How much boost is everyone running?

Hoddie

How much boost is everyone running?

Postby Hoddie » September 15th, 2006, 8:33 pm

Hello Trinis...

Graham from Calgary, Canada. Married a Trini woman years back now...and just experienced the Trini racing at the end of August when I stopped by the drag event. You guys got it great down here, and have some quick rides.

So, I run a supercharged 3.8 liter Pontiac up here with 12-13psi boost. What kind of setups do you have and what boost are you pushing... 8-)
Last edited by Hoddie on September 22nd, 2006, 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 16th, 2006, 4:29 pm

I run a supercharged 3.8 liter Pontiac up here with 12-13psi boost

Dang!! :shock: 3.8l supercharged u say ?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 16th, 2006, 4:54 pm

^^ like you never see some of those turbo v8's running 12 - 18 psi, tq to move 40ft containers! :lol:

If you caught a drags event at the end of august, and saw me running I was at 12 - 13 psi before I turned up the boost to 16 and hit a fuel cut :oops: after that I set it to jsut about 14. 8-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXnly65tBts

First race in the video just after leaving the line I hit the fuel cut. But I still won :lol:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 16th, 2006, 5:55 pm

Hoddie,nice :cool:

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » September 17th, 2006, 2:16 am

If you caught a drags event at the end of august, and saw me running

Yeah man...I caught that whole event from the announcers truck...and saw you run. That ride performs...nice boost numbers...

Funny...I did have a vid of one of your runs...but it was misdirected... :x

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » September 17th, 2006, 10:35 am

24lbs K04 turbo LSD 1.8 T VW 320lbs torque..... :twisted:

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » September 17th, 2006, 5:07 pm

24lbs K04 turbo LSD 1.8 T VW 320lbs torque.....

Vicious...

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » September 17th, 2006, 8:31 pm

nice toy

LOCO

Postby LOCO » September 19th, 2006, 9:58 am

GSR 1800cc 14lbs (as it's a daily driver) Never dynoed cause we have no AWD machine here yet. :(

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » September 19th, 2006, 10:12 am

ej25t,peaks at 21.5 and settles to 18 all the way to redline. :evil: :twisted:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 19th, 2006, 5:51 pm

Hoddie, nice ride man must be really fun to drive.

any mods to come in the future?

btw i N/A :cry:

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » September 20th, 2006, 12:20 am

Hoddie, nice ride man must be really fun to drive.

any mods to come in the future?

It is a real nice ride...sure can surprise all them ricers up here...as the trinis would say...WWWWHAAAAT...It is most fun to run up against an imported skyline or sylvia up here...and blow them away. Some are real fast...but not all. Most of them imported cars up here are not the nice ones...no nice skyline GTR's up here yet...(I plan to bring up an EVO VII and a Skyline GTR...)

Well, a few to come yet...I am already sized down 0.7" from stock pulley size...stock boost on this M90 SC is about 5.3psi. The pulley size down put me over 13psi. I can't go lower until I am intercooled because these cars are bad for knock retard under increased boost. I use an AFC...tune my own computer...custom ram air system...etc. I plan to add an intercooler to the mix, and then go down even further on pulley size...probably after I am done my pulley will be 1" smaller in diameter...and I will likely hit about 16psi boost, and break 400 torque (I can't keep dem dam tires from roastin' now...why I need more?) (yeah man...ya alwayz need more).

After the intercooler, I plan to replace the small M90 with an M140 Whipple SC. That will top 20psi boost easily while it adds about 150hp.

Most of the other things are already done...full exhaust including ported manifolds, full suspension lowering and handling package, leather, sound, etc...

Last but not least...what good would all them mods be if I didn't plan to export this beast to TNT and move down der to race it on de highway from Sando to POS...concious blastin ta hit Squeeze, Nemo and Crobar for an all nite lime...??? :P

btw i N/A

Won't be long before ya turbo that thing...ya know ya wanta...

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 20th, 2006, 8:29 am

what good would all them mods be if I didn't plan to export this beast to TNT and move down der to race it on de highway from Sando to POS

Lemme see them SR hoes come tru now nuh :twisted:

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » September 20th, 2006, 10:23 am

pornstar4777 wrote:24lbs K04 turbo LSD 1.8 T VW 320lbs torque..... :twisted:

That KKK turbo is spiking boost early. Upgrade to a GT2871RS eliminator kit and you will produce far better torque spead from just 1bar.

thegtiman

Re: How much boost is everyone running?

Postby thegtiman » September 20th, 2006, 10:26 am

Hoddie wrote:Hello Trinis...

Graham from Calgary, Canada. Married a Trini woman years back now...and just experienced the Trini racing at the end of August when I stopped by the drag event. You guys got it great down here, and have some quick rides.

So, I run a supercharged 3.8 liter Pontiac up here with 12-13psi boost. What kind of setups do you have and what boost are you pushing... 8-)

I run high 13's at 4700 feet above sea level...

No replacement for boost displacement!

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » September 20th, 2006, 10:57 am

Lemme see them SR hoes come tru now nuh

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 20th, 2006, 2:31 pm

man like u have everything covered. the stock internals could take how much power? u on stock internals?

wah size of rims u have? they looking ah lil bit small :P

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » September 20th, 2006, 2:58 pm

man like u have everything covered. the stock internals could take how much power? u on stock internals?

The stock internals can take up to about 450hp...and yes, I am still on stock internals. These Pontiac 3800 engines are one of the best performance V6 engines made...and can take plenty abuse.

I plan to put in stage 3 cam...1.7 rockers and forged pistons in the next couple years.

wah size of rims u have? they looking ah lil bit small

Ya man...I agree...those are the 16" winter rims...(dam winter)...I run 18's in the summer.

Blown_Riv

Postby Blown_Riv » November 18th, 2006, 12:30 am

Hello Hoddie. Nice GTP you've got there. I'm pushing 15+ psi @ 6k rpm when I run the 3.2" SC pulley on my blown 3.8L.

Oh, and ehem... did you call that a Pontiac 3800? J/k, thought I'd just remind ya what you're running under the hood of your GP. :) Fyi, the bottom end of the L67 is very solid. The crankshaft is forged and reliable to 1000hp.

Best of luck with the cam and rockers!

Postby X2 » November 26th, 2006, 6:05 pm

I'm pushing 0 psi... aaaaallllll the way to redline !

Postby AllTrac » November 26th, 2006, 7:09 pm

LOCO wrote:GSR 1800cc 14lbs (as it's a daily driver) Never dynoed cause we have no AWD machine here yet. :(

ah saveing to buy your car eh

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » November 27th, 2006, 5:46 pm

Hello Hoddie. Nice GTP you've got there. I'm pushing 15+ psi @ 6k rpm when I run the 3.2" SC pulley on my blown 3.8L.

Nice...do you have any additional belt tensioning systems...IE...Wbody wrap, etc?

I have a real hard time getting any more out of mine without belt slip. I run the 3.2 with a gator 650 and oversize 3.5 tensioner pulley...belt barely goes on, and still slips. Should I run a different belt than a gator with ZZP?

Blown_Riv

Postby Blown_Riv » December 29th, 2006, 9:31 pm

I run the oversize 3.5" tensioner pulley + an oversize 3.5" idler pulley with my 3.2", but your belt is routed a little differently than mine. With the Riviera, there is more belt wrap around the SC pulley, so less slip. In your case, you could try going with a 1/2" to 1" shorter belt size. Also, I use Gates belts (NAPA). They grip a bit better than the Gators from what I hear.

They also make a wider 8 groove belt system, but you must upgrade the balancer and a few other pulleys to make it work.

Postby gt4tified » January 12th, 2007, 3:27 pm

7-11psi on a celica gt4 or as you yanks would call it, an alltrac.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 12th, 2007, 10:21 pm

9psi

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 15th, 2007, 3:37 pm

15psi

STi-N

Postby STi-N » January 15th, 2007, 4:58 pm

12psi