SR20ve vs K20a...

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » May 12th, 2007, 3:04 am

So those men with k's etc Rev out hit high rpm's do what you must to leave out the sr's just pray someting doh go wrong internally with that engine because 20k-30k eh easy to come by again .....that comfort of knowin u can go all out on an sr because yuh know if sheit happen yuh could fix it or get a next one easy an fast and at the fraction of the cost......Man nothin beats that....ontop of that sr does tek abuse.........and again these opinions are based for trinidad

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » May 12th, 2007, 3:07 am

k20 is a reallll good engine but even if i could afford one i would not take it because of that reality........PARTS :|

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 7:01 am

§ephiroth wrote:So those men with k's etc Rev out hit high rpm's do what you must to leave out the sr's just pray someting doh go wrong internally with that engine because 20k-30k eh easy to come by again .....that comfort of knowin u can go all out on an sr because yuh know if sheit happen yuh could fix it or get a next one easy an fast and at the fraction of the cost......Man nothin beats that....ontop of that sr does tek abuse.........and again these opinions are based for trinidad

i hear all dem sr men who racing, always lookin for gearbox

Postby RASC » May 12th, 2007, 10:24 am

So because an engine is easier to source, easier to find parts and cheaper makes it the better engine?

If that so-you guys must really think the 2JZ is a P.O.S. :?

Get with the times ppl K20A is the future! It has the greatest buzz on the scene right now, and its full potential has not even been exploited yet...the engine has only been out since 2001...thats ONLY 6 years, its full potential as a performance beast is yet to be reached!

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » May 12th, 2007, 10:32 am

7k for a sr20ve (187hp) + 23k on engine work will beat a k20A (217hp).......because u can modify to make it do that haha :mrgreen:

stock for stock k20a produces more HP/TQ , P11 vs DC5, integra takes the win for sure......

BTW do we have this engine here in trini
SR20VET
The 2.0 L (1998 cc) SR20VET was the first turbocharged engine from Nissan with variable timing and lift control. It produces 280 PS (206 kW) @ 6400rpm and 309 nm @ 3200rpm.

Postby Monk BANzai » May 12th, 2007, 12:29 pm

^^ yeh..but it rare like a clean jockeyshorts in the beetham dump.....ive derven that eninge in th heavy arse Xtrail GT.....it moves......effortlessly.....

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » May 12th, 2007, 1:37 pm

that sr20vet in the xtrail will keep going no matter what..i have driven in one with 10+people and the torque in that thing just kept the van moving..

i think with any engine if u rev it to its redline all the time u will be looking at less efficiency..just like when your breaking an engine in..

ksimon

Postby ksimon » May 12th, 2007, 2:59 pm

Being a sr20 VE owner :lol: I mus admit, it is much more powerful than a DE. but against a K20 a, even with the VE's VVL i think i could probably take a beating.. "NOT BY MUCH EH!"

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 12th, 2007, 3:05 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/TmKh9DK08ts" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

11.4 @119.50 mph

not a stock K20 infact its a 2.4 and its built.. but this is a full street car. K series > shittan err nissan :lol:

ksimon

LSD

Postby ksimon » May 12th, 2007, 3:32 pm

can anyone link an lsd box for the sr for me...7124635 ...pls call i'm khegan by the way

Postby cinco » May 12th, 2007, 3:32 pm

allyuh still eh talkin apples to apples
everyone focusin on the R version of the k20a
why not talk about thek20a from a crv or a stream
match it to the sr20ve from a primera
that would probably mean the honda men would have to shut up though.....

k20a stream 158 hp
sr20ve primera 187... or thereabouts

before yuh ask fuh proof
http://asia.vtec.net/article/k20a/

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 3:44 pm

allyuh is a bunch or textbook tuners

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 12th, 2007, 3:50 pm

But thats the true definition of a trinituner if you didn't know.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

that and google tuners. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

sirbill

Postby sirbill » May 12th, 2007, 4:51 pm

cinco wrote:a
k20a stream 158 hp

before yuh ask fuh proof

So lets compare apples with apples.

Nissan SR20VE engine
Displacement 2.0L
Power: 187hp
Torque: 145lb/ft
Production: 1997-2001

closest honda match seems to be:

K20Z3
+ Displacement : 1998 cc
+ Compression : 11.0:1
+ Power: 197 bhp (147 kW) @ 7800 rpm (sae NET Rev 8/04)
+ Torque: 139 lb·ft (189 N·m) @ 6200 rpm (sae NET Rev 8/04)
+ Redline: 8000 rpm

Nissan wins with torque, honda wins with hp. Let's call this even.

Now up the Ante:

Nissan SR20VE '20V' engine
Displacement 2.0L
Power: 204hp
Torque: 152lb/ft
Production: 2001-Present
Vehicle: Nissan Primera 20V

compared to:

K20A2

* Found in:
o 2002-2004 Acura RSX Type-S and 2002-2005 Honda Civic Type R (EP, European)
+ Displacement: 1998 cc
+ Compression: 11.0:1
+ Power: 200 hp (147 kW) @ 7400 rpm
+ Torque: 142 ft·lbf (193 N·m) @ 6000 rpm
+ Redline: 8200 rpm

Nissan wins with both power and torque, so nismo wins this round.

Lets up it again:

Woops, unless it has a trubo, that's it from the Nissan 2L offerings it would seem. From Honda we have though:

2001-2005 Honda Civic Type-R (EP3)

* Displacement: 1998 cc
* Compression: 11.5:1
* Power: 212 bhp (215 PS, 158 kW) @ 8000 rpm
* Torque: 149 ft·lbf (202 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
* Redline: 8400 rpm

S20ve 20V still has more torque, so lets call this a draw since honda has more hp.

2001-2006 Honda Integra Type-R (DC5)

* Power: 217 bhp (220 PS, 162 kW) @ 8000 rpm
* Torque: 152 ft·lbf (206 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
* Redline: 8500 rpm

Finally, Honda has tuned this engine to make as much torque as the 20v. Lets give this one to Honda then?

Score so far : Honda 1, Nissan 1 Draw : 2

Sticking with Honda 2L though, we still have the venerable F20c:

"The S2000 (2000 to 2003 models) initially all came equipped with a 2.0 L (1997 cc) F20C inline 4 cylinder DOHC-VTEC engine producing 243 PS (179 kW, 240 hp) at 8,300 rpm and 153 ft·lbf (208 Nm) of torque at 7,500 rpm"

True, a different type (not K20, but older than a K20) yet more powerful than all we have talked about so far in terms of torque and power.

And then the Civic R-R shows just what can be done with the K20 at 260hp and 188 lb-ft.

Now the turbo offerings, well Honda has only one turbo offering to date, and it isn't a 2L but 2.3L. But let compare anyways:

Nissan SR20VET engine
Displacement 2.0L
Power: 276hp (280ps)
Torque: 228lb/ft
Production: 2001-present
Vehicle: Nissan X-Trail GT

and from Honda:

K23A1

* Turbocharged
* Found in:
o 2007 Acura RDX
+ Displacement: 2300 cc (acura.com)
+ Compression: 8.8:1 (acura.com)
+ Power: 240 hp @ 6000 rpm (SAE net)
+ Torque: 260 ft·lbf @ 4500 rpm (SAE net)

OK, so Nissan wins on power but Honda clobbers them on torque :shock: . So once again, let's call this a draw.

Oh what fun it is, paper racing.... yawn

Anyways, so We have Honda 1, Nissan 1 and Draws 2 (3 if u count turbos).

Net effect is nobody really wins on paper.

I wonder why no one rushing to put "nismo power" in their specialty cars though?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YCW0U2VJDX8

and

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTMF0Ha_C7w&NR
Last edited by sirbill on May 12th, 2007, 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » May 12th, 2007, 5:14 pm

sirbill,thanks for that

Sad we had to wait 9 pages full of BS

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 5:40 pm

sirbill wrote:
cinco wrote:a
k20a stream 158 hp

before yuh ask fuh proof

So lets compare apples with apples.

Nissan SR20VE engine
Displacement 2.0L
Power: 187hp
Torque: 145lb/ft
Production: 1997-2001

closest honda match seems to be:

K20Z3
+ Displacement : 1998 cc
+ Compression : 11.0:1
+ Power: 197 bhp (147 kW) @ 7800 rpm (sae NET Rev 8/04)
+ Torque: 139 lb·ft (189 N·m) @ 6200 rpm (sae NET Rev 8/04)
+ Redline: 8000 rpm

Nissan wins with torque, honda wins with hp. Let's call this even.

Now up the Ante:

Nissan SR20VE '20V' engine
Displacement 2.0L
Power: 204hp
Torque: 152lb/ft
Production: 2001-Present
Vehicle: Nissan Primera 20V

compared to:

K20A2

* Found in:
o 2002-2004 Acura RSX Type-S and 2002-2005 Honda Civic Type R (EP, European)
+ Displacement: 1998 cc
+ Compression: 11.0:1
+ Power: 200 hp (147 kW) @ 7400 rpm
+ Torque: 142 ft·lbf (193 N·m) @ 6000 rpm
+ Redline: 8200 rpm

Nissan wins with both power and torque, so nismo wins this round.

Lets up it again:

Woops, unless it has a trubo, that's it from the Nissan 2L offerings it would seem. From Honda we have though:

2001-2005 Honda Civic Type-R (EP3)

* Power: 212 bhp (215 PS, 158 kW) @ 8000 rpm
* Torque: 149 ft·lbf (202 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
* Redline: 8400 rpm

S20ve 20V still has more torque, so lets call this a draw since honda has more hp.

2001-2006 Honda Integra Type-R (DC5)

* Power: 217 bhp (220 PS, 162 kW) @ 8000 rpm
* Torque: 152 ft·lbf (206 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
* Redline: 8500 rpm

Finally, Honda has tuned this engine to make as much torque as the 20v. Lets give this one to Honda then?

Score so far : Honda 1, Nissan 1 Draw : 2

Sticking with Honda 2L though, we still have the venerable F20c:

"The S2000 (2000 to 2003 models) initially all came equipped with a 2.0 L (1997 cc) F20C inline 4 cylinder DOHC-VTEC engine producing 243 PS (179 kW, 240 hp) at 8,300 rpm and 153 ft·lbf (208 Nm) of torque at 7,500 rpm"

True, a different type (not K20, but older than a K20) yet more powerful than all we have talked about so far in terms of torque and power.

And then the Civic R-R shows just what can be done with the K20 at 260hp and 188 lb-ft.

Now the turbo offerings, well Honda has only one turbo offering to date, and it isn't a 2L but 2.3L. But let compare anyways:

Nissan SR20VET engine
Displacement 2.0L
Power: 276hp (280ps)
Torque: 228lb/ft
Production: 2001-present
Vehicle: Nissan X-Trail GT

and from Honda:

K23A1

* Turbocharged
* Found in:
o 2007 Acura RDX
+ Displacement: 2300 cc (acura.com)
+ Compression: 8.8:1 (acura.com)
+ Power: 240 hp @ 6000 rpm (SAE net)
+ Torque: 260 ft·lbf @ 4500 rpm (SAE net)

OK, so Nissan wins on power but Honda clobbers them on torque :shock: . So once again, let's call this a draw.

Oh what fun it is, paper racing.... yawn

Anyways, so We have Honda 1, Nissan 1 and Draws 2 (3 if u count turbos).

Net effect is nobody really wins on paper.

I wonder why no one rushing to put "nismo power" in their specialty cars though?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YCW0U2VJDX8

ALLYUH SEE WHEN I SAY ALLYUH IS A BUNCH OF TEXT BOOK TUNERS?!!

"OK, so Nissan wins on power but Honda clobbers them on "

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 5:45 pm

allyuh talkin about hp and tq, where the gear ratio numbers?

how much gears dem sr20 have?

whats chassis yuh puttin dem sr20 in? taxi cars?
chinee say "cheap ting no good, good ting not cheap"

yuh want a good nissan? get a skyline, silvia, 180 ect.....

yuh want a taxi? buy a b14 and drop in a sr..

yuh want to get laid? buy a civic

now to end all this talk, WHO NISSAN CAN STEP UP TO THE NATURALLY ASPIRATED challange?

yall sayin k20 cost this and that, and yall can buy a s20 and have change to modify.... WELL DO IT AND SEE HOW FAST YUH IS, you will still be slow with a sr20.

all dat gtir pulsar talk ect....... doh worry, i commin for allyuh soon.

sirbill

Postby sirbill » May 12th, 2007, 5:45 pm

ALLYUH SEE WHEN I SAY ALLYUH IS A BUNCH OF TEXT BOOK TUNERS?!!

"OK, so Nissan wins on power but Honda clobbers them on "

^^^This dude doesn't know sarcasm when it slaps him in the face :mrgreen:
Last edited by sirbill on May 12th, 2007, 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » May 12th, 2007, 5:46 pm

lol :lol:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 5:51 pm

ahahah
sorry bro, didnt read it anyways just jumped on you

sirbill

Postby sirbill » May 12th, 2007, 5:52 pm

no sweat, is all fun

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 5:52 pm

what is better

bread and cheese or bread and butter?

bread and butter better, it cheaper, you can use the change and buy some sugar to mix in d water.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 12th, 2007, 6:02 pm

coco-butter!!!!! done know! :lol: :lol: :lol:

aviboy

Postby aviboy » May 12th, 2007, 6:02 pm

stephanweaver, i wah see your honda beat a gti-r pulsar...

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 6:04 pm

aviboy, doh worry, you will be brown nosing after
LOL

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 12th, 2007, 6:15 pm

yuh want to get laid? buy a civic

everything aside .......
why is it most honda men seem to buy vtec JUST to get punanny? :lol: :lol:

sirbill

Postby sirbill » May 12th, 2007, 6:44 pm

like yuh never had punanny to be asking dat question :mrgreen:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 12th, 2007, 8:02 pm

dun talk

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 12th, 2007, 8:09 pm

Question.......why them honda men does be watching my car when I pass them going the oppsite direction with their jaw on their lap :lol: I respect all cars by the way, jus playing, thesedays any car can make big power, I like the fact that hondas can be built reliably and hold high rpms, but as always I am a nissan man so that's how it goes.

Postby cinco » May 12th, 2007, 8:24 pm

thank you sir bill
i was just trying to start the conversation i was aware of the classes you put up but too lazy :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
my point was ppl comparin a midsized luxury car against a purpose built factory tuned racer :lol:

i still say to each his own and if yuh want to get laid
BUY AH BMW :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: