SR20ve vs K20a...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 12th, 2007, 8:35 pm

Big Money Waste? dude, get with it, buy hyundai :lol:

Postby RASC » May 13th, 2007, 3:19 am

stephanweaver wrote:what is better

bread and cheese or bread and butter?

bread and butter better, it cheaper, you can use the change and buy some sugar to mix in d water.

I love this one, that basically sums up the Nissan Arguement! :lol:

SR20VE>K20A, because it cheaper and parts easier to source...so for example...SR20DE> 2JZ because it cheaper and easier to source parts ent? :lol:

Postby RASC » May 13th, 2007, 3:25 am

If I was to give anyone of you guys now, a STOCK, 0 MILEAGE MOTOR-

FREE

Which one would you take??? The SR20VE or the K20A???

Case closed-have a good Sunday ppl :!:

Postby Monk BANzai » May 13th, 2007, 3:38 am

^^ nope not closed...some of us like to swim against the "Free and popular" tide... give it time man.....give it time....

Postby RASC » May 13th, 2007, 3:43 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ nope not closed...some of us like to swim against the "Free and popular" tide... give it time man.....give it time....

Banzai give it time for what?
Give it time for the K20 to become cheaper and parts to become more readibly available-and for aftermarket companys to keep supporting the marquee and tuning houses put down more W.H.P? And N/A Honda racing teams put down 9 sec time slips...hold up they been doing that since '05 :lol:

AND then alyuh go see the light? :?

Postby RASC » May 13th, 2007, 3:52 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Bc5R0FYAH8Q" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-scqkOQB4iY" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
:wink:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 13th, 2007, 10:14 am

bawhahah

talk dun yes.

IT HAVE A REASON WHY K20 IS LOTS OF $$$$$$

BECAUSE IT BETTER

cheap ting no good, good ting no cheap.

it have 6 gears
packs a punch,

AND you can do pimpin, its a honda.

Postby cinco » May 13th, 2007, 11:07 am

lawd
honduh believers........
btw i eh see a video showin a rsx/integra wid ah k20a yet....
buh allyuh flappin bout sr20 in b13 :lol: :lol:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 13th, 2007, 11:09 am

Ohh yes...wel i guess if i had Extra $$ to waste i'd go Honda.....But i guess not too much ppl would have that these days :roll:

so, i'll stick with the slow and CHEAP Nissan for now :wink:

:D

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 13th, 2007, 11:23 am

i fine honda engines suck. the amount of problems i does see people having with it, stupes. And only 20% go say they never had trouble eh, and the rest who does try to cover it up, does be saying is better they were driving a nissan or toyota. Honda engines doh even take turbo good, unless you fully build it.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 13th, 2007, 11:40 am

like yuh never had punanny to be asking dat question

i didnt have to buy a car to get it like d rest of d honda club :mrgreen: :pokes:

yes the sr20ve comes with ~200bhp
but ne1 ever stop to think the ones you see on our streets came CVT and the process of makin it manual alot harder than buyin a MMS*or whaever d name* and slappin it on

99.9% of vvl owners who did the manual conversion cars work worse than a normal DE ....seems like no one here knows the proper way to get the vvl to engage
Last edited by BlueIce on May 13th, 2007, 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 13th, 2007, 11:53 am

They are horrible on boost... waste of time and rubber since traction no longer exists.

<embed src="http://videos.streetfire.net/vidiac.swf" FlashVars="video=d18da944-f221-4e88-8f6e-9877014617d6" quality="high" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="428" height="352" name="ePlayer" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dFu93uYFk1Y" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

totaly a waste of time and unreliable... :roll: :roll: btw had a buddy with a STOCK k24 with a gt35r and nice little setup tuned to 24 psi making 580+ whp and 470+ tq... blew the block at 33.1 psi because of a boost spike. so stock un built block took 24 or so psi and was making near 600 whp.. guess boosted honda's really and truthfully are a waste of time. :roll:

Postby cinco » May 13th, 2007, 12:39 pm

blah blah blah
everyone hav a padna dis padna dat
rite now wat runnin d streets?????
sr20det cough cough cough

proof is in d pudding
and DM nobody talkin bout k24 wat time he ran?
all the hp in the world means nothing if it cant get to the ground

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 13th, 2007, 12:44 pm

^^Peakperformance 1st Gen :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 13th, 2007, 1:08 pm

Hear what, the K20 price will never drop, SR price always varying, I know a man get a VE for $2000, yep head and block and he doing some work on it and changing the internals and turbocharging it and it still won't cost the price of a foreign abused K20 and would walk all over it. All things are relative, for the price of a bare K20 you getting a fully rebuilt VE turbocharged???? Think bout it, reliable as well. You don't know what the foreign used engines go through, weather, road abuse, park up for years, hose dry rotten, water pumps seizwd, oil pumps clogged. Then some unsuspected buyer gets it and drops it in after paying between 20-25,000 and engine gone through. Warranty up because it take so long to do the wok with them mechanics down here and money up in the air. Many things to think about. I paid some cash for a lightly modded RB26DETT, big FMIC, upgraded brain and soem other things, I got the front cut home, scrapped everything, removed all the harnesses, put the bare block on the tray of my pickup and degreased it and powerwash his ass. stripped the entire engine down to nuts and bolts and currently getting everything to rebuild the internals to take more power and hopefully make it bulletproof. I just decided to go a different route but it is expensive, most times getting a used engine I would advise to change the oil and water pump when the engine is outside as a small insurance. Paying big money and not doing it right is the biggest problem I see. Either way, honda or nissando it right and the rewards will be enjoyable.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 13th, 2007, 1:09 pm

got that damn right skippy, you could have all the power in the world, but without traction, totally useless

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 13th, 2007, 1:09 pm

cinco wrote:blah blah blah
everyone hav a padna dis padna dat
rite now wat runnin d streets?????
sr20det cough cough cough

proof is in d pudding
and DM nobody talkin bout k24 wat time he ran?
all the hp in the world means nothing if it cant get to the ground

10.8 @131, 24" slicks btw no traction till 4th gear.

what running the streets? anything that can drive.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 13th, 2007, 1:16 pm

excuse me haters
last week i was down in chaguanas in the new wallerfield nah

i line up with a turbo b14 to see who car would reach down the 1320 first....
well..... i think my little 1.6 reached first, after the quater, this b14 pass me like i parked up..... i was like. dude the race is over..... why the ricer flyby?
:wink:

people have done 400whp + on STOCK HEAD BLOCK b16a.

its not really the build. more the TUNE

ent it have some sr20deTURBO that doing 15 seconds? WTF? 15 seconds and dat turbo? wa d ass. :shock: :lol:

Postby cinco » May 13th, 2007, 1:17 pm

stephanweaver wrote: i think my little 1.6 reached first,

ok
no track so that doh count
come again

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 13th, 2007, 1:17 pm

Allyuh serious? I think the whole point of tuning is to TUNE! Not to argue which one better! For the older heads, I was one of the first to put a DE in a 95 Elantra - when everyone was saying get a 4g63t. I then rebuilt it with RWD internals and put in oil squiters, etc the whole nine - and people still were saying I was lying, you can't do that. Then I put down 200 WHP at 7psi with NO TUNING when a modded type r was putting down only 168 - an my car only cost 20,000 to put together! So I'm very sorry, KA, SR, VG, RB, WHATEVER! Tune what you like and enjoy it!
THAT'S THE WHOLE POINT!

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 13th, 2007, 1:21 pm

cinco wrote:
stephanweaver wrote: i think my little 1.6 reached first,

ok
no track so that doh count
come again

ah was infront of him from 1 2 3 and a bit of 4th gear, track or no track.

HE GET BLAZE, sheit nissan.

Postby cinco » May 13th, 2007, 1:22 pm

and im sure fellas who was there wud say otherwise........

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 13th, 2007, 1:26 pm

Yeah it's one things to install but I think everyone agrees it all comes down to the tune. As simplae as a wideband and a dyno and a programmable ECU, I have seen power gains of up to 60HP, higher boosted applications though. It's unbelievable.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 13th, 2007, 1:42 pm

cinco wrote:and im sure fellas who was there wud say otherwise........

you can beleive what you want, please your mind :)

Postby Monk BANzai » May 13th, 2007, 2:02 pm

HUTRINI wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ nope not closed...some of us like to swim against the "Free and popular" tide... give it time man.....give it time....

Give it time for the K20 to become cheaper and parts to become more readibly available-and for aftermarket companys to keep supporting the marquee and tuning houses put down more W.H.P? And N/A Honda racing teams put down 9 sec time slips...hold up they been doing that since '05 :lol:

Listen..you may have jumped on the Honda bandwagon simply becuz thay have proven thier performance... I have no issues with that...( i jumped on the Bulls wagon but will to this day maintian they wre the greatest BBAL team EVER!!) ..if thats your point of view then cool....but you sometimes come across with this condescending attitude that NOTHING else can step up to the might of Honda ...no matter what. And that notihng else makes sense in your book. So what if the Honda platform has (and prolly will continue) proven to be a strong platform?......you've read nearly all of the this thread...and if you open yuh eyes you would have seen that whilst its not a popular route there are other ways of getting that same power with out going Honda.

You've read how ppl have machined diffiernt bits to make it work. And while its not "easy" as with Honda to jsut go and order...someof us like the challenge of going a differnt route......its not about opening yuh eyes to see.....and hey as was said by other ppl b4.....in the end Honda may well win...but they won by stretchin all their gears...and launching perfectly...for they knew that if they only slipped....that was it.

Thats what it is for me...i dont know if you own a car or have been involved in any properly thought out project where the goal wasnt to buld a 1.4 miler but a pracitcal car, then you'll udnerstand that going with the most powerful isnt always the best way....read most magazines...June SCC spoke about the SCC project MR2 vs a stock Lotus Elise...and while the MR2 blew the doors off the ELise....almost all of the authors agreed that they wud take the Elise in an instant over the MR2. Their porject car was setup to "Beat"....but the Elsie was set up to "drive".

judt drawing comparisons so that you will understand my point.

Mind you that is not to say that Honda is not a great engine...it is...wen K20 first came on th scene in trini...i got one Less the brain and harness from ANP) with the intention of putting it in the rover....but my budget cudnt allow for it.....that was in 2005. Its two years later and i still cant justify that spend...doing a conversion like that is gonna cost me near $40K to so as opopsed to another solution with is costing me $23K (inclusive of brakes, electricals, upgreaded parts, machine work, tuning..).

I've told SrBill (after the Maracas run)....i LOVE the S2000.....simply adore that front engine rear wheel drive set up..adn the engine is strong....i've told Justin (when he had what was to me the best thought out Integra Type R in this country...putting out 220 WHEEL HP) that given finance i wud own a Teggie.......and prolly in time when the price comes dong (God know how long.....SR's was in this place for 7K and has never reallu budged...where as an K20 back in 2005 was 12K..now goes for 20K upwards....) i will go that route.

But yall honda men have this general "we are Spartaaaaaaaaaaaaa" tone thats both sad and hilariuos at the same time.

BTW ... last night a certain K20 in a EK hatch (white) was owned by a NON turbo nissan up east eh...not stock clearly..and no NOS.....and that followed the friday night runs where Shok and Warren in their K-rnks ruled the night at that same spot....ask Kinday....he took part in the washing on Friday night. Kinday's accord is moving!!! dam that H22 wukking hoss!!!

Interesting to note the amount of mods that Shok and Warren have done (And th money!!! good lawd..one driver has spent close to $80K thus far!!!) to get what they've got. TO me....if you have to spend that kind of money....stay turbo...cuz if I spent 80K beihnd the Ox?...its going to do 11's ....and im not speculating about that.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 13th, 2007, 2:13 pm

who win
warren or shock??

sirbill

Postby sirbill » May 13th, 2007, 2:31 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
HUTRINI wrote:

Listen..you may have jumped on the Honda bandwagon simply ...

Well said Banzai- re ppl. thinking Honda is some kind of God send. It ain't. In fact, Hondas have very ordinary offerings when stock (the way I like to judge manufacturers by the way). I think the last "King of the roost" Honda put out was the DC2 ITR which was hailed as the best front driver ever created at the time. I think the MazdaSpeed 3 now holds that title in some circles over the DC5.

Usually what makes Hondas interesting is what they achieve with relatively small displacement engines - reasonable performance at economy, but seldom CLASS winning performance, especially these days.

So fellas, enjoy your rides no matter what and how they make up. I cringe whenever I hear a younglings saying Honda is d best etc. It builds an image which unfortunately as a Honda enthusiast I have the burden of sharing. Like how they used to say all Porsche drivers are Pwicks - but hell give me one and I would be gladly classified as such.

Postby RASC » May 13th, 2007, 2:49 pm

Mildly Tuned lets see what kind of results one MIGHT expect--->

SR20VE

SR20VE
175 whp
SR16VE CAMS
Hotshot Gen 6 Header
3" exhaust
Maxima Maf - popcharger
w/a/i
calum ecu - calum modified program
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2-tRGlUTw80" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
NX2000/100 NX, VE powered racing at LACR. In Car cam. MODS are Warm Air Intake, factor VE exhaust manifold, 2.5" exhaust. 15 SEC
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-1LIzufsuPA" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
1994 Sentra SE-R SR20VE Dyno Run, Stage 6 Motorsports, Dyno Dynamics, 196 WHP
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/FXq_6-284yE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
Engine shot of my dyno 182hp/140tq
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/6U34Dz2Z6p8" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

K20
220 WHP
157 W. TRQ
K20
Stock Internals
Rcrew Race Header
Fujitsubo RM01A Exhaust
V-Stack Intake
RBC Manifold
Profab Intake Manifold Gasket
Hondata KPRO Tuned by Dave @ DNR
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/nwFvXV_P0lw" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
K20a2 swapped 95 Civic. 3rd gear pull 206whp 156trq tuned with Kpro, r-crew exh header and 2.5" exh, custom CAI
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4Xibgw9YDmQ" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
217 WHP
154 W. TRQ
K20 Type R
Stock Internals
Profab Intake Manifold Gasket
Rcrew P.I.M.P
V-Stack Intake
Rcrew Race Header
Buddy Club Spec-II Exhaust
Hondata KPRO Tuned by Dave @ DNR
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/NXh9Fbj-13U" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

You Decide :wink:

Postby Monk BANzai » May 13th, 2007, 3:26 pm

^^ LOL...ok buddie.......hahhhahaaa only as HUTRINI can.....

Postby RASC » May 13th, 2007, 3:29 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ LOL...ok buddie.......hahhhahaaa only as HUTRINI can.....

LOL...jed I seriously trying to be objective\\\
The figures are there...This was a random search, I picked without digging too deeply :? All I did was to make sure they were all mildly tuned...

You decide :wink: