Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 20th, 2007, 9:18 pm

Nice my S15 in for some decent upgrades soon as well so look out for a separate post on that.

Postby Razkal » April 20th, 2007, 10:34 pm

^lookin forward man, good luck wid everything.
if u need a hand to pull spanner or pelt rachet in frustration gimme a check, always willin to learn sumn new man, n dig up in cyar :lol:

Postby RASC » April 21st, 2007, 2:55 pm

Please go wingless!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2007, 11:09 pm

Nah I like the wing so I keeping it, don't wanna be messing with trunklid holes anyway. I'm just upgrading the engine internals and other stuff like that, and maybe adding a new bumper. Oh FTW, I collected my new slightly bigger intercooler for the S15 today, 29X12X3 2.5" inlet and outlet complete with piping. Will put this separately when upgraded.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » June 5th, 2007, 10:25 pm

What's going on with this project? I saw your S15 parked up near the savanah the other day. Car looks lovely but the after market intercooler looks small...lots of space on the sides that could be better utilized with a wider core. Moreover the license plate is blocking most of it. Not trying to dog your car....just an observation.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 6th, 2007, 7:07 am

Well the S15 is the daily and the newer intercooler is much bigger than what I had. Initially it was a 18X12X3 and now it's a 29X12X3 and there isn't that much space on the sides, I think it fills it enough. When did you see the car less than a month ago becasue I changed the intercooler about three weeks ago.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 6th, 2007, 7:29 am

As for updates the car has not gone to the straightener as yet, he has one last thing he is working on and has told me that next week it should be over at his place. I am working on removing the rest of the harness from the enginebay and trying to straighten the front bumper support so that the front aftermarket bumper can sit flush without any modification. Partswise, I haven't ordered anything since for the RB26, I still have to complete the headwork and also have to order the sump and the piston and rod combo. Injectors should be order this month, I finally got in my Power FC for it though. Once the car comes back form the shop I will start to really push the progress. I wanna get the crankshaft modification done so that when I order the pistons and rods and bearings I could at least start mounting the block and have the bottom end done. I should be gettign my hands on another S15 turbo from a good friend.......... you know who you are :mrgreen: so that should complete my search for my twin S15 turbo setup.

I already located the injectors and I just have to order the HKS fuel rail and my FPR setup and I can begin mounting the engine. I am thinking about getting some stringer internals for the head like springs and retainers and leaving the cams stock for now and using the Greddy Cam Gears to dial in the stock cams till money permits. I am currently cleaning all the exterior engine parts to have them either powder coated or chromed. I got my hands on an RB25DET box already so that is put down and the last thing I will need to order would be the clutch setup, most probably an Exedy or OS Giken twin disc setup. I have got custom gauges from SR20VE and also a Defi gauge setup to install as well for both looks and more so functionality and will also be getting in my Quick release wheel setup as well.

The AEM wideband is here along with my greddy Timing belt and clear cam gear cover and I have on order the idler pulley setup as I have read that these are one of the first things that should be change on an RB along with the stock oil pump. I mau opt for a new N1 water pump as well to go with the new N1 oil pump I have and I may also decide on selling the N1 oil pump and buying a Tomei unit as it is much more solid than the N1 and flows much more.

Suspension-wise, I have both an HKS coilover setup and a Cusco seyup as well, I will try both and see which one is preferred and keep the other for the S15 whenever the Nismo setup bails on me. I have all that Megan Racing had for the S14 suspension wise and braces home stacked awaiting installation. I have on order fender braces and some other stuff, most probably I'll be changing the diff to a GTR setup that I have laying there and changing the entire back setup on time to the GTR 2 pot caliper setup, the front will be getting the GTR four pot setup and I will sell the front stock nissan setup, thinking about using the brembo setup on the project rather than the S15 but we'll see. I also got crossdrilled rears and recently acquired some 13" front crossdrilled rotors, all that would be needed will be custom dogbone mounts to push the caliper further out, braided lines front and back.

I am still contemplating getting the S15 nose cut and doing the conversion as I have some other S15 parts laying at home doing nothing that could be put to good use, all that is really needed is the S15 headlights and the brackets and that's it I can go S14.5. We'll see, but that's as much of an update right now that I can give. Will keep you'll posted.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » June 6th, 2007, 7:45 am

TriniGT wrote:Well the S15 is the daily and the newer intercooler is much bigger than what I had. Initially it was a 18X12X3 and now it's a 29X12X3 and there isn't that much space on the sides, I think it fills it enough. When did you see the car less than a month ago becasue I changed the intercooler about three weeks ago.

It was about 3 weeks ago that I saw it. The setup I remember looked like what's in your avatar.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 6th, 2007, 7:51 am

Ah well you probably saw it before I upgraded it then, it almost fills the entire front now, but the small intercooler was just as functional for the low boost I'm running, when the upgrade is done the new intercooler will come into play.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » June 6th, 2007, 7:55 am

Parked by the Savannah?

Can't get her into the parking lot by you?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 6th, 2007, 8:03 am

Yep parked around the savannah, will post some updated pics for others with the new carbon fibre bonnet and intercooler. Tryign to get a carbon fibre trunklid currently. Yeah I like my cars.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » June 12th, 2007, 1:46 pm

saw the new intercooler...fits much better.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 12th, 2007, 1:51 pm

Thanks. The S14 should be going this week so we'll see how it goes.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 18th, 2007, 10:36 am

Today I am finishing removing the harness from the cabin to the engine bay to make the painting process easier to be done. I am going to be bleeding the stock brakes for the car's journey to the straightener and I have finally decided on a colour for the car, yeah there will be haters as always but I am thinking about flat black/matt black. Gonna primer the car in a dark primer as well and do it flat. I will be following the process so hopefully the finish is what I'm lookin for. I am thinking about spraying the carbon fibre bonnet black as well for the full effect, I need opinions on this part. I am doing full interior and exterior as the car is almost entirely stripped.

I am trying to go for the stealthy look so we'll see how things progress, engine parts will be powder coated in a combination of colours but with a flat look as well so it should look good. Let me know your thoughts.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 18th, 2007, 11:30 am

Just to give you an idea,

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » June 18th, 2007, 11:59 am

dun like it, but to each their own.....

i would leave the carbon bonnet as is though?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 18th, 2007, 12:15 pm

:hitit:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 18th, 2007, 2:37 pm

that flat black on like socks.

finish it off with some limited edition TE37 or CE28s, the black with the red striped lip....ahh yess :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 18th, 2007, 2:39 pm

Whatever wheels it gets will be powdercoated black with blue accents just like the engine bay. Blue Rays Lug nuts FTW.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 18th, 2007, 2:41 pm

black/blue on the rims? hmmm well thatll be different

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 18th, 2007, 2:51 pm

Postby Razkal » June 18th, 2007, 2:58 pm

^jahh!!!! :o TTTW (that take the win) :lol: i LOVE those advans! i wish i could get a set for myc ar, in 16s to put some NT01s or victors on for dex.
lovin the flat black...ur styling is in order...dont change a thing...will look beautiful

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 18th, 2007, 3:04 pm

Just to give you an idea of what's in store,

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 18th, 2007, 3:14 pm

hmmm @ blue lip

Postby Maserati » June 18th, 2007, 3:19 pm

lovin the flat black and those rims :P

Postby Razkal » June 18th, 2007, 8:44 pm

*squirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrt!*

*calling all mods.. clean up on thread 3!....another squirt..

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 21st, 2007, 11:43 am

Car left the premises last evening, gonna be busy now working on getting the engine up to speed. Updates to follow.

Postby Razkal » June 21st, 2007, 12:07 pm

patiently awaits *i love this thread* :lol:

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » June 22nd, 2007, 2:50 am

TriniGT wrote:Car left the premises last evening, gonna be busy now working on getting the engine up to speed. Updates to follow.

Another 200 with RB26 power!
You would like yourself when its finished.
Good luck with this build.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 22nd, 2007, 7:07 am

Thanks bro, I was gonna go for the RB25 because at first I was looking at the cost but then I decided to save and go all out on it or bust on the RB26DETT. We'll see how it goes. I don't expect the car to be back in a hurry so I am gonna concentrate on the engine now, I need to finish the port and polish, hopefully by next week that should be done and I am thinking about ordering some supertech valve springs and retainers for it as the head is off already. I would keep the stock cams for now until money permits but when I get some swapping wouldn't be hard at all. I already have the Gredy adjustable cam gears to dial in the stock cams for some extra HP.

I will be ordering Wiseco pistons, with rings, wrist pins and locks along with either the cheaper eagle rods and ARP connecting rod bolts or if I see some extra I will go with the pauter rods. Calico bearing will need to be ordered but I will need to check the clearances first as the RB26 is totally different from other SRs as there are markings engraved into the block and on the crank that need to be add together I think to calculate what bearing size is needed. Each RB26 bearing size differs. After ordering the pistons and rods and bearings it just the Tomei Baffle Plate that needs to be ordered and by then I should have gotten the crank back from being machined with the JUN crank collar and had the sump modded for a RWD only application i.e. remove the transfer case housing and weld it shut. Once the crank and pistons and rods are along with the bearing I will begin to mount the block.

After that it will just be to drill the back of the head and get the needed Aeroquip fittings and make a return from the back of the head to the sump and get the Tomei headgasket with the needed restrictor to limit the oil flow to the head. Widening the oil galleries is already in progress and also smoothening of the head for a better oil flow, likewise the block will get the same treatment to remove any factory imperfections where the block was molded and may throw off the oil flow, no grinding just some smoothening. Will start updating with some pics as well hopefully by next week. :)

All I'm missing is another S15 T28 Turbo, someone holla back SR20VE where are you???