who professed to be an engineer explained it as it should be.

While I am not an advocate for the turbonator, I am not disputing it either. It seems to be a device that changes the velocity and airstream of the intake charge which if done properly, could never be a bad thing!

Re: the increase in HP and gas savings...only someone who has properly tested the device can prove/disprove this.

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » May 18th, 2007, 2:11 pm

gt4tified said:

What de hell does that^^^ have to do with the turbonator? Plus....since when cold air have more oxygen and how does that = more power? NOT TRUE! SOmeone else on the thread who professed to be an engineer explained it as it should be.

I now reading what TRD_FACTORY wrote, and what gt4tified said is true....Cold air does not in any way mean more oxygen...It maens colder air so the capacity for the air to hold heat energy is greater and so the combustion efficiency is better!!! With this better combustion you have more hp out of your engine!!!!

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » May 19th, 2007, 11:01 am

gt4tified, the turbonator is something used primarily on N/A engines so don't include engines with turbo's or superchargers!!.Your turbo is being driven by the exhaust , I wonder what is driving the turbonator!! The intake air?? The whole idea behind my point is that the turbonator is physically btw the trottle and air filter and I would expect some sort of air speed decrease. A turbo isn't stuck between the the inatke piping like the turbonator it feeds of the exhasut and fills the intake!!

RollaCoaster

Postby RollaCoaster » May 19th, 2007, 11:40 am

i was of the opinion that colder air meant denser air which meant more oxygen. Doesn't oxygen mean better combustion? Then why the reason for the intercooler in turbo engines? I was thinking of using a ram air intake with a scoop

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 20th, 2007, 10:26 am

Forget the turbonator and just put in the CAI. Already seen dyno testing on these kinds of things and they add no performance whatsoever.

FOX

Postby FOX » August 22nd, 2007, 11:15 am

I looking for the K&N Air Filters and the CAI for my Corolla VVT-i 2003

Return to “TOYOTA”