WTK: Who Does "RHINO" Pickup Tray Lining

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
rolandk

WTK: Who Does "RHINO" Pickup Tray Lining

Postby rolandk » April 24th, 2006, 10:58 am

Where can I get this done?
Average Price?
Need to tote some bricks and other hard stuff that can damage my tray is it suitable?
Should I be looking at a "Duraliner" instead?

Sully

Postby Sully » April 24th, 2006, 1:04 pm

Give MasterServ a call. I'm not sure if it's the Rhino brand, but they do something similar I think.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » April 24th, 2006, 1:35 pm

Ziebart Tidy Car is the Rhino dealer.
They will handle installation etc.

10B Production Av, Sea Lots
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago

Phone Numbers: 623-2813 625-3281 625-4785

I think you should stick to the Rhino. I have seen rust form under the plastic on drop-in bedliners. You would be better off treating it properly with the Rhino coating. Ziebart's facilities are pretty good too.

Postby eliteauto » April 24th, 2006, 7:37 pm

^^correct moisture is trapped under dropin liners the rhino is best

Postby equipped2ripp » April 24th, 2006, 8:48 pm

hydrocarb trinidad ltd. in fyzabad had the dealership before ziebart, i still think they do.
677-7341, if i remember off hand.

rhino is the best.
then the durabak sprayed-on liner from shaw's could rank as 2nd place...

Postby wagon r » April 25th, 2006, 7:35 am

^price from them is around $2,600.

i checked to do mine but cyar afford dat.....had to stick to old plastic bedliner... :(

Postby equipped2ripp » April 25th, 2006, 9:44 am

hydrocarb is $2875, trust me it's well worth it.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 26th, 2006, 8:01 am

Shaw's Autobody Shop in Las Lomas is where I got my polyurethane coating done about 6 yrs ago.

It's about $1500 per coating, and he does as much coats as you want. We put on two coats cause the pickup does light cargo duty. He Also can apply it to the railings at the sides and the railing behind the back glass.

pothole

Postby pothole » April 26th, 2006, 11:29 am

complete coating 683-1101
$2800

AcousticEng

Postby AcousticEng » April 26th, 2006, 9:44 pm

yea i have seen pothole work its really good check him out

Postby Team Loco » April 26th, 2006, 11:31 pm

Complete coating does a perfect job for less

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » April 28th, 2006, 11:35 pm

Isn't there a Do-it yourself liner.I think it's called Herculiner.Not too sure if it's good

aidan

Postby aidan » April 29th, 2006, 1:03 am

rhino rules.a friend has a rhino coating for like 3-4 yrs now and it holding out great!

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2006, 5:42 pm

I saw a pickup once where a guy used one of the roofing mastic sealers,
similar kind of black stuff, dunno how long it lasted though

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » May 1st, 2006, 11:21 pm

Have A Rhino lining on a nine year old L200 & still going strong...

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » May 2nd, 2006, 6:07 am

yea definately go with a spray on liner...

but be carefull what you use my cousin got a cheap spray on liner when he painted his van and it flaked out after 6 months.

jackal

Postby jackal » August 18th, 2007, 6:44 pm

Boy, I still prefer the duraliner. I does drop all kinda of thing on the back of my pickup. With rino liner, I would of damaged the physical structure of the tray bed.

by the way, ah not working for duraliner.

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » August 20th, 2007, 11:57 am

dawg rhino liners are THE best liners out there.... cuz they stand up to real licks and hold out. i had a l200 for about 7 years and the liner get real work and it still holding firm...pay the extra money it worth it.. as for drop in liners don't put it cuz water tends to get in between the plastic and the actual tray and it begins to rust away the tray under the liner and you won't realise....

jackal

Postby jackal » August 20th, 2007, 5:12 pm

madcoolieboy wrote:dawg rhino liners are THE best liners out there.... cuz they stand up to real licks and hold out. i had a l200 for about 7 years and the liner get real work and it still holding firm...pay the extra money it worth it.. as for drop in liners don't put it cuz water tends to get in between the plastic and the actual tray and it begins to rust away the tray under the liner and you won't realise....

With that point, you correct, you get condensation between the liner and the bed, I coated mines with a mixture of grease and oil before I put on the liner.

You cant pelt a barrel on the tray without sinking the floor bed.

Postby equipped2ripp » August 20th, 2007, 10:30 pm

yeah i have mine over 3 yrs now.. it needs to repair though.. it's worn off in some areas and the edges raised.. and some cnuts ripped the raised edges off :evil:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 8th, 2007, 9:13 pm

the Dropin liner, the tray traps water/moisture and rust forms (unless u coat it with Grease, but thats dirty work)

the Rhino Liner, the tray is treated with Anti-corrosive and then coated with the spray-on layer/s and it there for lifetime :wink:

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » September 12th, 2007, 1:55 pm

Recently had a Rhino coating done at Hydrocarb in Fyzabad. Cost $3306.25 VAT Incl. for a D/cab l200

Took about 3 and a half hours to complete

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » September 26th, 2007, 9:07 am

Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating

Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating. It is the first aerosol and premixed, one-step coating for do-it-yourselfers and professionals. Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating is a durable, non-skid coating that protects truck beds from impact, scratches, weather and rust.

It is a unique black vinyl polymer coating that protects the truck bed and gives the look of a conventional truck bed liner for a fraction of the cost. It can be rolled on or sprayed on.

Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating comes in easy-to-use gallon and quart-size containers to be applied with a spray gun, roller or brush.

Dupli-Color® Aerosol Truck Bed Coating

This product is formulated to provide spray-on protection for truck beds, inner fenders, tailgates, bedrails, cargo vans, push bars, metal floors, trailer beds, step areas and running boards. Also ideal for other areas where a non-skid, protective coating is desired.

* Abrasion resistant
* Easy-to-apply
* Sprayable
* Quick drying times
* Durable, non-skid surface
* Improves vehicle appearance

Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating Spray Gun

This high quality gun is designed for use with the bulk cans of Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating. Easy to use and provides excellent coverage for applying the durable, fast-drying coating to truck beds and other direct-to-metal applications.

* Chemical-resistant hose
* Splash-proof cap
* Complete instructions included

Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating Roller Kit

This kit makes easy work of coating a truck bed using our one-gallon Truck Bed Coating. It includes: Easy step-by-step instructions, a professional-choice roller pan, chip brush, scuff pad and the exclusive Textra Loopâ„¢ Roller that creates the perfect textured finish. This roller is lab tested for proven results. Its unique vinyl-coated polyester loops are locked onto a sturdy reinforced core with a strong neoprene adhesive to ensure lasting performance.

BY ORDERS FOR THE NEXT SHIPMENT IF ANYONE INTERESTED.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 26th, 2007, 9:24 am

Duplicolor, any :pics: :?: :mrgreen:

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » September 26th, 2007, 9:29 am

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 26th, 2007, 9:33 am

ok well that lookin real nice, but it also lookin smooth.....

can this also do a rough finish like the spray on Rhino to prevent objects from sliding?

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » September 26th, 2007, 9:35 am

that im not sure off, but i guess you can buy another product to apply 1st then apply the
Truck Bed Coating.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 26th, 2007, 2:34 pm

do you need an air compressor for that? I seeing something looking like an air powered spray gun in that pic

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » September 26th, 2007, 4:57 pm

Applying Truck Bed Coating

Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating is a durable, high-impact, vinyl polymer coating that protects truck beds from impact, scratches, weather, rust and fading. It provides a durable, skid-resistant barrier that reduces road noise, prevents rust and simulates the look of a plastic bed liner. It contours to the exact shape of the truck bed area. Ideal to coat the entire truck bed or smaller applications.

Step 1:

Prepare Surface- Remove dirt, grease, wax, moisture, rust and loose paint. Clean surface with Dupli-Color® Grease & Wax Remover (CM540-CM542) or equivalent.

Step 2:

Mask Area- Mask entire area to protect adjacent surfaces from paint splatter with 3M Painters Pre-Tape (#306687) or equivalent. This will speed-up the process.

Step 3:

Sand the Surface- Thouroughly sand truck bed with coarse sandpaper (180-220 grit). For maximum results, sand upto masked area.

Step 4:

Scuff the Surface- Scuff sand glossy, hard or rusted surfaces with 3M Scotch Brite Pad (#07447) or equivalent. This is ideal for hard to reach corners and masked edge lines. For maximum results, scuff sand thoroughly up to masked edge. Truck Bed Coating can be used directly on properly prepared surface (no primer needed, apply directly to bare metal.)

Step 5:

Clean Surface- Remove sanding dust. Re-clean with Dupli-Color Wax & Grease Remover and dry cloth.

Spray Gun Application- Attach a 5-6 foot lacquer-resistant hose to gun and turn on compressor. NOTE: Check spray gun instructions before using. For best product results use the Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating Spray Gun. The spraying of Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating requires a nozzle diameter of 1/4 inch or larger.

Spray Can Application- Use at temperatures between 68º and 90º F. Ideal when used in weather conditions of 50% humidity or less. Shake can manually for 2 minutes to liquefy contents. Remove cap and use a stirring stick to scrape sides of can to uniformly mix product. Insert lacquer-resistant hose until it reaches bottom of can. A pressure setting of 30 p.s.i. or above at the regulator is suggested for test spraying. Test on an inconspicuous area and adjust pressure for desired flow and texture. Coating is ready to spray or may be reduced with up to a pint of Dupli-Color® Acetone or equivalent. Mix Truck Bed Coating and Acetone thoroughly and test spray until desired texture is achieved. Note: Additional reduction may be required due to humid weather conditions, spray gun type, pick-up tube diameter and/or air pressure. Lowered air pressure will increase coating texture and product reduction will increase product flow.

After testing apply a wet, even cover coat to surface. Adjust spray gun distance from surface to achieve desired results (distance of 4-6 inches is recommend). Use steady even strokes and keep spray gun parallel to surface. Apply coating to front half of truck bed while standing in vehicle. Wait 5 minutes between coats, then apply top coat while holding spray gun nozzle 10-12 inches from surface (adjust distance for desired texture). Additional spray gun distance from the surface will increase surface texture. Step out of vehicle and repeat application steps for back half of truck bed. For maximum coating durability a minimum of two coats is required (equivalent to 5 mils of coating). Additional application coats can be applied to build up thickness and increase surface texture as desired. Truck Bed Coating dries to the touch in 30 minutes. Allow a full 24 hours before using truck bed. For trim or touch-up work use Dupli-Color® Aerosol Truck Bed Coating #TR250. After use, clean gun spray nozzle and hose with Dupli-Color® Lacquer Thinner. Use rag moistened with Dupli-Color® Lacquer Thinner to remove any overspray.

Roller Application- Use at temperatures between 68º and 90º F. Shake can manually for 2 minutes to liquefy contents. After shaking contents, remove lid with screwdriver. Place roller pan on flat surface and pour in a small amount of product (enough to do a small 2 ft. square section). With enclosed chip brush, cut in all corners or areas hard to reach with a roller. (For optimum performance and ease, use aerosol can of Dupli-Color® Truck Bed Coating #TR250 aerosol). When rolling, start at the front of the truck bed and work backward toward the tailgate. With the enclosed 4â€

Postby Greypatch » September 26th, 2007, 7:46 pm

what price we talking about here dwag ?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”