solo

Postby solo » February 1st, 2006, 7:37 am

Previous- Mintex
Agent- Trinidad brake and Clutch
Price-around $250.
Results- holds well, minimal brake fade, PLENTY brake dust.

Curent-Bosch
bought at Roaches auto supplies Tunapuna, sold at Automotive supplies as well.
Price- $201.
Results-best. No brake fade, holds great, No brake dust.

Peugeot 306.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 2nd, 2006, 8:39 am

^^Bosch....excellent pad replacement for French cars.

Actually Pugs, Citroens and Renault OEM pads are actually Bosch pads.

Postby Dave » February 2nd, 2006, 8:50 am

working good on the renault megane oh sorry nissan almera meh ole man have :lol:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 2nd, 2006, 8:58 am

^^bwahahaha....you iz a evil man yes!

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » March 2nd, 2009, 10:51 pm

This good thread needs a BUMP

Wheyyyy just over 3yrs since last post
Plus.....what pads using on the CK4 mivec fellas? (Yes I did a search)

BUMP! :twisted:

Postby *KRONIK* » March 3rd, 2009, 5:19 am

Morpheus23 wrote:
what pads using on the CK4 mivec fellas?

galant (sharkmouth)

best bet is OEM

Postby X_Factor » March 3rd, 2009, 7:31 am

b14 with B13GTS rotors/calipers -
National Pads - 90$
no noise
holds pretty good
little dust(could be wrong since i hav black rims and dont really clean them often)
upon reachin maracas had brakes as normal but it was smelling

previously - Stock b14 brakes
Wagner pads
no noise
brake fade
car felt like it just didnt wanna stop at times
upon reaching maracas no brakes

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 3rd, 2009, 8:16 am

project mu

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » March 3rd, 2009, 4:57 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Morpheus23 wrote:
what pads using on the CK4 mivec fellas?

galant (sharkmouth)

best bet is OEM

Really? Thanks man

eitech

Postby eitech » March 3rd, 2009, 5:06 pm

car: b15

Pads: Wagner

Cost paid $190 for a set this week...used to be $120.

The last set i had lasted two yrs...no dust, no squeak, performed well under all braking conditions..even at maracas :lol: ..ppl seem to complain about wagner but it worked gr8 for me.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 4th, 2009, 7:03 am

I will advise anyone stick to the OEM. I've never had ANY issues over the years owning cars. The braking coefficient on these pads/shoes are unsurpassed.

Yes its 2 or 3 times more expensive, however they do perform excellent under any conditions and remember emergency breaking works in conjunction with your car's ABS system.

If these pads/shoes can't lock the wheel quickly enough, then the ABS won't kick in.

It's all interrelated and designed into the system.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 4th, 2009, 12:08 pm

eitech wrote:car: b15

Pads: Wagner

Cost paid $190 for a set this week...used to be $120.

The last set i had lasted two yrs...no dust, no squeak, performed well under all braking conditions..even at maracas :lol: ..ppl seem to complain about wagner but it worked gr8 for me.

Car 2003 323

Pads - Wagner -
Pro - it works good as you stated. Low dust.
Con - fades after repeated hard braking in my experience. I'll continue to use it as all others i have tried had other issues.
Cost - $210

Bosch - Con - Made an annoying noise (not quite a squeak) Can't think of a pro as i changed it out in a week due to the noise.
Cost - $1xx

Schneider Silver -
Con - Cortina like squeak. Lotsa dust.
Pro - Less fade than the Wagner
Cost $1xx

Postby X_Factor » March 4th, 2009, 3:17 pm

Bosch

i was of the impression that this was a very good brand and was plannin on gettin a set of these
apart from the noise...did it hold the car better than the others? or u took it off too quickly to judge?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 4th, 2009, 6:44 pm

right now I'm sticking with OEM.......

Postby wagonrunner » March 4th, 2009, 7:27 pm

OHK........
Pros: Stops well
Cons: dust, fade especially when wet.

Titanium
Pros: stops very well when hot.
Cons: holds poorly when cold.
Pedal feel changes over time, even though pad has lots of life.
Screeches prematurely.

Daishin
dai sheit......literally

Wagner & Schneider
used to be good, now dusts, screeches, fades badly

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 4th, 2009, 8:10 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Bosch

i was of the impression that this was a very good brand and was plannin on gettin a set of these
apart from the noise...did it hold the car better than the others? or u took it off too quickly to judge?

held as good as the wagner.
had no chance to heat it up to fade temperature. maybe the noise was just an issue in my car, your experience may be different.

it should be noted that we don't get the Bosch that we see online. the packaging etc has a "generic" look to it with "Bosch" stamped on the back. didnt look pre burnished either as the Bosch website boasts for all its pads.

Postby Dave » March 5th, 2009, 8:15 am

the Bosch pad dealer is Automotive Supplies on Charles Street

Postby eliteauto » March 5th, 2009, 8:27 am

Akebono........

Pros: Lasts forever, my rear set is about 6 years old, front set is on a year and even with dex is still more than half
Little dust, no squeaks

Cons: Not getting them locally, so I have to get buy F/U dealers to bring em in from Japan

Wagner:
Pros: not much dust or squeaks, comes with new shims in box
Cons: Prices went up recently

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 5th, 2009, 8:27 am

Dave wrote:the Bosch pad dealer is Automotive Supplies on Charles Street

yup....thats where i got it.

Postby X_Factor » March 5th, 2009, 10:07 am

im actually gettin one set of FBL and one set of GIC (italian) for my brakes so i think im gonna buy them and pack them down

Postby r3iXmann » March 5th, 2009, 11:49 am

X_Factor wrote:
Bosch

i had 'em on my old civic hatch...didnt get any noise

stopping power was quite good and they didn't fade that easily

only con was that they were a bit dusty :x

eitech

Postby eitech » March 5th, 2009, 6:32 pm

corollalover101 wrote:Akebono........

Wagner:
comes with new shims in box

really, for which car?..i bought this week and didn't get new shims

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 5th, 2009, 6:51 pm

eitech wrote:
corollalover101 wrote:Akebono........

Wagner:
comes with new shims in box

really, for which car?..i bought this week and didn't get new shims

bought for the B15 and my 323.

323 came with new shims, B15 didn't. Application specific.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2009, 7:58 pm

Strugglerzinc, yup,........... u just purchased bootleg wagner..........

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 5th, 2009, 8:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Strugglerzinc, yup,........... u just purchased bootleg wagner..........

both was bought at masterserve...i thought dem was a dealer/agent for Wagner..

on another note..got me some Wagner Thermo Quiet brake shoes for the 323 drums at the back..$31 US. didnt mind paying the price as locally there's only Noki, OHK and some other Chinee brands i cant remember.

For the Raybestos men, there's Raybestos shoes available as well.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 6th, 2009, 8:00 am

mintex breds
dusty as hell doh last long but it holds at solodex and well it cheap so i kinda makes sence lol

Postby wagonrunner » March 6th, 2009, 8:12 am

MadCrix wrote:mintex breds
dusty as hell doh last long but it holds at solodex and well it cheap so i kinda makes sence lol

and it drastically wears rotors.

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2009, 9:21 am

as far as I am concerned, there are a few that actually stop very well and don't dust alot, don't make noise and don't eat rotors.

With our limited market, you have to give up something in order to stop.

I on the other hand enjoy the best of all worlds :D

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 6th, 2009, 9:46 am

^^^ yuh does walk or what lol

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2009, 9:47 am

lets just say I am SATISFIED :wink: