Evolution?
48%
Creation?
52%

Total votes: 111

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 15th, 2007, 11:07 am

Well the Bible says that a little wine is good for the stomach, maybe it good for blood pressure too. :)

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 15th, 2007, 11:12 am

[quote="noobie
How could they all have the same views...that's your question. And your answer is Magic: God Make It So!

How ignorant. It's so much easier to fall back on "God make it So" rather than actually STUDY anthropology isn't it!?

.[/quote]

Incidentally, Anthropologists say that the reason all these different cultures have the same stories is because it came from one source, or the same source. Anthropolgy used to be a kinda hobby of mine (yes I was a nerd when I was young).

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 15th, 2007, 11:39 am

the reason for this thread was because of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in Switzerland - it will test the Big Bang Theory, this November 2007-early 2008 and will settle allot of these questions

and also with the new series of national geographic showing creation of earth and life etc and the Genome project..

lizzy

Postby lizzy » February 15th, 2007, 11:46 am

RS200 wrote:the reason for this thread was because of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in Switzerland - it will test the Big Bang Theory, this November 2007-early 2008 and will settle allot of these questions

and also with the new series of national geographic showing creation of earth and life etc and the Genome project..

the Big Bang does not address the primary question at hand, "where did everything come from?" Did nothing explode? How did this explosion cause order, while every explosion observed in recorded history causes disorder and disarray?

SO EXACTLY HOW ARE THEY GOING TO SETTLE THIS :?:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 15th, 2007, 11:53 am

calm down little lion

it will answer where the universe came from and how its kept going by the reaction...

"everything" as you call it is simply matter, in various forms, over time it has taken on various shapes.. what they are trying to figure out, is what causes this matter to react with each other in ways that forms life etc.. and if they are able to recreate the 'big bang' they will be able to start to answer the question, what caused it and where, how..

all these questions will be answered in time, these are the first glimpses we are having into the answers.... ;)

lizzy

Postby lizzy » February 15th, 2007, 12:09 pm

RS200 wrote:calm down little lion

it will answer where came from and how its kept going by the reaction...

"everything" as you call it is simply matter, in various forms, over time it has taken on various shapes.. what they are trying to figure out, is what causes this matter to react with each other in ways that forms life etc.. and if they are able to recreate the 'big bang' they will be able to start to answer the question, what caused it and where, how..

all these questions will be answered in time, these are the first glimpses we are having into the answers.... ;)

So the universe is matter that reacts with each other in ways that forms life etc.. I AGREE

Are they going to answer where the "matter that react with each other called the universe" came from?

It had to have been there for the BIG BANG to happen in the first place. :!:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 15th, 2007, 12:17 pm

tristan, you like others, expect answers immediately, and more so, by the person that is sharing the news with you, i personally don't know, neither do they, thats why they are trying to find out,.

i wish it was as easy as looking in a book thats has selective stories in it, that was put together thousands of years ago for the answers, but tis not that easy, man only NOW (like literally the last 5 years) has the technology and knowhow and honestly the bran capability to understand and answer these questions..

whats funny is that i read the other day the real cycle of man and the earth

man conquering the earth - by leaving Africa
religion conquering the earth - spreading with man
nations conquering the earth - world wars
consciousness conquering the earth - where man becomes aware

and this is what allot of religions/govts are afraid of, that man will become aware of what life is and how it was formed and in essence the meaning so to speak.. once man has answered these questions and it doesnt lead to a supreme being, but can be explained by actual fact, that man can understand, then allot fo scholars are afraid of the moral repercussions on society..

Postby RASC » February 15th, 2007, 12:21 pm

RS200 wrote:the reason for this thread was because of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in Switzerland - it will test the Big Bang Theory, this November 2007-early 2008 and will settle allot of these questions

Good POST...not many people know about this...

This will either break or make String theorists'

All the money in the scientific world is being poured into this right now(well rather the vast majority) but yuh get my drift-the outcome of this experiment could change ALOT of things in science :!:

noobie

Postby noobie » February 15th, 2007, 1:11 pm

I just find it really sad that we have so many individuals who believe in fantasy to the exclusion evolution.

Even the Pope said that one does not preclude the other. *shakes head*

It seems that what happened in Kansas where they wanted to teach Creationism i.e. Religion, in Science classes can happen just about anywhere.

25 people.

*shakes head*
That's sad.

Postby RASC » February 15th, 2007, 1:31 pm

if it sad :roll:

...ppl have been brain washed for generations-it real hard for them to accept the truth

their parents have been taught this, their grandparents and their great grand parents...all while serving massa-->who tell them "GOD SAY SO" or "THE BIBLE SAYS"...

"You cant speak your native language, you cant practise your own beliefs, you must convert to x or y religion-if you dont , you along with your entire family will die, because this is the will of the LORD-we have come to SAVE your savage and backward society through the almighty teachings of the BIBLE....AAAMMMMEEENNNNN :idea: "

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 15th, 2007, 2:50 pm

not many people pay attention to stuff like this, especially religious people, i have firends that cant even fathom, i mean they can't grasp what it is they are doing with the Large Hardon Colider and what it will answer and what questions will NOW be raised by it and its findings..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Large_Hadron_Collider

this and the Naked Science series on the Earth are so terribly interesting (IMHO) i cant believe more haven't watched it and their questions been answered on where single cell organisms came from and from there, where we all came from, how the earth and moon were formed and how water came to the earth, our atmosphere and oceans weere formed and created the conditions for life to procreate and mutliply and evolve/adapt/migrate/populate the earth.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 15th, 2007, 3:32 pm

HUTRINI wrote:

Good POST...not many people know about this...

This will either break or make String theorists'

All the money in the scientific world is being poured into this right now(well rather the vast majority) but yuh get my drift-the outcome of this experiment could change ALOT of things in science :!:

I'm a fan of the string theory. From a distance it makes more sense than current models... I guess because it touches the philosophy side of things ("pictures" as Einstein put it). But the different arms doesn't seem to fit well together like when expanding computations to other dimensions. Maybe I just don't have the brains. I'm no expert... just a fan.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 15th, 2007, 3:34 pm

RS200 wrote:not many people pay attention to stuff like this, especially religious people, i have firends that cant even fathom, i mean they can't grasp what it is they are doing with the Large Hardon Colider

Huhh???....what? The large what?? :shock: :shock: :shock:

That is really difficult to fathom. I think I know who that is though, wasnt Elton John one??

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 15th, 2007, 3:57 pm

Huhh???....what? The large what??

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Large_Hadron_Collider

basically what it does it collides 2 atoms at almost the speed of light to re-create (in a very small scale) what scientist call the big bang and see what/how the universe was created.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 15th, 2007, 4:22 pm

OK, so let me get dis right, what youre saying is that you need a large Hardon Colider in order to get a big bang??
:shock: :shock:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 15th, 2007, 4:53 pm

djaggs :roll:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 15th, 2007, 6:51 pm

Does anyone here find this really funny or is it only me??

Just found this really funny post:

“HARDON
Possibly the most massive, energetic, and powerful particles in the universe, the hardon exhibits an incredibly long decay time. While most particles decay after a few microseconds, the hardon tends to last 10-15 minutes. Hardons are formed by interactions of hitons (â€

Postby ronsin1 » February 16th, 2007, 5:53 am

the reason for this thread was because of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in Switzerland - it will test the Big Bang Theory, this November 2007-early 2008 and will settle allot of these questions

It may settle the question of the BIG BANG but the question of what caused the BIG BANG in the first place still remains in other words what "created it"

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 16th, 2007, 10:34 am

sigh... it will let them know (through various tests/experiments) what would have been needed, what sort of conditions, what could have caused it, what needed to be present before, in other words "what created it" - cant you understand that ?? this si why people simply beleive in religion, cause most of this is WAAAAAYYYY above their heads and they jsut cant comprehend the idea or questions / answers this will bring about.

Postby Razkal » December 17th, 2008, 8:54 am

Bump for good discussion.

I had a run in with one of those "intelligent design" creationist kooks yesterday nah :|

Postby Razkal » December 17th, 2008, 9:41 am

EvaporatingPuddleBlogspot wrote:Let me start with a quote from Bertrand Russell. Russell was asked, once, what he would say if he died and found out that there was a God after all, and God asked him why Russell didn't believe in him. "Not enough evidence, God, not enough evidence" was Russell's hypothetical reply.

...and i agree with him, i've been exposed to religion most of my life, and am open to their views, but i honestly see creationists as sadly embedded too deep in archaic beliefs and explanations, to appreciate or be open minded enough to truly understand how almost concrete the evidence of the big bang occurring, evolution taking place really is...
Science has taken the steps required to find proof and evidence supporting it's claims and theories, not one pope in a lab coat has even lit a bunsen burner with the intention to prove to the world that everything as we know it was created by some "higher being".

eitech

Postby eitech » December 17th, 2008, 10:04 am

look at all d universe and what it contains, you tink dat happened by accident? :shock:

Snags

Postby Snags » December 17th, 2008, 10:15 am

^I think that it's fantastic and dangerous that man wants to figure things out. I think if you want understanding to help humanity, then this is fantastic. I think that if you want understanding to remove a superior being, then this is dangerous - you will eventually try to become God. You'll model yourselves as just that. Scientist will create all sorts of flabbergastery as they've done before, which will have immense repercussions on our race. In any event, you all do know that there will always be something that sparked it. Something that was there already. Whether you say it was a superior being, or gas, or ten asses in a complex string that farted at the same time by accident, something had to already be there - how could there be "not enough evidence" is actually quite ridiculous because man will never "have enough evidence". Man wants the power to create, but will only believe in creation after they prove that they themselves came from pure evolution - well even evolution has a starting point mate. You must evolve from somewhere to somewhere else.
If you just want to know "how it was done" though, then that's fabulous and would be a great inspiration for the mind, or, a mental overload for it, one out of the two. If you want to learn more so you can help to re-create in a manner that does not cause more destruction , well, more power to our race too. Creation and evolution go hand in hand.
Last edited by Snags on December 17th, 2008, 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Snags

Postby Snags » December 17th, 2008, 10:23 am

noobie wrote:evolution was Created.
0X

I think I could have or should have just quoted this. My bad, I don't wanna cause any friction for anyone or ruin yer thread either. :oops:

Postby teems1 » December 17th, 2008, 10:49 am

Cid

Postby Cid » December 17th, 2008, 11:06 am

nothing matters .........if god created it, or if we came from monkeys .......
nothing really matters except the existence of this forum....wait perhaps this ole talk forum is what created everything.......... hmm interesting

Postby Razkal » December 17th, 2008, 1:06 pm

Science is not trying to disprove the existence of god or try to become god (save for the disillusioned few in the 'mad scientist' category), but trying to provide answers, explanations and good reasoning to questions our (as a race) growing intelligence would have eventually led us to ask.
The Big Bang phenomena and how the earth (other planets and entire solar system) was formed, meshes so well with how life was theorized to have started and developed into what it is now that it's not funny. :|

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2008, 1:19 pm

if some god created all this, he hadda be one real muffler bearing......

Snags

Postby Snags » December 17th, 2008, 1:38 pm

Razkal wrote:Science is not trying to disprove the existence of god or try to become god (save for the disillusioned few in the 'mad scientist' category), but trying to provide answers, explanations and good reasoning to questions our (as a race) growing intelligence would have eventually led us to ask.
The Big Bang phenomena and how the earth (other planets and entire solar system) was formed, meshes so well with how life was theorized to have started and developed into what it is now that it's not funny. :|

There are a few disillusioned mad scientist meng and those guys will screw us all, trust me :lol:
Take MGman for instance. We'd all become angry peacocks if that guy were God :lol:

Postby RBphoto » December 17th, 2008, 2:27 pm