rx7 motor in b2200 pickup?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
runcie

rx7 motor in b2200 pickup?

Postby runcie » April 2nd, 2006, 1:22 pm

can this be done? and if so.. will the stock tranny bolt up? or do i need to buy engine and trans?
this may sound stupid but i really dont know anything wen it comes to this kinda stuff..

AcousticEng

Postby AcousticEng » April 2nd, 2006, 8:41 pm

you have to buy the engine and tranny. come check us in the mazda united post

Raziel

Postby Raziel » April 2nd, 2006, 9:01 pm

A rotary? look, I know some men going to want to flame me for this, but the RX7 isn't renoun for reliability. I would presume for a pickup, reliability more than speed would be the priority. Choose another engine.

p.s. to answer your question, anything can be done, it's really the cost/sense of the project. My personal advice, if it hasn't been done before, don't do it, being the first means you get all the headache, pay for all the learnings.

Postby Razkal » April 6th, 2006, 12:21 am

^not every single rotary mill is unreliable man raziel...tuning nad maintenance is the key with rotaries...look at ready, dale and laing's cars :wink:

its been done already i'm sure....google some aussie rotary sites..they'd have prob done it first.

AcousticEng

Postby AcousticEng » April 6th, 2006, 10:21 am

I agree with razkal. Regular oil changes with the correct, oil, good cooling(intercooler, radiator, oil cooler) and treat it good. Rotary is not bad . i have an article i want you to read

http://www.aaroncake.net/RX-7/index.htm I put most of it here:

RX-7/Rotary Engine Facts
• The rotary engine is actually very reliable, no matter what anyone says. Odds are that a person saying the engine is not reliable doesn't know what they are talking about, modded his/her car improperly or didn't take care of their engine.
• All 3rd Generation RX-7s (1993-present) are twin sequential turbo, twin rotor 13B-REW engines. There were no naturally asiprated, single turbo or three rotor 3rd gen. RX-7s produced from the factory.
• The different generations of RX-7 are usually referred to by a two letter code taken from the VIN number. First generations ('79-'85) are FBs, second generations ('86-'91/92) are FCs and third generations ('93-present) are FDs.
• The FD is still being produced, but only in Japan.
• FCs have passive rear steering, which Mazda refers to as the "Dynamically Tracking Suspension System", or DTSS. If you don't want this (for drag racing, etc.) then you can buy special bushings to remove it.
• FCs came in both intercooled turbo and naturally aspirated. In the US, all convertibles were naturally aspirated, but in Japan and other areas of the world they were turbo. The naturallty aspirated FC was not available in Japan.
• The turbo FC is called the "Turbo II". This is not because it has two turbos, but because the FB was available in Japan as turbo.
• The 13B rotary engine in the 1989-1991 RX-7 has the highest power to displacement ratio of any naturally aspirated engine produced.
• Rotary engines respond to common modifications like intake and exhaust much better then piston engines. However, if you have a turbo rotary and perform the preceding modifications, it is now time to upgrade the fuel system. If you don't, you will most likely run lean, detonate and then blow the engine.
• The rotary's strong exhaust pulses are also much better for driving a turbocharger than a piston engine.
• The rotary engine burns oil by design, unlike piston engines that burn oil as they wear out.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » April 6th, 2006, 11:00 am

Guys, the rotary is a high performance engine, quite an interesting piece of technology, but without a fair amount of effort, and planned maintainance, it is still subject to failure. While this may be acceptable in a "sport/race car" I don't think it's what somebody is looking for in a pickup.

Question should be for Runcie, what you plan to do with this pickup? show truck or working truck?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » April 6th, 2006, 12:45 pm

Raziel wrote:Guys, the rotary is a high performance engine, quite an interesting piece of technology, but without a fair amount of effort, and planned maintainance, it is still subject to failure.

So an SR20DET isn't?

Raziel wrote:While this may be acceptable in a "sport/race car" I don't think it's what somebody is looking for in a pickup.

:twisted:

Raziel wrote:Question should be for Runcie, what you plan to do with this pickup? show truck or working truck?

:?: That is what we need to find out!

AcousticEng

Postby AcousticEng » April 6th, 2006, 9:39 pm

well if d man wanted an RX-7 engine in the first place, i guess he was looking at racing. if he was looking at reliability he would put a turbo diesel.

Postby Razkal » April 7th, 2006, 10:16 am

^true dat.

nice link AcousticEng, good read. :cool:

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » April 8th, 2006, 11:09 am

There were quite a few mazda pick ups with 13B's in them.. sweet swap..

R-XTREME

Postby R-XTREME » April 8th, 2006, 11:53 am

From back in the day there have been some B1600's with ported NA Rotors in them.

Reliabilty in a rotary is down to tuning, in fact in any engine Piston or Rotor reliability is down to tuning.

Just ask the man who mashing up 2j engines like it going out of style. :lol:

AcousticEng

Postby AcousticEng » April 8th, 2006, 4:33 pm

lol! true R-XREME. i starting to bring down mazda stuff down including RX-7 parts and engines mostly second gen and 3rd. what you want to see more off? gimme some ideas of what u and d RX boys looking at

R-XTREME

Postby R-XTREME » April 8th, 2006, 5:34 pm

What u bringing in Series 5 and 6 engines complete??? Let me know what stuff you have and I will see what I can do for you.

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » April 9th, 2006, 4:57 pm

Bring plenty gasket kit both engine and exhaust kits ...and water seals (the internal o-ring type ..not the leather oem.. bring the green synthetic ones.. they better).. I done bring ting fuh man and get stick.. I glad someone else taking up the torch...

BTW , Anyone want OEM FD break pads to buy.. I have a sheit load..

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”