Val wrote:So it worked then? Nice.
You should specify that this is for the D15B.
what if i wanted to use a brighter LED, or several LEDs, would i need a different value resistor? or maybe just resistor per LED instead?
Val wrote:Normal LED's use about 2V. If you exceed the rated voltage for an LED, it will burn out.
Some leds use different voltages (e.g. 5V). Car voltage is 12V. Resistors are needed to break down the voltage to the led from the car's electrical system.
V=IR where V is voltage, I is current and R is resistance.
For the particular current flowing in the wire that you tapping (which will remain constant), you need to choose a Resistor with a certain resistance which will give you the voltage required for the LED.what if i wanted to use a brighter LED, or several LEDs, would i need a different value resistor? or maybe just resistor per LED instead?
Yes.
Zh@ne wrote:the reason that the resistor comes on the negative part of the LEd is because yuh tend to experience a reverse voltage form time to time (a back voltage) if this voltage pass thought the negative terminal of the LED then i will cause the LED to blow. grounding these components so time isnt enough!
redsupra101 wrote:yeah but he didnt say what voltage led he used anyway.. i had 2 ask. how am i to know what is the voltage out of the ecu, whats the voltage of the led?
Zh@ne wrote:Yes the diode would serves the same function as the resistor however the resistor in most cases are cheap and easier to purchase than the diode.
However don't get me wrong by placing a resistor on the negative lead of the LED "WILL NOT INCREASE BRIGHTNESS" to get the LED to show brigther yuh need a LED with a great voltage tolerence therefore instead of a 12V LED buy a 24V LED however this still is not enough u will need a small circuit to boost the voltage to the LED (juss as a transformer steps up AC current) there is a device to step up DC current . Cant remember what to do off hand i will have to look in meh books for it as soon as i find it i will send a post!
hondat wrote:ok 3stage but can i hook up two led's i have a 3-stage also so i was askin if 1 for 12v-16-v and the other for 16v to 16v wild cam mode. is it possible or will it work