CDT audio separates? anyone tried a set ?

evo-STI-k

CDT audio separates? anyone tried a set ?

Postby evo-STI-k » November 3rd, 2006, 8:05 am

Seen quite a bit of cdt separates and some pretty good write ups!

Has anyone tried them? are they really good???

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » November 3rd, 2006, 9:42 am

They supposed to be really good especially for sound q. Also keep hearing good things about them. I also think there is a dealer for CDT if i am not mistaken.

Sully

Postby Sully » November 3rd, 2006, 7:14 pm

There's a lot of good information on the site. I don't know if the results they obtained is due to product or install.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 8th, 2006, 8:08 pm

aye si-co. be careful what you post here breds. remember what we spoke about. next thing yuh know, all yuh hard work being advantaged and monopolised.

its so obvious it isnt funny.

kyle

Postby kyle » November 9th, 2006, 12:15 pm

I like the cdt 8" :oops: , also the comps look good.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » November 9th, 2006, 12:34 pm

Will be more than happy to demo the CDT stuff for anyone who is interested in hearing them.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 13th, 2007, 1:10 pm

so any customer opinions or reviews that anyone may have from trying any of their products?

I know theres a few tuners who used some - your feedback would greatly be appreciated as I would like to know what you guys think.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 13th, 2007, 3:04 pm

I requested a demo in your FS thread. nobody got back to me as yet :(

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 13th, 2007, 8:28 pm

Sorry about not getting back to you with that, this was quite hectic after just returning from CES.

~snyper~ would be able to give you a demo for any of the model you want that is currently available at this moment. Again sorry for the inconvenience.

Coming soon is the Eurosports and the HD series.

Other than that anyone????

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » January 13th, 2007, 8:37 pm

whats CDT website?

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 13th, 2007, 9:42 pm

greenman

Postby greenman » January 14th, 2007, 4:15 am

i'm using a pair of the coaxials for rear fill....... imo u can't get a better pair of coaxials for that price. Its cleann and produces alot of midbass. i'm using a pair of dls c6 comps in front... the cdt gets louder with the same power. No distortion and it'll hit every note from 50hz.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 14th, 2007, 5:44 am

Glad to see ur impressed with your purchase. Thanks alot for your comments.

Any downfalls tho?

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » January 15th, 2007, 8:31 am

2NR Smurf wrote:I requested a demo in your FS thread. nobody got back to me as yet :(

Sorry bout not getting back to you there... will holla you on msn to organise the demo :wink:

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » January 15th, 2007, 8:50 am

I must say.. I auditioned the CDT's in my car... and have the following comments to date. I will post a complete review a bit later in the week ...

I am referring to the Classic series of products.... namely:

CL-62
CL-6EX

Wha bout dem ting?
The CDT's performance is one of the best I have heard given the products that are available (on the market) in the same price range and $ vs power option...

Dey bess?
The construction of the units display some method of hand craftsmanship. (Personally.. this is a good thing)
In this series, you get a soft silk dome tweeter which is coupled with a 6" mid bass driver. In both the component and the coaxial system, the 6" driver is the same.
The component set has tweeter level attenuation, protection features. There is also an extra pair of outputs to connect a set of CDT Imaging Tweeters
The two systems are rated (avg) 90 watts rms... yeah thaas right ... RMS

ok...enough of describing dem ting....How do they sound?
Bess .... performance is well kept for such a set... excellent mid-bass and adequate mid to high mids.....
....the tweeter a bit stinging...this is what I noticed at first glance... however... I assume that as i tweak along.. and more importantly...tweak the preamp (since ah do ah fass ting dey nah) .. I can make it sound alot better-eR

The flaw?
Dat damn red colour they does use for the basket.... thankfully the grills hide that red colour!!!!
Last edited by ~snYper~ on January 15th, 2007, 9:28 am, edited 3 times in total.

roger

Postby roger » January 15th, 2007, 9:11 am

i am in the process of testing the CL62 model of the CDT.

no processing, on a bridged powersource (aprox 110 x 2), crossed on a 12db/octave higpass crossover @ 60hz. woofer mounted in the door, tweeter in the A pillar

PHYSICAL:
firstly the system is neatly packaged. however on initial inspection i thought the build quality could have been better. the tweeter housings and mounting options are below my expectations for a name that carries a high rep. same for the mounting ring for the woofer. the passive is simple and decently constructed. again i do not like the quality of the plastic used.

the woofer on the other hand is well built. comes with butyl surround which facilitates low responses. nice magnet size. nice polished cone.

SOUND:
The silk tweets are a bit bright. Very alive. very directional. plays upper octaves (10k +) very well.

the woofer is the linchpin of this system. nice midbass response. decent vocals. i thought that the woofer could have been a bit brighter since the vocals are bit airy, hollow,and spacious. handles power nicely.

CONCLUSION:
Keeping in mind that this is a budget system, it is a good choice. just make sure you have adequate power.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 15th, 2007, 9:31 am

Thanks for the honest comments guys, Roger did make a very good point regarding the power required to drive them. In my experience especially in the case of good quality midrange speakers its good to have enough power to push them. When this is done you can really appreciate the performance.

roger

Postby roger » January 15th, 2007, 9:40 am

waitin on the HD's!!

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 15th, 2007, 10:14 am

Making another order today as the previous order has more or less been SOLD OUT. In this order expect to see:

HD's - HD-62, HD-642
- HD-3, HD-4 (3 inch and 4 inch wide range midrange drivers) (2007)
- Braxial Kits

Classis Series - CL-62
- CL-60CV
- CL-642
- CL-E61NEO (2007)

Eurosport - ES-62i
- ES-62iUS ( component with upstage kit)

NEW FOR 2007 - CS-02 - NEW AND IMPROVED CENTERSTAGE KIT

Also have in stock the 2006 CENTER STAGE KIT
CS-25

UPSTAGE KIT - TW-24/LP

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2007, 11:24 am

Sounds like I will not like these, especially with descriptions of bright tweeters and the need for tweeking.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 15th, 2007, 11:42 am

every person might have a different judgment on them based on personal preferences of what they like in a speaker. Also take into consideration the prices which is definately cheaper than most of the stuff available on the market today.

Take a listen and tell us what you think. For a demo you can arrange with ~snyper~ as I am out of the country at this point in time.

I would be pleased to know what you think.

dv8

Postby dv8 » January 15th, 2007, 12:10 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Sounds like I will not like these, especially with descriptions of bright tweeters and the need for tweeking.

hear it fuss... b4 you decide... thaas what they always say meng

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » March 4th, 2007, 10:11 pm

Any other tuners who purchased, heard or using CDT products like to share what they thought about it?

Board is open.