SR20ve vs K20a...

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » May 8th, 2007, 9:56 am

my view, (personal)
if you talking "RACE"
B motor: must rev to 8500+ (making power) some form of cams, and uped, CR, hard work, dam good tuning

K motor: no frank, must rev tuh 9000 (making power) cams, ITB, dam good tuning

D motor: boost....

and hear wah IF a sr20*whatever* beat you on the 1/4 mile, know that on the road after 160, they can never reach you....
:twisted: :twisted:

kezay

Postby kezay » May 8th, 2007, 10:01 am

The reason why you speak like that Kester is because you don't have first hand experience with the K series engines. When you do then you'll forget the B series. Ask Tola the B series King. :lol:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » May 8th, 2007, 10:36 am

B was king....
but is trinidad so the B still king...
it have was small ppl who duh even build motors for a living, that making better k than Tola... with less parts and $$$

NOT me... other ppl...

and i NOT saying Tola not good, so don't go there

Kinday

Postby Kinday » May 8th, 2007, 1:45 pm

Funny thing though, Tola's K did 13.2 on the quarter :wink:

A well built, well tuned K in the correct chassis will leave many competitors in the dust...be they, NA or boosted.

Kudo's to you and your project Kezay. I do hope you make the hp numbers you're looking for....it makes for an interesting and truly do-able project....gonna take some money though. God Bless buddy.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 2:28 pm

13.5 ^^^^

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 2:51 pm

i love talkers..this igood stuff......thing is trinis love to go with what is tried and tested...they ENVER step out of the box and try something different...thats why we are so Turbo crazed..its easy power....

for instance.....the n/a VQ30 has MORE torque than the RB26...and can out accelerate any STOCK skyline...mind you, not top speed eh....the skyline will whip its arse....

but think outth box...no one has built a strong enough Sr based enigne to run the Hondas..........yet.....trini's dont liek to experiment....or rather THINK before they do stuff...

I got alot of flack wheni got th Vr4..."boy that car too heavy/turbos too small/lazy V6...it wll NEVER cross 14's"........now the car does 13.3 and i havent even touched the internals.....just made it breathe better....handle tighter and drop the power quicker...

the same applies to the SR based engine...you cannot tell me that Nissan was so short sighted to make a enige crank (sr20ve for instance) to only spin to 7600 rpm.....there must be a higher threshold that it can be pushed to.....

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 2:52 pm

cuz honda rules the na camp!

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 2:56 pm

na is too much money for small power.

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 2:57 pm

^ for now son.....for now.......

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 8th, 2007, 3:04 pm

Boy Banzai yuh have meh thinkin N/A project now yes. Get a GTiR and go N/A with some upgraded injectors and tuning, better yet an AWD setup with some headwork and cams and springs and retainers. Should not cost that much. Get a damaged GTiR bore it out, more displacement and match the cams and springs and retainers to suit, could be very very streetable and if yuh want to go all out some trumpets. We go link!!!!

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 3:13 pm

^^^ well boy i NOW on this site looking at this..

http://www.tweakit.net/shop/product_inf ... cts_id=120

after our talk yesterday at Super pharm (BTW....car looking besssssssssssssss jed!!..al lthat missing now is some brembos!!!)

i got to thinking about the SR head in gerneal...its not as "advanced" as a K series head...but its Nissan..and it cud take porting and proper flowing.....the amin thign with n/a is to get as much AIR as COOL as possible into the lmup....

but we defn will link....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 8th, 2007, 3:21 pm

So leh we talk water injection, aquamist????? Some porting, gasket porting, polish the exhaust, port the intake, bigger injectors, this could be real fun. Gonna look for a donor GTiR engine....

dry

Postby dry » May 8th, 2007, 3:24 pm

get dem trumpets, a aem or haltech and yuh already touchin 200whp with what you have in yuh yard.

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 3:27 pm

^^^^^

like this?

(grins...and im half way there already....)

dry

Postby dry » May 8th, 2007, 3:30 pm

exactly like dat :lol: the blue can.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 3:35 pm

whats the bore of a sr20?

vs a 81mm b series

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » May 8th, 2007, 3:35 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i love talkers..this igood stuff......thing is trinis love to go with what is tried and tested...they ENVER step out of the box and try something different...thats why we are so Turbo crazed..its easy power....

but think outth box...no one has built a strong enough Sr based enigne to run the Hondas..........yet.....trini's dont liek to experiment....or rather THINK before they do stuff...

I got alot of flack wheni got th Vr4..."boy that car too heavy/turbos too small/lazy V6...it wll NEVER cross 14's"........now the car does 13.3 and i havent even touched the internals.....just made it breathe better....handle tighter and drop the power quicker...

i dam be telling dam boys that...
i love tuh experiment, and i know the next three car i walking out with will rewrite soon man books...
i does say, it have "safe" and "too safe" and "WDF"
i like "WDF"...
trinis does read the same book year in and year out...
try and write one, it go be fun...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 8th, 2007, 3:37 pm

Let me bring back this pic, 300HP N/A GTiR

http://www.se-r.net/multimedia/pictures ... index.html

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 3:39 pm

^^thats the thing..and even after everything is said and done the project gets "sorfen"....you wil lhave wlaked away with a HUGE knowledge base on how systems work...and it can be appleid to any other "out the box" project.....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 8th, 2007, 3:40 pm

Watch the two injector rails, SWEEEETTTT!!!! SR N/A POWER!!!!!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 8th, 2007, 3:43 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^thats the thing..and even after everything is said and done the project gets "sorfen"....you wil lhave wlaked away with a HUGE knowledge base on how systems work...and it can be appleid to any other "out the box" project.....

Exactly, that's how I learnt, nothing like DIY.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 3:45 pm

TriniGT wrote:Let me bring back this pic, 300HP N/A GTiR

http://www.se-r.net/multimedia/pictures ... index.html

real sweet, but im sure thats not a 2.0litre

Kinday

Postby Kinday » May 8th, 2007, 3:47 pm

stephanweaver wrote:13.5 ^^^^

Not me...timeslip says 13.2....The best in a couple runs. The first run was 13.6. But you know the garage, why not go ask a question or two.

I agree with Banzai though. I think a lot of guys just feel super confident reading stories on the web and making up their own minds off of the opinions of others. I refuse to be a lemming....I prefer to learn on my own, using my own intuitive steps. People fought me a war when I first chose to build up my non vtec B20 (Accord Si)....yet, after a parts, labor, money and time, I took the B20 to a respectable mid 15 seconds car up from the 17 seconds groan I once drove. Very honourable mention to the elusive Banzai (200Vi) and Dave (SR20)....lol. Ahhh the old school tuner drag days :D :D

Though real NA power can be quite expensive, you can only get so far before completely losing all street manners. All in all I believe it really is quite possible for a NA SR20 to enter the streets in ready battlemode but I honestly believe that the true warriors may be a fearful....albeit the cost demands or the eventual outcome.

Kinday

Postby Kinday » May 8th, 2007, 3:50 pm

BTW..stephanweaver that NA GTI engine looks like a monster :shock:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 3:52 pm

it lookin MAD
ph33r.

its proven that na for na, honda is more responsive.
REGARDLESS of HP and TQ NUMBERS

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 3:53 pm

Kinday wrote:
stephanweaver wrote:13.5 ^^^^

Not me...timeslip says 13.2....The best in a couple runs. The first run was 13.6. But you know the garage, why not go ask a question or two.

I agree with Banzai though. I think a lot of guys just feel super confident reading stories on the web and making up their own minds off of the opinions of others. I refuse to be a lemming....I prefer to learn on my own, using my own intuitive steps. People fought me a war when I first chose to build up my non vtec B20 (Accord Si)....yet, after a parts, labor, money and time, I took the B20 to a respectable mid 15 seconds car up from the 17 seconds groan I once drove. Very honourable mention to the elusive Banzai (200Vi) and Dave (SR20)....lol. Ahhh the old school tuner drag days :D :D

Though real NA power can be quite expensive, you can only get so far before completely losing all street manners. All in all I believe it really is quite possible for a NA SR20 to enter the streets in ready battlemode but I honestly believe that the true warriors may be a fearful....albeit the cost demands or the eventual outcome.

well spoken words....yes there is limit to n/a power...but its a damm repsectable limit...so much so that even most turbo cars wont want to run you....

that B20.....boy that car suprised me bac ki tnh day.....and it was faster than the Rover eh..cuz everytime you ran me...you was breaking up past 5500 rpm....but yet i was screaming at 7200 tru my gears and prayign for dear life.....(grins)...

good times...looking forward to tango with you again soon...

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 3:54 pm

i run a tobo b14 sunday gone

after the 1/4mile the man pass me WOOOOOOOOOOOOSH

i have a stock 1.6 sir. stock as in stock internals!

honda ftw

Kinday

Postby Kinday » May 8th, 2007, 4:07 pm

LOL>..boy Banzai...you is the inspiration for the new project...lol

Soon as I ready I calling youuuuuu...lol. Don't move the VR from 13's yet eh, I nearly there. Yuh cyah run de east by yuhself :lol: :lol: :lol:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 4:08 pm

i in that too ^^^^

my only problem will be TRACTION...

small ting, b16s doh have torque!

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » May 9th, 2007, 8:36 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i love talkers..this igood stuff......thing is trinis love to go with what is tried and tested...they ENVER step out of the box and try something different...thats why we are so Turbo crazed..its easy power....

for instance.....the n/a VQ30 has MORE torque than the RB26...and can out accelerate any STOCK skyline...mind you, not top speed eh....the skyline will whip its arse....

the same applies to the SR based engine...you cannot tell me that Nissan was so short sighted to make a enige crank (sr20ve for instance) to only spin to 7600 rpm.....there must be a higher threshold that it can be pushed to.....

When my project done it will be the first done like it, and i using a bigger engine than the 3.0L V6. i jus gathering enough info as i could to know the route to take and den me an mr kezay would dance.........except i won't have any traction issues as i would have traction control :D