Why are sti's not that fast?

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » March 14th, 2007, 11:35 am

Bill,

I pace SM on the road already and the power to weight is nice– for what the car was. On the run/ up top I walked, but slowly.

For the rolling start the rexy get ketch out b/c first gear chews all the boost (barely 3 pounds) but by 2nd we're even and 3rd it's a reel in and fourth we passing. The best way to do it is with a standard launch but alas, I bogged, twice.

At Wallers it would be all over in the 1/4 but on the road I am out of practice with launching since I prefer to spare the car more often than not and save it for official motorsport activity.

On the track, in the dry, Mike kept up in most sections but there were areas where I would put distance. In the wet is was hard for me without GSD 3s and with dry tire pressures set since I was taking pix @ circuit as well and not prepping the car. In any case I decided before the race that for the last two laps I was going to drift about so I let the tire pressure set for dry and told everyone so they knew to give me room.

But, ah win is ah win. Well done Mike!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » March 14th, 2007, 11:43 am

Just to put things in perspective even Frankie Boodram collect licks in his RWD Porsche in the wet, in fact he was holding up Devi in the FWD Mirage! But all in all it was a fun day at the circuit street class and SM drove to win.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2007, 11:44 am

^ when im behind u on the track i cannot pass unless u make a mistake.

ure corner exit speed is better, my corner entry is better. U would pull about a lenght and a ahalf on the front straight and that would dissapear by the 2nd turn. through the last sweeping left down to the bottom apex I back off when im behind u to try to optimise the line throught the bottom apex to get the run down the front straight.

However, I believe my car is a bit faster when im infront of u... but that was never really tested. I guess in the first of the SC races... as in the first one i ever ran, i was gridded infront of u and after lap 1 u where behind me and i walked off slowly on u... but i know its cuz u like to be drifting up the place.... but from driving behind u, i know i was backin off a little.

Again, u are one of those drivers ive learnt alot from when we did have a track. good memories tho. its way too little of them for me.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » March 14th, 2007, 11:45 am

Incidentally Bill I tried to match your corner entry in the wet with the S2K at circuit practice one and it just did not happen, I spun out... you can handle your stories, as evidenced by the Maracas run.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » March 14th, 2007, 11:47 am

Silvermike wrote:but i know its cuz u like to be drifting up the place.... but from driving behind u, i know i was backin off a little..

True, every time I see the haripin I find it hard to resist... and then with the temp issues I would typically back off in the straight.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 14th, 2007, 12:32 pm

^^^ they starting to sound like tsuchiya, gan san, and orido after a tsucuba circuit battle in a BMI flick :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2007, 1:41 pm

^ now only if we could start driving like them

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 14th, 2007, 3:20 pm

you could :!:
get ur hands on Drive to win by carroll smith

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2007, 3:26 pm

^ whats that about? never heard of it. ive got the drift bible....

where can i get a copy... u have it?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 14th, 2007, 3:41 pm

uh you guys sometimes remind me of my 11 yr old sister.
ITS NOT A MOVIE :!: its a BOOK :!: (more like 1 book in a 4 prt series)
sometimes i wonder if our fellow tuners hate reading or somn.
of course you can slap me back in the face after i reveal that no one stocks it locally but hey its still worth ordering.
check out this thread for reference...
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

if you are going to order them 1 by one start with prepare to win i think it was the first released book and the author is kinda bitchy about explaining things in the later books that he covered in the earlier ones.

as for the drift bible stuff you know the BMI movies are tops you could check marcus for those i have quite a few of them and they're very educational and incredibly entertaining. i think the drift bible is one of the more dull ones seriously.

Postby honda hoe » March 14th, 2007, 3:44 pm

dis thread still here?!?!? :x

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 14th, 2007, 3:52 pm

wam yuh doh like that or wuh? :twisted:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2007, 4:44 pm

ok now im pissed off.

So i just ran into SIRbill in crism there about 20mins ago. this is how it went...

SM: hey, I thought that was u *extending hand for a shake*
SIRBill: Oh hey * turns and walks off*

At this point all I have to say if firetruck it. All you all. firetruck it

sirbill

Postby sirbill » March 14th, 2007, 4:55 pm

Silvermike wrote:ok now im pissed off.

So i just ran into SIRbill in crism there about 20mins ago. this is how it went...

SM: hey, I thought that was u *extending hand for a shake*
SIRBill: Oh hey * turns and walks off*

At this point all I have to say if firetruck it. All you all. firetruck it

Chill dude, I was genuinele in a rush. I was looking for you after I showed the guy what needs doing but did not see you. I hope Cris isn't equally as pissed because I had to run and had no time to rap.

Bill

sirbill

Postby sirbill » March 14th, 2007, 4:55 pm

Silvermike wrote:Bill, hold up.

firstly, u ran with me that one time on the street, so then i guess im honored. secondly, i never laughed at u. it was a fair question... cuz u uself that same day, right after we got off the track came up to me and asked me what i was running and i believe u also said u found it wierd u wasnt running up on the lil civic as u thought.

that aside, no doubt ure S is faster than my car, and no doubt to ure driving skills. I dont know where u got that im laughing at u, or that i think ure car is slow, or dthat u cant drive or whatever it is u think i have with u.

as a matte rof fact i know of u long time. and i know u can drive really well, and that day at the track i was glad to have had the opportunity to drive against u, not to beat u, or to prove i cand rive or whatever, but to learn... as thats what its all about. i now start with this thing. i have nothing to do but to learn from the experience of drivers like devi, nebert, raul, ureself... all the men who was in this thing when i was still sucking my finger in a diapir somewhere.

SM,

I not trying to have anything with you. I do acknowledge your Civic was quick - indeed quicker than my SiR ever was. It is just when I tried to defend myself with the"self preservation" argument you were not having any of it, which was a bit unfair. That civic was fast and the S did take some time to pull up to it on another occasion. But had I known then it had a little more than a few "bolt ons" I would have been less surprised that I was then.

For what its worth, I admire you mods (smart mods - losing weight benefits everything - speed through P/W ratio and cornering ability). And I envy your youth because it gives you and edge (invincibility) that you tend to lose (I did) as you get older and more careful, especially on the street.

So we cool.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2007, 4:56 pm

I dont think im invicible. stop trying to say that bcuz i push harder than u implies im more naive. i doubt uve had ure share of reality like i have had...
Last edited by Silvermike on March 14th, 2007, 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X2 » March 14th, 2007, 5:16 pm

Someone had the D.Bible online sometime ago... I downloaded it... but it was big as hell...and apparently doesn't work with FWD cars.... :|

Postby gt4tified » March 14th, 2007, 5:32 pm

X2 wrote:Someone had the D.Bible online sometime ago... I downloaded it... but it was big as hell...and apparently doesn't work with FWD cars.... :|

WHAAAAAAT!!!!

:shock: Even those with VTEC :?:

evokiller

Postby evokiller » March 14th, 2007, 5:48 pm

this thread still breathing jedz wtf

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 14th, 2007, 6:27 pm

ok i fedup ah de manopause symptoms on this thread.
sir bill and mikey hear this nah. nobody doh care bout nobody else on tuner. we all hate each other equally. quite similar to what happens in a marriage. that is the reason why everyone from this site tends to stick together so well for so long. get it? so no more toting feelings when men doh shake yuh hand alright?
now can anybody recommend a good chassis/suspension tuning book for cars with mc pherson strut suspensions? i'd be grateful.
and when i say a good book i dont mean 15 or 20 pages.

Postby X2 » March 14th, 2007, 10:15 pm

nasscott wrote:now can anybody recommend a good chassis/suspension tuning book for cars with mc pherson strut suspensions?

nobody doh care bout nobody else on tuner. we all hate each other equally....

...go find yuh own &#*@ing book....

sleepoytuner

Postby sleepoytuner » March 15th, 2007, 1:12 am

Allyuh fellas<

I heard that tomm is a big night in central....

I supporting the RASTA!!!!!!!!!

even though I running an Sti... :)

Later

Sleepoy

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 15th, 2007, 5:23 am

You wanna get bull by a rasta??? Is that what your saying??? my $$ on the std.. unless he 1 doesn't launch well and 2 miss shifts.

Postby MG Man » March 15th, 2007, 7:50 am

allyuh know what dis thread need?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 15th, 2007, 8:36 am

X2 wrote:
nasscott wrote:now can anybody recommend a good chassis/suspension tuning book for cars with mc pherson strut suspensions?

nobody doh care bout nobody else on tuner. we all hate each other equally....

...go find yuh own &#*@ing book....

:cry::cry::cry::cry:
:out:

Postby honda hoe » October 29th, 2008, 12:43 am

bump :mrgreen:

Postby Maserati » October 29th, 2008, 12:57 am

honda hoe wrote:bump :mrgreen: