what not to do to yur K&N filter

cacasplat3

what not to do to yur K&N filter

Postby cacasplat3 » November 8th, 2006, 12:15 pm

so my cousin-in-law has a K&N installed on his caburated B13, and as expectied it got dirty after a while, so he asked me what to do, so i told him to buy the recharger kit, but he said that he dosent have the time nor the money at the time so he'll leave it there. now one afternoon he tells me that the filter has gotten really dirty, and that he used an air intake cleaner(those gasoline based aerosol cleaner) on the filter and all the black muck came off. by this time i'm really dissapointed cuz i know that this shouldnt be done and i tell him again that he should buy the filter recharger. but he dosent listen to good advice and then re-installs it.(about 3 months ago)
now a couple days ago i bought a recharger kit for the first time to clean my dirty K&N filter, and he asked me to clean his. so i sprayed on the cleaner, washed it out let it dry then applied the filter oil and left it overnight to dry the result:Image
the filter is now completely ruined, it does not look pink as it should but still looks white, its not that i didnt apply enough oil but that, buy him cleaning his filter with the cleaner and not re-oiling the filter, the filter medium (cotton) has absorbed a lot of dust particles, making it look white/grey in colour.
the filter is now useless and would not filter anything since K&N relies on the oil to trap dust and not the cotton itself.

ppl plz dont make this mistake 8-)

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » November 8th, 2006, 2:08 pm

doh worry we smarter than that :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » November 8th, 2006, 6:01 pm

cacasplat

good advise there

but despite what ppl say I clean my OBX filter (Yeah SHO, I still have it) with squeezy water and some good ole WD-40

still wukking good

bought a new filter, wasn't wukking as good as the OBX, so the OBX went back in

plex

Postby plex » November 8th, 2006, 6:18 pm

cacasplat3, good advice..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 8th, 2006, 7:30 pm

but despite what ppl say I clean my OBX filter (Yeah SHO, I still have it) with squeezy water and some good ole WD-40

by OBX i'm assuming u mean a brand.
K&N acutually says dont use tranny oil, engine oil, diesel oil, WD-40 or any other light weight oils.

venum, instead of the squeezy, why dont u try a degreaser? especially the ones that are made for use on yur hands, its like a thick jelly. hard to find though, i've never seen it locally.
(lauglin and degannes may have it or try SSL in san do) the de-greaser would work better IMO
but dont use WD-40 it dries off too quickly. :wink:

Postby eliteauto » November 8th, 2006, 7:41 pm

good advice if you're willing to spend money on a good filter, best to follow the care instructions and get your money's worth

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 8th, 2006, 7:49 pm

i guess knowing how to clean yur filter is just as important as knowing what not to do with it.

thing is i havent even told the guy the filter is ruined, cuz it still home by me and i eh get ah chance to meet him, sadly he will have to buy a new one. :(

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » November 8th, 2006, 9:33 pm

this is great i was woundering about what would happen if u did something like that now i know better ...thanks for the info bro!

venum

Postby venum » November 9th, 2006, 5:16 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:venum, instead of the squeezy, why dont u try a degreaser? especially the ones that are made for use on yur hands, its like a thick jelly. hard to find though, i've never seen it locally.
(lauglin and degannes may have it or try SSL in san do) the de-greaser would work better IMO
but dont use WD-40 it dries off too quickly. :wink:

I used upholstery cleaner on my filter once

Mothers Upholstery cleaner - worked like a charm on the interior fabric

this was to free up the dirt,

left it just a few min, then fkushed with water

if you leave this for too long it will damage the filter fibres

this cleaned out that filter the best, better than the squeezy

due to the dirt lifting nature of teh upholstery cleaner, it actually removed a lot of the dust from the filter

but use carefully

and if anyone has doubts about my method - do NOT do what i did, go buy the K&N cleaning kit :mrgreen:

Postby X2 » November 9th, 2006, 6:11 pm

any gas based cleaner will kill a filter... but squeezy and water is just fine !

But the wet material filters like K&N must be reoiled with the K&N oil or else ur done....

OBX filters are not the same as the K&N tho.... I run an OBX after my K&N died... no oil here.... hehehe

Precious Roy

Postby Precious Roy » November 9th, 2006, 10:01 pm

What's the price on one of those recharger kits?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 9th, 2006, 10:09 pm

X2, true that if the K&N oil dries up, the filter is dead if u use it.

Precious Roy, the ones with the aerosol oil can is like $120 and the ones with the squeegy oil bottle is about $100

Precious Roy

Postby Precious Roy » November 10th, 2006, 12:23 pm

Precious Roy, the ones with the aerosol oil can is like $120 and the ones with the squeegy oil bottle is about $100

Not too bad considering you probably only secvice those filters once in a blue moon.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 10th, 2006, 5:36 pm

^^ every 20,000 kms

Postby wagonrunner » November 10th, 2006, 5:50 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:^^ every 20,000 kms

:shocked!:
meh poor ractive does get it every 5,000km. and it's filthy then.

Postby cinco » November 11th, 2006, 12:01 am

u can "overclean" it too yuh know
d dirt means it trappin d dust particles which is good

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 11th, 2006, 9:52 am

^^ every 20,000 kms

damn I'mn rewally over due.....

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 11th, 2006, 10:20 am

u can "overclean" it too yuh know
d dirt means it trappin d dust particles which is good

the more dirt the better, cuz it aids filtration

~˜VëgŲ˜~, clean it once the dirt has reached about the level of the wire gauze, that is a good estimate.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 11th, 2006, 1:59 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~, clean it... period.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 12th, 2006, 9:47 am

need to get me a recharger kit first....... that'll do in december.....

linker

Postby linker » November 28th, 2006, 1:29 am

ppl if you shelling out the money to buy an k&n filter pleeeeeaase shell out a lil more and and buy the recharger kit. else u will just ruin it like cacasplat's cousin and then that defeats the purpose of the filter in the first place albeit to say yuh go waste yuh money..

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » November 28th, 2006, 6:38 am

venum wrote:cacasplat

good advise there

still wukking good

bought a new filter, wasn't wukking as good as the OBX, so the OBX went back in

its LPS1 to use and not wd-40 8-)

Johnny_Killa

Postby Johnny_Killa » November 28th, 2006, 1:21 pm

what is the cost of the obx filters?would u consider them to be better than the K&n filters?

venum

Postby venum » November 28th, 2006, 9:21 pm

^^^ can't really compare the OBX with the K&N cause I never used th K&N

always found that the $$$ was too much to pay for the K&N

might try it one day though

OBX ~$250.00

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 29th, 2006, 10:42 am

K&N $350 if u look in the right place, with a 10 year or 1 million mile warranty(depending on the filter u buy this could be a 1 year, unlimited mileage warranty)

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » November 29th, 2006, 1:04 pm

I feel bad for d engine...it has been eating dirt since he washed that wit a gas base cleaner.

That is not a filter anymore...it is a mesh screen. The engine will die if he keep using it. No pink oil...no dirt trap. No dirt trap...no engine soon. Don't give it back to him, ah he will run it again.

Recharge kit is not a suggested purchase...it is a must. De whole kit up here in Canada is about $100tt. Well worth the investment every year or so.

Postby Greypatch » November 29th, 2006, 2:56 pm

sad really sad...

penny wise pound foolish

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 29th, 2006, 3:24 pm

the kit is $100 here. and if u clean the filter 2 times a year that a lot. the kit could give you about 8 cleanings. mabey more, depending on filter size and how u use it.

i gave it back to him not long after i posted this thread. right now i'm sourcing a new one for him. :wink:

Hoddie

Postby Hoddie » November 29th, 2006, 6:12 pm

i gave it back to him not long after i posted this thread. right now i'm sourcing a new one for him.

Ah hope he ain't drivin' it...ah he won't need a next one. :cry:

venum

Postby venum » November 29th, 2006, 6:35 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:K&N $350 if u look in the right place, with a 10 year or 1 million mile warranty(depending on the filter u buy this could be a 1 year, unlimited mileage warranty)

I really do not believe this from K&N

it just sounds like a marketing shot\gimmick