100dB What it means?

MelZah Tech

100dB What it means?

Postby MelZah Tech » December 20th, 2005, 12:39 pm

i have a CD deck and i saw i mark 100dB. What that means? someone explain that for me, thanks

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » December 20th, 2005, 1:28 pm

from what you are describing.. it can be either:

(1) Brand Name of the H/U
(2) Rice

MelZah Tech

Postby MelZah Tech » December 20th, 2005, 2:12 pm

i'm sure its not rice, but its a sony CD deck, yeah i kno its shiity. What does H/U means. hey i dont kno sheit bout music.

Sully

Postby Sully » December 20th, 2005, 2:31 pm

It's probably the s/n ratio. But I think there's some info that you left out.

Staggers

Postby Staggers » December 20th, 2005, 2:34 pm

H/U - head unit
S/N - signal-to-noise ratio

When in doubt, http://www.google.com and http://www.howstuffworks.com provide useful references. Use them

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » December 20th, 2005, 3:41 pm

Sully wrote:It's probably the s/n ratio. But I think there's some info that you left out.

Yeah....Sounds so also?

Can you post a pic?

MelZah Tech

Postby MelZah Tech » December 20th, 2005, 6:20 pm

no sorry i cant post a pic, but the model is CDX-S2210 you can check it out if you want. I waz jus looking back at the deck to see if i left any thing out, and i did 100dB+
I dont kno if that made a difference

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 20th, 2005, 7:17 pm

Look the deck here^^

MelZah Tech

Postby MelZah Tech » December 20th, 2005, 7:28 pm

yeah thats it.
If i were to sell it, how much alyuh think i'll get?
and i still want to kno wat 100dB+ means

Sully

Postby Sully » December 21st, 2005, 2:45 pm

From the look of it I would guess that it's a marketing strategy to put that there.

MelZah Tech

Postby MelZah Tech » December 21st, 2005, 6:48 pm

i want $1200 for it, and it new

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 22nd, 2005, 7:29 am

padner... hol dat.....

In analog and digital communications, signal-to-noise ratio, often written S/N or SNR, is a measure of signal strength relative to background noise. The ratio is usually measured in decibels (dB).

and dis.....

signal-to-noise ratio (SNR): The ratio of the amplitude of the desired signal to the amplitude of noise signals at a given point in time. [JP1] Note 1: SNR is expressed as 20 times the logarithm of the amplitude ratio, or 10 times the logarithm of the power ratio. Note 2: SNR is usually expressed in dB and in terms of peak values for impulse noise and root-mean-square values for random noise. In defining or specifying the SNR, both the signal and noise should be characterized, e.g., peak-signal-to-peak-noise ratio, in order to avoid ambiguity.

some more....
Signal-to-noise ratio is closely related to the concept of dynamic range, where dynamic range measures the ratio between noise and the greatest un-distorted signal on a channel. SNR measures the ratio between noise and an arbitrary signal on the channel, not necessarily the most powerful signal possible. Because of this, measuring signal-to-noise ratios requires the selection of a representative or reference signal. In audio engineering, this reference signal is usually a sine wave, sounding a tone, at a recognized and standardized magnitude,

yuh wah more?

MelZah Tech

Postby MelZah Tech » December 22nd, 2005, 8:51 am

ok, i want $1000 for the deck, price drop

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » December 28th, 2005, 7:10 pm

just get to de point

DE HIGHER DE SIGNAL TO NOISE RATIO DE BETTER

Postby crazybalhead » December 29th, 2005, 1:41 pm

What it probably means is that with the rated wattage and "typical" sensitivity of co axial speakers that is likely to be the volume the deck is capable of playing at.

There are sooooooooooo many things wrong with that writing on the front of the deck it not funny.

Db is the abbreviated form of the word Decibel, which in this case means

"a unit for expressing the relative intensity of sounds on a scale from zero for the average least perceptible sound to about 130 for the average pain level"

Anything over 90 decibels for a prolonged period can result in permanent hearing damage.

virtualspeedster

Postby virtualspeedster » December 29th, 2005, 3:09 pm

~snYper~ wrote:from what you are describing.. it can be either:

(2) Rice

oh gosh finally ppl talking with sense i was wondering how much ppl eh know that DB is decibels ,,i eh know what snyper talking bout with brand name and rice Hmmmmmmmmmmm

Lance

Postby Lance » December 29th, 2005, 8:40 pm

nah all fairest to snyper..when he made that judgement...he didn't know the brand of the H/U nor did he see a pic..so no need for all that man

virtualspeedster

Postby virtualspeedster » December 29th, 2005, 11:44 pm

aight aight i eh go be so hard on yuh boy

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 9th, 2006, 9:46 pm

buh he real know bout rice tho :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » January 10th, 2006, 9:17 am

virtualspeedster wrote:
~snYper~ wrote:from what you are describing.. it can be either:

(2) Rice

oh gosh finally ppl talking with sense i was wondering how much ppl eh know that DB is decibels ,,i eh know what snyper talking bout with brand name and rice Hmmmmmmmmmmm

Iz true.. ah know ah duncy .... :idea:

*digs nose*

*walks out of thread*

*wipes buggers on door handle to this thread*
Last edited by ~snYper~ on January 10th, 2006, 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » January 10th, 2006, 9:18 am

nigel1977 wrote:buh he real know bout rice tho :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Bhasmatie or Saffron Rice?