Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Re: Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2025, 1:58 pm

matr1x wrote:
sMASH wrote:All the Muslim haters griping them is the main cause for concern in tnt . They threatening we democracy ! Allyuh better step up do sumting , generations going and people will forget.

Meanwhile:
Presenting the DEPUTY SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO...IMG_20250727_124555.jpg

Anyone want to guess sMASH wholeheartedly supported the rape of the lady?

Man, run back to yuh dry up ghazan thread. You not flying to over to give them food?

Any sources on the alleged rape of this woman? or is somthing yuh hear again?

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 2:17 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
matr1x wrote:
sMASH wrote:All the Muslim haters griping them is the main cause for concern in tnt . They threatening we democracy ! Allyuh better step up do sumting , generations going and people will forget.

Meanwhile:
Presenting the DEPUTY SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO...IMG_20250727_124555.jpg

Man, run back to yuh dry up ghazan thread. You not flying to over to give them food?

It is alleged to have happened in the bathroom of the red house. Its an account floated by staff who worked there. Since she passed, can't ask her now.

But all that and you still defending them.

But sMASH made an interesting projection. So, the muslimeen attacked and tried to do a coup. This is a fact. Somehow he project that the call to justice has to do with all Muslims? Where he get that from?

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2025, 2:17 pm

every week in papers is some banditry/murder making headlines involving “ex-muslimeen member”

who remember when places hired muslimeen as security and ppl whispering what links they have with abu

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 2:50 pm

pugboy wrote:every week in papers is some banditry/murder making headlines involving “ex-muslimeen member”

who remember when places hired muslimeen as security and ppl whispering what links they have with abu

In 2008 I did an interview with 3 people who were in the red house during the event and its was really a traumatic memory. 1 woman who worked on the ground floor stated she and 2 other women were threatened that if they spoke with anyone they would find them. The other woman confirmed that SA was threatened. They had been afraid to go to to the police after because muslimeen members were in the police force

Postby Gladiator » July 27th, 2025, 3:08 pm

pugboy wrote:every week in papers is some banditry/murder making headlines involving “ex-muslimeen member”

businesses were forced to "hire" muslimeen security or they would repeatedly get robbed... it was extortion

Postby alfa » July 27th, 2025, 3:20 pm

matr1x wrote:

In 2008 I did an interview with 3 people who were in the red house during the event and its was really a traumatic memory. 1 woman who worked on the ground floor stated she and 2 other women were threatened that if they spoke with anyone they would find them. The other woman confirmed that SA was threatened. They had been afraid to go to to the police after because muslimeen members were in the police force

You did an interview lol.

Wdmc I is really be hearing from slims

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2025, 3:39 pm

matr1x wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
matr1x wrote:

Meanwhile:

It is alleged to have happened in the bathroom of the red house. Its an account floated by staff who worked there. Since she passed, can't ask her now.

But all that and you still defending them.

But sMASH made an interesting projection. So, the muslimeen attacked and tried to do a coup. This is a fact. Somehow he project that the call to justice has to do with all Muslims? Where he get that from?

So the answer is... that is what yuh hear...

If this was in fact so it would have been documented somewhere by now especially in the Commission of Enquiry.

Nowhere in this ched I ever defended Bakr and the Jamaat. Knowing now that he lived pretty good after 1990, many of the soldiers, police and members of the public including myself felt that dropping Abu on maraval road when he came out TTT would have been the better decision.

My issue is that you including your biases towards muslims and stories that allegedly happened with no evidence.

You conveniently left out the fact that most muslims in T&T at the time did not support Abu Bakr. If so, you would have seen muslim uprisings in many areas of the country supporting Bakr's call especially since the NAR government was unpopular. Instead, most of the country was calm with some having curfew parties. Islam in T&T has a heavy racial element as most muslims are indians who saw the jammat as a rango tango black group that uses the islamic faith to their convenience. Because of Abu's actions, muslims who had nothing to do with the coup and didn't support it suffered some form of islamophobia for a long time.

On your claim that abu bakr was awarded monies from the amnesty/pardon case, this is incorrect. Abu Bakr was awarded 2.1m because police didn't follow proper protocols before they raided the mucurapo compound during the coup. Bull sheet? yes... but he and his attorneys took advantage of the police lackadaisical behavior when it comes to following protocols.
p17004coll12_28033.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2025, 4:15 pm

many used them as money collectors too
I know a chap who rented a car from big contractor now and did minor damage to it
they paid him a visit at home

Gladiator wrote:

businesses were forced to "hire" muslimeen security or they would repeatedly get robbed... it was extortion

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 4:59 pm

alfa wrote:
matr1x wrote:

You did an interview lol.

Wdmc I is really be hearing from slims

What, you never at least try to find out what happened at that time? In interview isn't rocket science

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2025, 5:12 pm

Religion of Peace

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2025, 6:37 pm

The freeing of the Muslimeen together with Dole Chadee being executed with his gang was probably the start of the growth of the gang scenes in this country.

Wrt to the Muslimeen being money collectors for business, my first workplace out of UWI was a contractor. We did work for UWI and had to use a nominated sub contractor that performed poorly. Used the contract to withhold payments and they sent the Jamaat. One youth walk in the office and say "who face I have to mash in to get the money"

The main man was one of the older heads from the coup. He sent the youth outside and was actually pretty civic thereafter. Still didn't get money because FIDIC.

Also some of the earliest big kidnappings back in 2004 Abu personally collected ransoms for many of them.

The Jamaat was a cancer on this country and we still paying today

Postby hover11 » July 27th, 2025, 6:54 pm

OPPOSITION Leader and PNM political leader Pennelope Beckles says there should be a permanent memorial for the population to remember the July 27, 1990 coup attempt.

She made the call in a statement issued on July 26, ahead of the 35th anniversary of the coup attempt.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/07/27/pnm-ca ... AeWQWtZeog

After being in office for 10 years, why didn't you all do it. These are the things I can't handle. Then you are going to run all over the place trying to blame the present administration for not doing it. Politics truly is a game of hypocrisy

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 7:18 pm

Let's clarify
1. I never said they support him. Smash was projecting that. Read his post. He read call for justice as a call for something else.

2. From my direct conversation, many were afraid to talk about it and worst yet as many of the muslimeen members got into hardcore crime they even less so. The commission of inquiry was and incomplete mess which ignored many of the issues affecting the women in that event.

3. Dropping abu at that time would have been stupid as a leaderless bunch of fools could have played out differently.

4. The question of support for bakr by the wider muslim community is something that can be disputed. You seriously think the person in that article would admit to giving the money willingly? Come nah, be an adult.

Fact is, many lived in fear after the coup, and you can see after many muslimeen men, they were right.

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 7:19 pm

Also, i would not give the persons name as 2 are still alive and I certainly not giving my name as we don't know who in the forum linked to crime

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2025, 7:34 pm

Japanese TV director and journalist Kazuhiko Iimura was in Trinidad in the immediate aftermath of the coup. Here is footage that he got from around POS, outside police headquarters and inside the red house.

matix

Postby matix » July 27th, 2025, 7:51 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Japanese TV director and journalist Kazuhiko Iimura was in Trinidad in the immediate aftermath of the coup. Here is footage that he got from around POS, outside police headquarters and inside the red house.

Fantastic find

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2025, 9:04 pm

They should have declared them terrorists and let the Army use military force and take them out properly. Even those not in the Red house or TTT.

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2025, 9:15 pm

the army was ready to take them out but the powers that be didn’t want to go in that direction….
the ol civilians making military decisions
never ends well

redmanjp wrote:They should have declared them terrorists and let the Army use military force and take them out properly. Even those not in the Red house or TTT.

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2025, 9:41 pm

Robbie say attack with full force. The man was willing to make the ultimate sacrifice for the country .

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 9:44 pm

Why we never went after them? Because Trinidadians are not hateful. They tried to find harmony and live together. In spite of what happened. We are not perfect, but we try to find harmony.

Its not our fault that a group whose philosophy is hate would later prove their evil by being part of crime.

I am so proud of trinis

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 28th, 2025, 5:26 am

sMASH wrote:Robbie say attack with full force. The man was willing to make the ultimate sacrifice for the country .

Robbie was an idiot. he couldnt govern TT and all of them including panday and manning was to blame. nobody wanted to listen to he so if he used the xact phrase attack with full force them didnt listen. he knew he wasnt going to be killed. but life has a way to making you or your bloodline pay for your bad choices. panday sell out sugar workers and look at he offspring. Manning tried his best to help all races, all genders but rowlee take he bag of karma so we hadda wait and see. did robbie leave a bloodline?

Postby matr1x » July 28th, 2025, 9:01 am

Did the muslimeen ever issue any kind of apology? Nothing came up in a search

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2025, 9:12 am

matr1x wrote:Did the muslimeen ever issue any kind of apology? Nothing came up in a search

Either something wrong with your search or you didn't even try

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/07/16/abu-ba ... -uprising/

Postby MaxPower » July 28th, 2025, 9:17 am

hover11 wrote:OPPOSITION Leader and PNM political leader Pennelope Beckles says there should be a permanent memorial for the population to remember the July 27, 1990 coup attempt.

This would have a cost attached to it.

Who should pay for it?

We know the obvious answer but ok, taxpayers as usual.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 28th, 2025, 9:23 am

The_Honourable wrote:
matr1x wrote:Did the muslimeen ever issue any kind of apology? Nothing came up in a search

Wendell Eversley know Abu apologised?
I see last week he asking the govnt for reparations for him being a hostage in the coup.
https://newsday.co.tt/2025/07/23/ex-hos ... ays-crime/
Why not ask Fuad Abu Bakr or one of them living 114? The Bakr family are property moguls.

Postby timelapse » July 28th, 2025, 9:35 am

The_Honourable wrote:

I see last week he asking the govnt for reparations for him being a hostage in the coup.
Why not ask Fuad Abu Bakr or one of them living 114? The Bakr family are property moguls.

Reparations should come from the Jamaat al Muslimeen. Fair is fair

Postby Dizzy28 » July 28th, 2025, 9:43 am

timelapse wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

I'm sure the pious Muslimeen members would gladly pay diyya.

Postby matr1x » July 28th, 2025, 9:54 am

The_Honourable wrote:

You mean his non apology? You are technically right.

Postby matr1x » July 28th, 2025, 9:55 am

timelapse wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

I'm sure the pious Muslimeen members would gladly pay diyya.

The fact the muslimeen still walking and breathing is an insult to the country

Postby alfa » July 28th, 2025, 10:00 am

Wendell looking to eat a food. If he really feels he's entitled to compensation then he and others should initiate a class action lawsuit against the estate of the jamaat.

Walking around the red house or whatever every year screams of attention when a significant part of the population wasn't even both then or even care