RB20DET Gearbox problem

nilgoat

RB20DET Gearbox problem

Postby nilgoat » January 15th, 2006, 10:10 am

My padnah have a rb20det in a mark2 and he gets a grating sound when he changes gears too fast. He changed clutch plate, pressure plate and release bearing and still getting the problem. If he changes gears slowly like mash clutch and hold it in neutral for a second and then shift to second gear, it works without grating but from first direct to second it grates. he also has to mash the clutch a few times for it to register in reverse.

Any suggestions?

moses

Postby moses » January 15th, 2006, 10:20 am

Well horse i belive if you changed all that its probly the gears. You should change that and then all will work well.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 15th, 2006, 6:06 pm

the infamous moses knows it all, watch how he thinks with his skillful auto motive brain powered by a GA15DET

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » January 15th, 2006, 6:11 pm

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
*~TeamH2O~*,
his skillful auto motive

no boy... ah think the GA15DET waz manual toooo :D

[b]SpOt ThE tUnEr

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 16th, 2006, 10:33 am

h20 .... *shakes head*

sounds to me like the brass rings, he can use a CA or SR or Rb20 gearbox, just swap bell housings ;)

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » January 16th, 2006, 10:40 am

^^^ where he getting them to buy?...and what price so? i know dem sr gearbox is therapy to find one

so if is the brass rings...that could machine/repair/replace?

RB~Man

Re: RB20DET Gearbox problem

Postby RB~Man » June 14th, 2010, 6:37 am

try adjusting the piston in the master cylinder. might solve ur prob bro.

Sargeant

Re: RB20DET Gearbox problem

Postby Sargeant » June 17th, 2010, 2:21 pm

boi I had that same problem with my gear box all the brass washers was bad so meh gears used to grate at high rpm better you buy a gear box and pipe out this one pull down the box and see If it have fileings in the oil