Mods on my RX8 shinka

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Mr Dell

Mods on my RX8 shinka

Postby Mr Dell » November 14th, 2006, 7:07 pm

I just bought a RX8 shinka 1.3 Rotary can i do any thing to give it some more kick...I'am trini but i live in TN now...any thoughts...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 15th, 2006, 12:38 am

the usual to any car: intake, exhaust(headders, cat back) 50shot of nitrous, turbo it. many kits available.
all depends n how much more u want out of the car.
lighweight rim/tire package should give better acceleration, and handling
dont forget to upgrade brakes if they arent suficent.
suspension mods like coilovers, strut bars, sway bars, should all improve handling once they all meet yur driving style.

Postby X2 » November 15th, 2006, 1:06 am

depends... how much power u wanna make... and is there annual emissions testing in TN ?

Val

Postby Val » November 15th, 2006, 8:55 am

Yea swap in a 13B-REW :lol:

cacasplat, I just so glad you didn't say high compression pistons or cams yes :lol:

TK!

Postby TK! » November 15th, 2006, 9:51 am

^^ heh...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 15th, 2006, 2:17 pm

cacasplat, I just so glad you didn't say high compression pistons or cams yes

mabey next time :lol:
first i got to figure out how to get the spark plugs out of my diesel engine :lol:

Mr Dell, i replied to yur mail :wink:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 18th, 2006, 1:58 pm

the usual to any car: intake, exhaust(headders, cat back) 50shot of nitrous, turbo it. many kits available.
all depends n how much more u want out of the car.
lighweight rim/tire package should give better acceleration, and handling
dont forget to upgrade brakes if they arent suficent.
suspension mods like coilovers, strut bars, sway bars, should all improve handling once they all meet yur driving style.

Keep in mind you're not talking about a grocery getter. This is an RX-8

The RX-8 has superb handling right off the factory floor. Power upgrades can range from catback exhaust, intake (maybe?).....

...GReddy also makes a turbo kit for it.

MAZMART

Postby MAZMART » November 21st, 2006, 9:31 pm

The simplest parts that are proven effective and won't break the bank are from Racing Beat in California. They include a cat-back exhaust and an intake system that they designed. They are also offering computer reflash services that improve power especially after 8000 rpm.

Iown an 05 RX8 myself in my Mazda stable. Wecome to the 8 club. Hope you enjoy it.

Paul.

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » November 25th, 2006, 6:13 am

^^^ Hey Paul.. how are ya ?? This is Rich.

Yo Rx8 Dude.. at 7stock last month, i saw a charger kit for the RX8 for around $4000 USD plus there are turbo kits out there now for them that are quite good.

I'd suggest getting all the basic bolt on's and getting the car to breathe first. You'll be surprised at how much improvement an open exhaust and a proper filter system will make .

HP=Money ..so either decide how much power you want or how much money you wanna spend.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 25th, 2006, 8:56 am

greddy has a kit for about $4000US, comes with pre mapped e-manage blue, all the hardware u need( intercooler, piping, hoses, turbo, bolts, manifolds etc.)
check it out, power gains should be at about 100hp, mabey more :?:

Postby Razkal » November 27th, 2006, 11:07 am

the RX-8 engine design is alot more efficient than the older REW engines with all the RENESIS tech n what not, not talking from personal experience (cause i dont got me no rx8) but ive read in alot of mags and online articles that the rx8 doesnt really respond to bolt on 'breather' mods (I/H/E etc.) because the N/A potential of the engine is almost reached from the factory specs, what i mean is that u prob will get gains from getting some bolt on breather mods but they wont be worth the money spent to get those small gains.

i guess the only way to get good bang-for-the-buck is to source a forced induction kit for the car....n the way the ports on the renesis are designed i dont think u'd get any big improvements unless u get some ridiculous unstreetable type port lol

good luck man...one of my fav cars, post some pics if u can!

MAZMART

Postby MAZMART » November 29th, 2006, 9:29 am

3rdGen7 wrote:^^^ Hey Paul.. how are ya ?? This is Rich.

Yo Rx8 Dude.. at 7stock last month, i saw a charger kit for the RX8 for around $4000 USD plus there are turbo kits out there now for them that are quite good.

I'd suggest getting all the basic bolt on's and getting the car to breathe first. You'll be surprised at how much improvement an open exhaust and a proper filter system will make .

HP=Money ..so either decide how much power you want or how much money you wanna spend.

Rich,

Good to talk to you again. How are you? I hope you behavin yuh self.

Paul.

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » December 4th, 2006, 8:20 am

^^ Haa.. yeah.. me is ah good boy..

How far all yuh reach on my 4 rotor ?? eh ?? When to pass to collect it ??

*lol

Return to “MAZDA”