Why are sti's not that fast?

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » February 28th, 2007, 1:35 pm

When you have the crowd and a panel of judges awarding points for smoke it's no longer a sport, it's a car show. Might as well throw in a sound off, some hydraulics and a jello wrestling competition.

Solodex is focused on "technical driving skill" not style and smoke.

JWT

Postby JWT » February 28th, 2007, 1:39 pm

R. Mutt wrote:So 'chief'...I will always support Silvermike?

I say things objectively. I lime with Mike, so I know how the car runs.
I have driven STI's, I've seen many tuned,I've have friends with them, hence I know many of them pull timing on the np gas.

It's possible for an STI run very shitty...which again...was the whole point that Mike was asking. Not Civics are fast and STIs are slow...you guys like to twist things.

I always try to stick to the facts...why don't you add something constuctive, instead of 'chookin' all the time. I'm 3000 miles from home and just added that I myself have ran an STI's that didn't pull away as well as they should have, and that moreover, I know how Mike's car runs similar to the 500SEC.

Sometimes I wish some of you would play as bad in real life as you do on this forum...it would make things more interesting. Laughing

ahh boii the great tuner let me guess you tuned silvermikes civic rite

why mike never came and played with my stock subaru when he had the evo stock :lol: :lol:

but no worry build the beast i await 8-)

Postby RASC » February 28th, 2007, 1:39 pm

Spyrogyra wrote:When you have the crowd and a panel of judges awarding points for smoke it's no longer a sport, it's a car show. Might as well throw in a sound off, some hydraulics and a jello wrestling competition.

Solodex is focused on "technical driving skill" not style and smoke.

Thank you!!!

solodex...better known as dexterity is rightful sport-it is a time attack of sorts...drifting is for show :?

sss

Postby sss » February 28th, 2007, 2:51 pm

HONDAHO ITS A FACT SON HONDA,S WOULD ALWAYS CALL NISSANS DADDY GOT THAT SONNY BOY BRING IT IFU CAN ! :fist:

moti

Postby moti » February 28th, 2007, 3:02 pm

^^^i second that :mrgreen:

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » February 28th, 2007, 3:08 pm

this thread like a bad case of da crabs

moti

Postby moti » February 28th, 2007, 3:12 pm

it have a bad case of crabs

i always thought once you have crabs you're a gonner :mrgreen:

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » February 28th, 2007, 3:33 pm

if the crabs have babies then yuh ass is grass...........or calaloo bush.........

Postby Maserati » February 28th, 2007, 7:06 pm

drifting is more than jus smoking tyres fellars.

Postby RASC » February 28th, 2007, 7:10 pm

Maserati wrote:drifting is more than jus smoking tyres fellars.

Unless its on the streets and hills of tokyo/cali/trini wherever...i dont see the point... :? its for show nothing more

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 28th, 2007, 8:32 pm

Oh Lord... Page 12! ... Ah was tryin' to stay out of dis thread...
nasscott wrote:
Spyrogyra wrote:D1 makes no sense to me

so i guess you dont support solodex then? cause D1 is an extreme dexterity sport just like solodex is a less extreme version of a similar nature.

an extreme dexterity sport... But don't they award points for driving with the door open?
... for sticking one foot outside too like Tarzan Yamada?? (spelling?)
... for the thickness & colour of the tyre smoke??... for who comes closest to the lead car???
... Basically for who can entertain the crowd the most???
More interested in improving my driving skill; not in just showing off to impress the natives!
Not really interested in being an entertainer. What's next singing and tap-dancing too?

Rhys Millen (et al) are great drivers in rallying and circuit racing... much better than me or you
... but risking car damage to get points for the one who's better at showing off more
... and gets the most applause... is an autosport???
Nahh, padna! That's just another form of entertainment for somebody else to make money!
... at my expense too! It's no different to Monster Truck Racing (... Racing ??)
Show off the most. Destroy your car if necessary to get applause, points... and TV ratings

Maybe if the judges stop prostituting it for public entertainment ... cut the crap and
focus on the driving skill ONLY... then maybe... but now???... Nahh!

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on March 1st, 2007, 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » February 28th, 2007, 9:03 pm

lets not forget who can cut it closest to the wall and not hit..who can pressure the guy leadin to make a mistake so u can take the lead

Postby wagonrunner » February 28th, 2007, 9:51 pm

canyon racing, but on a flat surface?? :lol:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 28th, 2007, 10:00 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=121574

That's all I have to say about this Drift thing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 28th, 2007, 10:55 pm

pffft - forget drifting, you should see figure 8 racing... on a flat track, that intersects!

and just to make it more exciting they have Figure 8 train racing - the trains are made up for three cars they trailer hitch together. Usually

read more:

I stumbled across something on SpeedTV today that has to be seen to be believed: figure-eight train racing. Not real trains — three cars lashed together to act like a train.

The first car is the only powered car. Usually something big, old, and American — mid seventies Monte Carlos seemed quite popular. The driver of this car steers and works the throttle. The car has no brakes.

Attached to the back of the first car by chains and a tow bar is the middle car, which has nothing. No engine, no brakes, no driver. Just an empty shell.

Attached to the back of that by chains is the caboose. No engine, no steering, but it has brakes and a driver. God help him.

Now, take eight of these perversions of automotive theory and put them on a figure eight track. Seriously. Then race them for 10 laps.

The race I watched ended with no hits in the crossover, which surprised me. What’s amazing is watching the caboose get whipped around like a rag doll. The rear driver is supposed to be able to put some tension on the train by using the brake, but I couldn’t see any difference. Any quick steering movement up front got wildly exaggerated by the time it rippled back to the rear and that guy was just along for the ride.

I wish I had a picture to show you, but a few minutes of Googling turned up nothing. Half of me thinks the whole thing was just a nightmare.

you really have to see it to believe it :shock:

Postby MG Man » February 28th, 2007, 10:58 pm

^^^closet redneck

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 28th, 2007, 11:00 pm

^ is true :(
my cousin uncle daddy is a Nascar driver!

Postby MG Man » February 28th, 2007, 11:11 pm

bah, my cousin Vern is married to the sister if a moonshine runner's uncle's pappy's cousin's wife whose third cousin twice removed used to crew for an OUtlaws driver's cousin Ned's friend Earl, who once saw Jeff Gordon through a chainlink fence at Daytona

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » February 28th, 2007, 11:35 pm

boy what an interesting read. :lol:

leh me go play some poker now yes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 28th, 2007, 11:45 pm

MG Man wrote:bah, my cousin Vern is married to the sister if a moonshine runner's uncle's pappy's cousin's wife whose third cousin twice removed used to crew for an OUtlaws driver's cousin Ned's friend Earl, who once saw Jeff Gordon through a chainlink fence at Daytona

You know cousin Ned?!!!

its a small world!

Postby X2 » February 28th, 2007, 11:52 pm

Ummm..... ok....

... who cousin do I call about the moonshine action again ?

Postby MG Man » February 28th, 2007, 11:56 pm

u gotta ask Vern, but only on a tuesday, when he's not out shootin 'coons or rustlin 'gaters

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 1st, 2007, 11:05 pm

:wtf:
MG Man wrote:bah, my cousin Vern is married to the sister if a moonshine runner's uncle's pappy's cousin's wife whose third cousin twice removed used to crew for an OUtlaws driver's cousin Ned's friend Earl, who once saw Jeff Gordon through a chainlink fence at Daytona

:english:

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » March 2nd, 2007, 12:15 am

whoa silvermike your civic is fast, i'm scared :shocked!:

:twisted:

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » March 2nd, 2007, 3:03 am

arm........................ok then :?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 2nd, 2007, 8:14 am

where did he go? seriously now is silvermike ok?

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2007, 8:28 am

saw him in traffic yesterday
I never knew modified civics were so slow. My Baleno Wagon was keepin up with him real easy :lol:

sleepoytuner

Postby sleepoytuner » March 2nd, 2007, 12:38 pm

HAHAHAHAHA

Postby wagonrunner » March 2nd, 2007, 12:45 pm

MG Man wrote:saw him in traffic yesterday
I never knew modified civics were so slow. My Baleno Wagon was keepin up with him real easy :lol:

:faint: *picard sigh*

buahahahahhaahhahha

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 2nd, 2007, 12:49 pm

OH CRAP!! :lol: :lol: :lol: