Lets talk about the future of our beloved B Series

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Clerique

Lets talk about the future of our beloved B Series

Postby Clerique » February 19th, 2006, 7:48 pm

I realize as the years roll by, it is becoming harder and harder to get a B series engine. Either the engine in bad condition, is block alone, is head alone. Doh even talk about gearbox.
I have heard that there are americans going to japan and buying out everything B at a fixed rate. Broken, working, front cut, half cut, crashed cars everything Domestic to the Japanese market. In other words, they buying everything 'Jay Dee Em'.

I have seen images of warehouses of honda engines in the US; 40+ engines laying on the ground couple Red and many Black. When you go on EBay and other site that sell these honda parts, $3,000.00+US for these B engines without gearbox.
These guys sell used mats, steering wheels switches, any thing that is not from the USDM.

Next two years, when yuh B16 cap out, what yuh goin an do?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 19th, 2006, 8:08 pm

K18
k20
k23t
K24

with-in 5 years

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » February 19th, 2006, 8:25 pm

yeh i've been noticing this JDM trend going awry lately, in the beginning it was about the "rare" parts an thats why they were so expensive, now the parts easily obtainable, but the price still high. :| :(

Postby RASC » February 19th, 2006, 9:14 pm

yeh well thats what has been happening with honda engines for the longest time...its becoming so expensive to go honda...the demad has totally demolished the value of sr20s..you could pratically get those for free...ecu/harness...even gear box for half the price of a bseries block alone...

i guess the future is in the k series, and eventually the b-series prices would go the way of the sr-series(downward=cheaper) but thats such a far way from now, due to how expensive the K swaps are now...as kes vtec said, probably in the next 5 years

Zim

Postby Zim » February 20th, 2006, 9:51 am

Reeeeee-build :P :P

Postby X2 » February 20th, 2006, 10:32 am

It MAY go all K, but prices on the K won't go down anytime soon.

On the other hand, many aftermarket companies are making big parts like blocks, heads, cams, cranks, oil pans, valve covers, distributors. The only thing they're not making at a decent price are transmissions. Look for the price of B engines to go south, but the price of transmissions to skyrocket.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 20th, 2006, 10:32 am

the K's will replace the B's... becoming more common and older.... sad but true, the B's were great pieces of engineering, but the K, with time and development will only superceed the B's victory

but rebuilds will be my thing... ill always have the eg killer bee :D

but the again ill have the bubble with the k20 NA build :twisted:

Zim

Postby Zim » February 20th, 2006, 11:24 am

U tun graphic artist now boy! :shock: (yuh sig)

Val

Postby Val » February 20th, 2006, 12:19 pm

H22 biatch :lol:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 20th, 2006, 1:23 pm

B's future? there is no future for old technology, K is the future for honda hands down. B's are killer engines do not get me wrong! but K's are a hell of alot better build, and stuffed with some new funs stuff :twisted:

Postby X2 » February 20th, 2006, 2:22 pm

I honestly don't think the price of K's will plummet as many people in the industry are predicting.... the swap is just not as cheap as the B series was and still is and the K swap is also more complex... involving fuel line modification, mounts, key coding issues (USDM models), etc..... I just don't think as many ppl will be eager to go K into the EG, EK civics and DC2,DB (and DC1...LOL) integras.

As far as the newer EP+ model civics... eh... those will need to get old before you will see ppl eagerly swapping in K's... a brand new civic is PRICEY ! But to go and swap engine ontop of that... yowza.

I do think theft of K's will increase dramatically as a result of the prices staying high tho.... :|

Respect the SOHC !

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 20th, 2006, 2:57 pm

a brand new civic is PRICEY

Saw the one today passing outside my office, I love the front boi sweet too bad but the back is nearly choke the rear fuggin ugly

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 20th, 2006, 3:13 pm

the newer, honda guys that are coming in, will not be like us old skool guys, yes the b is a simple swap, think about it, last yr ah k20 was 28k this yr is 20k
add to that
K20Z1
* i-VTEC
* Found in:
o 2005-2006 Acura RSX-S
+ Displacement : 1998 cm3
+ Compression : 11.0:1
+ Power : 210 hp (150 kW) @ 7800 rpm & 143 ft·lbf (194 N·m) @ 7000 rpm

Postby X2 » February 20th, 2006, 3:27 pm

I think we'll see more D and B series turbo kits being sold... :wink:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 20th, 2006, 5:23 pm

Next two years, when yuh B16 cap out, what yuh goin an do?

K series anyone???

Clerique

Postby Clerique » February 20th, 2006, 6:22 pm

Interesting how many people say K series. Allyuh really think that K series engines will be raining down on trini?
Ah think these Import magazines messin up allyuh head. The K is no B and they dont come in as many hondas as the B did.

Rebuild kits and Turbo Kits?
Makes most sense to me!

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 21st, 2006, 6:45 am

the point is that they coming, on like the B that is a dead motor, the point is civic si to the type r
and the rsx si and up have it, add to that the crv and the TL and Accord, all have Ks
and as x2 said, yes you can buy ah dart motor, but when you need a gearbox, wah go happen, right now gearbox cost more than ah b16b motor.
and u still will have to think is the next gen of honda guys who will have started on Ks they will not drop down to Bs...

5 yr i tell you
what motor in the local new civic vti 1.8?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 21st, 2006, 1:34 pm

sohc, supost to put out some decent hp and tq....light weight and hp is a good thing if you get where im coming from. :wink:

Postby X2 » February 22nd, 2006, 2:00 am

Well as far as Trinidad... we won't get many K's... only the accords/integra R's and CRV's. I don't see K's going far anytime soon down here.

And with the newer offerings in the sport compact world as well as the high ass price of RSX's and new Civics... I still vote the B to go the way of the Chevy small block.... massive aftermarket support keeps it alive.

Currently, it's easier to make big power with B than a K... and a lil cheaper too. I mean I'd rather go with a K myself... but no way am I touching that price of entry... A K tranny is still more expensive than a B tranny.... :wink:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 22nd, 2006, 3:42 am

but X, keep in mind that the K is still a new motor the B has been around for like 10 years...
add to that all the top k motors are NA, 12sec street cars... then you have stock car drag, with Ks running 9.2 sec NA...
we have 3 tuh 5 Ks running on the road already....
and i sure some noname person working on ah k24 block with ah k20 head...

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 22nd, 2006, 11:17 am

cough cough.. no theyre not :o

Postby Dave » February 22nd, 2006, 1:57 pm

i have acouple of friends guilty of the buying up from the jdm market for their us builds
honestly i don't believe it is gonna pose a problem, you can get anything u want, u juts have to pay what u didn't want to pay for it
dart has some great looking long and short b16-b20 blocks which is the way to fly
it always boils down to who want to pay for what

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 22nd, 2006, 4:22 pm

so i went bamboo tuhday....

JR supercharger on ah b16a with gearbox 19k
next to it b16a auto 15k
b16b motor and box 15

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 22nd, 2006, 5:03 pm

b16b motor and box 15

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Looks like the B-series' popularity gonna keep it in use for a long while

Clerique

Postby Clerique » February 22nd, 2006, 5:07 pm

According to a fellow 2NR... fellas doh wanna spend money on a good setta cams, but they talking K20 swap. :roll:
Dave, yuh right yes, I wanna see men put they wallet where their mouth is.

So Kes, where is this place in the bamboo? :mrgreen:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 22nd, 2006, 5:35 pm

kes_vtec wrote:so i went bamboo tuhday....

wtf? my boss got quote'd 18 000 for it, I got quote'd 19 racisim! anyway id only supercharge a 2 litre but id turbo quicker!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2006, 5:41 pm

[quote="CLERIQ"I wanna see men put they wallet where their mouth is.[/quote]

ent.................................

kes, check yuh bloody mail every day nah :x :x :x :x :x

mugen power

Postby mugen power » February 23rd, 2006, 9:22 am

next to it b16a auto 15k
b16b motor and box 15[/quote] :shock:i thought u guys said the price going down

Zim

WHERE?

Postby Zim » February 23rd, 2006, 10:03 am

kes_vtec wrote:so i went bamboo tuhday....

next to it b16a auto 15k
b16b motor and box 15
WHERE?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 23rd, 2006, 10:41 am

lol... all that gone already

Return to “HONDA”