Choosing the right Wax

VWBaby

Choosing the right Wax

Postby VWBaby » March 29th, 2007, 7:04 am

When choosing Wax or Polish for your car, which is considered safe if any? I understand many Waxes and polishes actually stip a fine layer of paint with each application and rub. Is this true :shock:
Last edited by VWBaby on March 29th, 2007, 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » March 29th, 2007, 7:47 am

use mothers or meguiars, that is all. Maybe 3M, but I have no personal experience with those.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 29th, 2007, 5:51 pm

wrong forum... try the tech

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » March 30th, 2007, 6:38 am

crazybalhead wrote:use mothers or meguiars, that is all. Maybe 3M, but I have no personal experience with those.

But my question is would waxing remove a thin layer each time you use it?

venum

Postby venum » March 30th, 2007, 2:48 pm

waxing removes an extremely thin layer when rubbed in with some vigour

compounf would remove a bit more dependin on the roughness of the particles

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » March 30th, 2007, 3:07 pm

venum wrote:waxing removes an extremely thin layer when rubbed in with some vigour

compounf would remove a bit more dependin on the roughness of the particles

so then, it is best just to wash the vehicle and then wipe with a terry cloth and not even wax? If you think of waxing each week, you are literally stripping layer after laywer as the years go by not so?

Postby equipped2ripp » March 30th, 2007, 3:43 pm

it's not the paint that would be stripped... it's the clearcoat.

and waxing all the time won't harm the clearcoat as the car should have about 3 layers of clearcoat.

remember waxing also leaves a protection barrier on the clearcoat... so it's not to say as if the clearcoat is being exposed to the outside elements.

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » March 30th, 2007, 4:09 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:it's not the paint that would be stripped... it's the clearcoat.

and waxing all the time won't harm the clearcoat as the car should have about 3 layers of clearcoat.

remember waxing also leaves a protection barrier on the clearcoat... so it's not to say as if the clearcoat is being exposed to the outside elements.

Ok, so it is myth then that using any type of compund or wax will cause this.

venum

Postby venum » March 30th, 2007, 4:43 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:it's not the paint that would be stripped... it's the clearcoat.

not all cars have clearcoat

wax polishes do remove an extremely fine layer of paint

this is so because polish abrasives are very very fine

compound abrasives are a bit rougher, which is why they are used to remove more stubborn marks

and you are right, waxes do leave a coating on the paint, thereby protecting it

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » March 30th, 2007, 4:45 pm

venum wrote:

not all cars have clearcoat

wax polishes do remove an extremely fine layer of paint

this is so because polish abrasives are very very fine

compound abrasives are a bit rougher, which is why they are used to remove more stubborn marks

and you are right, waxes do leave a coating on the paint, thereby protecting it

So isnt there anything that one can use to stop that thin layer of paint from coming off with each application?

StangSai

Postby StangSai » March 30th, 2007, 7:58 pm

first off...AFAIK...wax, polish and compound are all three different things. the terms cannot be used interchangeably

the compound is supposed to be the first step in exterior care for neglected vehicles. that is the product that (depending on its concentration) would cut into the topmost layer of paint - be it clear or colored. i doubt that the polishing step would do so because polishing is supposed to be like rubbing oil on your skin. i highly doubt waxing would do so too because wax is just that...wax! it's a protective application that's supposed to enhance shine and place an invisible coating between the topmost paint layer and the environment.

polishes and waxes should do their jobs without cutting into anything. also remember that waxes are durable...they do not need to be applied every weekend. i would say once a month for a daily driven car is enough once done properly.

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » March 30th, 2007, 8:05 pm

StangSai wrote:first off...AFAIK...wax, polish and compound are all three different things. the terms cannot be used interchangeably

the compound is supposed to be the first step in exterior care for neglected vehicles. that is the product that (depending on its concentration) would cut into the topmost layer of paint - be it clear or colored. i doubt that the polishing step would do so because polishing is supposed to be like rubbing oil on your skin. i highly doubt waxing would do so too because wax is just that...wax! it's a protective application that's supposed to enhance shine and place an invisible coating between the topmost paint layer and the environment.

polishes and waxes should do their jobs without cutting into anything. also remember that waxes are durable...they do not need to be applied every weekend. i would say once a month for a daily driven car is enough once done properly.

Thanks for the info. So basically once a month Elbowgrease then? :shock:

Postby X_Factor » March 30th, 2007, 9:15 pm

btw wat kinda car?...new/roro?

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » March 31st, 2007, 10:26 am

X_Factor wrote:btw wat kinda car?...new/roro?

As depicted in my pic a new beetle

venum

Postby venum » April 1st, 2007, 12:13 am

StangSai wrote:first off...AFAIK...wax, polish and compound are all three different things. the terms cannot be used interchangeably

agreed

VWBaby, do not be alarmed about an extremely fine layer being removed

that is how these things work

when it encounters a stain\mark on the surface, it is abrasive enough to rub it out by removing a very thin layer of paint

also when paint is subject to the elements and road conditions it gets dull in appearance

the polish\compound will restore the colour and look to the paint by stripping a very fine layer off it

the waxes in the polish then protect the fresh surface

the later of paint removed will not be so thick as to go down to teh base metal of the vehicle

polishes (most of which have waxes in them, e.g Auto Glym Super Resin Polish) are not needed every month, every three months aor only as often as needed

however, if you do not have a sheltered garage to protect your car and it takes on teh elements 24x7, them you may need to

a good method to use is compound (when paint is really dull) then polish and then wax.

if you use a polish that has waxes in it then u just have to compound and polish

compound only needed like every 2 polishes

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 1st, 2007, 2:30 am

every 3 months u say?
looks like i be needing a polish now..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 1st, 2007, 2:48 am

Maguire...Mothers..3M...

yuh doe get better than that !

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 1st, 2007, 2:49 am

redsupra101 wrote:every 3 months u say?
looks like i be needing a polish now..

and yeh jed.. waz every 3 months...

polish ever month.. keeps the car lookin niceeeeeeeeeeeeeee

help with the rain and washin the car as well

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2007, 8:39 am

^^^yup a once a month polish is enough........ Mothers

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » April 1st, 2007, 12:44 pm

venum wrote:

agreed

VWBaby, do not be alarmed about an extremely fine layer being removed

that is how these things work

when it encounters a stain\mark on the surface, it is abrasive enough to rub it out by removing a very thin layer of paint

also when paint is subject to the elements and road conditions it gets dull in appearance

the polish\compound will restore the colour and look to the paint by stripping a very fine layer off it

the waxes in the polish then protect the fresh surface

the later of paint removed will not be so thick as to go down to teh base metal of the vehicle

polishes (most of which have waxes in them, e.g Auto Glym Super Resin Polish) are not needed every month, every three months aor only as often as needed

however, if you do not have a sheltered garage to protect your car and it takes on teh elements 24x7, them you may need to

a good method to use is compound (when paint is really dull) then polish and then wax.

if you use a polish that has waxes in it then u just have to compound and polish

compound only needed like every 2 polishes

Ok venum, but since my car is proned to bird putting their doodle on it can I use a compound lightly to remove doodle stains? The yellow encourages birds to have a hay day on my car :lol: . If compound is rub lightly does it still remove some of the clear coat?

Postby equipped2ripp » April 1st, 2007, 1:31 pm

yes it does, the compound will remove a slight layer of the clearcoat.. because it is an abrasive liquid or paste.

StangSai

Postby StangSai » April 1st, 2007, 2:05 pm

VWBaby wrote:Ok venum, but since my car is proned to bird putting their doodle on it can I use a compound lightly to remove doodle stains? The yellow encourages birds to have a hay day on my car :lol: . If compound is rub lightly does it still remove some of the clear coat?

as said above, yes it does. for your situation, you would want to always have at least one coat of wax on your paint's surface. when your car is waxed, it feels smooth and slippery. that's the protection offerred by wax. bird doodoo should always be cleaned off quickly and having wax on your car will help it come off easily with even just a damp tissue in one or two wipes. the invisible coating of wax will help prevent contaminants from adhering to the paint.

waxing doesn't have to be an arduous task either. there are spray on waxes that you can spray while the car is wet when you wash the car.

venum

Postby venum » April 1st, 2007, 9:46 pm

VWBaby wrote:Ok venum, but since my car is proned to bird putting their doodle on it can I use a compound lightly to remove doodle stains? The yellow encourages birds to have a hay day on my car :lol: . If compound is rub lightly does it still remove some of the clear coat?

compound for bird crap is overkill :!:

simply wash off with a lil water

if it is hardened, then soak it with water, leave for 5-10 min and then wash off

thaz all you really need to clean off bird crap

once the car is polished, then this becomes even easier - no compound need for bird crap, ever . . . unless them birds sh!tting concrete, even then it's a hammer that you'll need and not compound
Last edited by venum on April 1st, 2007, 11:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » April 1st, 2007, 10:09 pm

good info here

venum

Postby venum » April 1st, 2007, 11:53 pm

the best solution to waxing that i have found is to use a car wash with waxes in it in addition to a regular polish routine

Turtle wax zip wax - works like a charm

Postby equipped2ripp » April 1st, 2007, 11:55 pm

venum, the 2 in 1 one right? where u gotta shake to activate

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 2nd, 2007, 5:51 am

Maguire...Mothers..3M...

yuh doe get better than that !

3M...one of the best.

Meguiars and Mothers, aren't the best....they pale in comprison to AutoGlym. I've started using that...won't use anything else again. It's that good.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 2nd, 2007, 8:22 am

3M polishes,

Mothers car wash

and these days ZipWax. Product works good......but damn...its a bit hard on the eblow grease! lol!

Postby crazybalhead » April 2nd, 2007, 10:50 am

DO NOT USE NO 7 COMPOUND ON YOUR CLEAR COAT.

Buy the mother's 3 stage set, cleaner sealer and wax. And VW Baby>>>>

www.google.com :P

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 2nd, 2007, 12:25 pm

crazybalhead wrote:DO NOT USE NO 7 COMPOUND ON YOUR CLEAR COAT.

DITTO!!!!

NEVER use the regular compound (No. 7) for any vehicle with clearcoat. That grade of compound is too rough for clearcoats. There are finer grades of compound for clearcoat finishes. And even finer ones for dark colours.

If you want to get your car really clean and don't know how to go about doing it then I suggest taking it to a professional the first time and let them do it. After that, you will only need to WAX the vehicle every 4-6 weeks depending on driving conditions, atmospheric conditions.

ALWAYS remove bird droppings immediately - it is acidic and will cut into your paint like nothing else. Remember, if your paint is really damaged, polishing with compound, etc will not restore it fully.

With a clear coated vehicle you wont get a "layer of paint" being removed.

The Mother's 3 stage car care set (what crazybalhead said) is a good way to protect your vehicle.

Never seen Meguiars to use it. Using Auto Glym these days.