Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Re: Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2024, 10:55 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Rebroadcast tomorrow at 10am

It's very eye-opening listening to Abu Bakr and Bilaal Abdullah calling in 610am/100fm.

Hearing Sharon Pitt's voice in one of the recordings was a throwback.

They should put it on YouTube or some other platform as well.

Postby The_Honourable » July 20th, 2025, 11:12 am

Public to learn what happened at police HQ on July 27, 1990

Kadijha Watche-Mitchell, education and public program officer of the TTPS Police Museum points to a newspaper photo taken shortly after the 1990 attempted coup.

OVER the decades the public has been repeatedly informed about what happened at the Red House and Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT) studios during the attempted coup on July 27, 1990.

They also know one of the first actions by the Jamaat al Muslimeen that day was driving a car bomb into the police headquarters on St Vincent Street, Port of Spain. But very little is heard about what happened to the police and civilians who were in the headquarters that day.

And so, in commemoration of the 35th anniversary of the 1990 attempted coup, the Police Service is hosting free tours in collaboration with the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago twice daily from July 21 to July 25.

Newsday had a sneak peek of the TTPS tour, which began at the Police Administration Building and then to the museum of the TTPS on Sackville Street, PoS.

The short tour began at the marble plaque engraved with the names of police officers who died in the line of duty, in front of the administration building. Tour guide and education and public programme officer of the Police Museum Kadijha Watche-Mitchell highlighted SRP Solomon Mc Leod and ASP Roger George who died during the coup.

She painted a picture of a bright, relaxing day full of fun, as there was a police football game earlier that day. Because of that, there were not just officers but their family members, including children, at the headquarters when the terror began.

She told the story of officer Mc Leod who was on sentry duty when, a few minutes before 6pm, he was approached by a man who asked for directions. Mc Leod walked onto the street and further along the pavement to point the man in the right direction. But as his back was to the man, he was shot numerous times and died on the ground.

Eyewitnesses said the man then shot his gun once into the air, which seemed to be a signal for the rest of the Jamaat’s plans to begin, including the car bombing which effectively blocked the eastern entrance of the headquarters on St Vincent Street.

The officers and civilians were trapped between the raging fire resulting from the car bomb and the gun shots being fired at the building. From information gleaned from the reports of those who served on that day or were directly affected, she told of the escape attempts made and the eventual escape of those inside due to the heroics of the officers.

Inside the museum there were a few artifacts on display, including items of officers who were on duty that day. In the background played footage from TTT of then acting commissioner of police Leonard Taylor informing the public about the declaration of a state of emergency and telling people to stay indoors.

There was also a tactile game called Badges of Rank available to play in which visitors try to match the shoulder arrangements of police uniforms to the ranks.

After, guests will be invited to watch a clip of Code 727, a 2022 documentary highlighting experiences of officers on the ground on that day.

Those interested in experiencing the free tours are asked to register for them. The police tours begin at 11 am and 2 pm, and the Parliament tours at 10 am and 1 pm. Each tour must be registered for separately.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/07/20/public ... y-27-1990/

July 27th 1990

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 6:46 am

35 years ago, we almost lost our republic to a terrorist group. Many have spun theories and Nancy stories trying to justify the actions of these individuals, but as a nation, we saw the evil brewing in our borders. That time may come again. We as Trinidadians must be steadfast in our resolve.

We must never forget and teach our children, their children of the lessons learned.

Re: July 27th 1990

Postby alfa » July 27th, 2025, 7:03 am

matr1x wrote:35 years ago, we almost lost our republic to a terrorist group. Many have spun theories and Nancy stories trying to justify the actions of these individuals, but as a nation, we saw the evil brewing in our borders. That time may come again. We as Trinidadians must be steadfast in our resolve.

We must never forget and teach our children, their children of the lessons learned.

Thanks for reminding me, I forgot about that some decades ago. Btw I think there's a dedicated thread about that where you can post this.

Anyway Sunday morning, doubles or aloo pie?

Postby hover11 » July 27th, 2025, 8:06 am

Today marks the 35th Anniversary of the only time legal authorities has ever paused and listened to the general public and taken us seriously... for all of six days. I feel they need another six days right about now...

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2025, 8:31 am

Man imagine the paradise we could have been if Tropical ISIS had succeeded.

Good thing post amnesty release the 114 all became productive members of society and not gang leaders, murders, extortionists, kidnappers etc etc

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2025, 8:37 am

We had a chance to go sumting good but the people rather pack up in smokey and bunty , and they let it slip away

Postby alfa » July 27th, 2025, 8:48 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Man imagine the paradise we could have been if Tropical ISIS had succeeded.

Good thing post amnesty release the 114 all became productive members of society and not gang leaders, murders, extortionists, kidnappers etc etc

As compared to the paradise we in now lol

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 9:38 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Man imagine the paradise we could have been if Tropical ISIS had succeeded.

The group if productive individuals have been rocking the Palestinian flag. Man, I wonder what been going on with them and their legitimate "oppressors "?

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2025, 10:30 am

the country has suffered greatly since that band of idiots established themselves as a bonafide organized crime gang

look at home man exmuslimeen members have gone on to become serious criminals as well as control gangs in and out of jail

if a soldier had pulled the trigger when the waltzed out of ttt the world here would have been a much different place

matr1x wrote:35 years ago, we almost lost our republic to a terrorist group. Many have spun theories and Nancy stories trying to justify the actions of these individuals, but as a nation, we saw the evil brewing in our borders. That time may come again. We as Trinidadians must be steadfast in our resolve.

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2025, 11:01 am

Kalipersad slams July 27 observances: I'm tired of the annual ole talk

Veteran journalist Dominic Kalipersad, who was the face on air during the 1990 attempted coup, says he is tired of retelling a story that continues to be ignored by those in authority.

“I’m tired talking about it. The people at Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT) and at Radio Trinidad, who were held hostage—none of them politicians, only mere workers—were ignored after the attempted coup. No sympathy. No empathy. No recognition for their courage and bravery during the six life-threatening days of trauma. Not even psychological therapy. Not even for their families, who were also traumatised.”

Kalipersad said former TTT head Jones P Madeira, who played a critical role in protecting others, received no formal acknowledgement before his death.

“Thirty-five years later, Jones P Madeira, who put his life on the line to save our lives, died without any official recognition for his gallantry. Raoul Pantin died psychologically compromised. Some others never recovered.”

He questioned the value of annual commemorations if civilian contributions are ignored.

“If the authorities refuse to honour those civilians who stood up for democracy, only offer some annual insincere rhetoric, what’s the point of rehashing hurtful memories,” he added.

“Praise the Regiment, the Police Service, and all the politicians who created an ‘amnesty’ that helped the insurgents go free. They deserve it.

The history will be written without the workers’ stories. We’ll continue to move on with our lives and contribute to our beloved nation without their care. In the meantime, I’m tired of the annual ole talk.”

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/kaliper ... 400998f022

Postby hover11 » July 27th, 2025, 11:06 am

He is right though every year is the same shite nobody paying any mind on how to address what happened so it doesn't happen again. Is only a setta ole talk
The_Honourable wrote:Kalipersad slams July 27 observances: I'm tired of the annual ole talk

Veteran journalist Dominic Kalipersad, who was the face on air during the 1990 attempted coup, says he is tired of retelling a story that continues to be ignored by those in authority.

“I’m tired talking about it. The people at Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT) and at Radio Trinidad, who were held hostage—none of them politicians, only mere workers—were ignored after the attempted coup. No sympathy. No empathy. No recognition for their courage and bravery during the six life-threatening days of trauma. Not even psychological therapy. Not even for their families, who were also traumatised.”

Kalipersad said former TTT head Jones P Madeira, who played a critical role in protecting others, received no formal acknowledgement before his death.

“Thirty-five years later, Jones P Madeira, who put his life on the line to save our lives, died without any official recognition for his gallantry. Raoul Pantin died psychologically compromised. Some others never recovered.”

He questioned the value of annual commemorations if civilian contributions are ignored.

“If the authorities refuse to honour those civilians who stood up for democracy, only offer some annual insincere rhetoric, what’s the point of rehashing hurtful memories,” he added.

“Praise the Regiment, the Police Service, and all the politicians who created an ‘amnesty’ that helped the insurgents go free. They deserve it.

The history will be written without the workers’ stories. We’ll continue to move on with our lives and contribute to our beloved nation without their care. In the meantime, I’m tired of the annual ole talk.”

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2025, 11:11 am

T&T has not learned jacksheit from 1990.

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 11:19 am

pugboy wrote:the country has suffered greatly since that band of idiots established themselves as a bonafide organized crime gang

look at home man exmuslimeen members have gone on to become serious criminals as well as control gangs in and out of jail

if a soldier had pulled the trigger when the waltzed out of ttt the world here would have been a much different place

Who was the one who pardoned them?

Postby hover11 » July 27th, 2025, 11:38 am

Somebody help me understand why was abu bakr and his cohorts pardoned again....what was the real reason

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 11:43 am

hover11 wrote:He is right though every year is the same shite nobody paying any mind on how to address what happened so it doesn't happen again. Is only a setta ole talk
The_Honourable wrote:Kalipersad slams July 27 observances: I'm tired of the annual ole talk

The moment anyone directly addresses it, some beyotch whines about Islamophobia.

We have to recognize what happened, and who did it. The victims deserve justice.

Do we have a list of the names of the muslimeen members and families? And their locations?

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 11:48 am

hover11 wrote:Somebody help me understand why was abu bakr and his cohorts pardoned again....what was the real reason

Doh read up on it. It will just get you vex.

So there was a presidential pardon which was the retracted, but the amnesty was upheld. And bakr was even awarded monies.

Is like a man rape your daughter, and not only they set him free, but they pay him too.

What it did do was alert the US that Trinidad was friendly towards terrorist groups and even had us under scrutiny. With my own eyes saw 2 FBI circulars stating Trinidad was terrorist friendly state with members of such groups present in the government at that time.

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2025, 11:51 am

some very bright lawyers who drafted that faux pas

matr1x wrote:
pugboy wrote:the country has suffered greatly since that band of idiots established themselves as a bonafide organized crime gang

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2025, 11:52 am

pugboy wrote:some very bright lawyers who drafted that faux pas

even after various govts pandered to bakr and allowed him to get away with urp gangs etc

matr1x wrote:

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 11:59 am

You not wrong. Rather that eliminating the threat, they allowed it to grow for political capital. Both sides have been pandering to these groups.

The mosque in st Joseph, 2 in chaguanas and a few in central were alleged to have supplied financing to bakr. That investigation get buried before it could even launch.

There is an allegation of a woman raped in the red house during the coup whose investigation got stonewalled. She died a few years back. With no justice.

Postby bluefete » July 27th, 2025, 12:04 pm

The bus with 114 of them should never have made it to Chaguaramas.

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 12:06 pm

bluefete wrote:The bus with 114 of them should never have made it to Chaguaramas.

That and everyone on that compound. They are all bad. Surprise Surprise all the kids grew up to be scum. Imagine if they had eliminated all of them, how much pain would have been spared

Postby bluefete » July 27th, 2025, 12:12 pm

matr1x wrote:
bluefete wrote:The bus with 114 of them should never have made it to Chaguaramas.

That and everyone on that compound. They are all bad. Surprise Surprise all the kids grew up to be scum. Imagine if they had eliminated all of them, how much pain would have been spared

True.

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2025, 12:34 pm

matr1x wrote:
hover11 wrote:Somebody help me understand why was abu bakr and his cohorts pardoned again....what was the real reason

Doh read up on it. It will just get you vex.

So there was a presidential pardon which was the retracted, but the amnesty was upheld. And bakr was even awarded monies.

Is like a man rape your daughter, and not only they set him free, but they pay him too.

What it did do was alert the US that Trinidad was friendly towards terrorist groups and even had us under scrutiny. With my own eyes saw 2 FBI circulars stating Trinidad was terrorist friendly state with members of such groups present in the government at that time.

Minor correction... the Privy Council invalidated the amnesty in 1994.

The problem was that Bakr was never arrested because, yes he became political capital by Panday then Manning.

Failing criminally, the state then went after him in the civil courts for damages to the Red House and Police Headquarters. The state won and was awarded 15 million, but he never paid. He fought it on two fronts, through our slow court system and political connections. Only under Kamla's first term through the AG the state seized his properties. After 15 years interest by 2010 or so the debt grew to over 40M. State was forced to sell some of the properties under value because of poor turnout in the auction (I wonder why), and the persons who purchased was members and associates of the family. The debt reduced a bit and has gone back up because of interest. That bill is probably close to 100M today.

The state instead of auctioning should have just taken the properties at market value and used it for state purposes.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2025, 12:36 pm

pugboy wrote:some very bright lawyers who drafted that faux pas

matr1x wrote:

The pardon was invalidated by the Privy Council after being upheld by the local Court of Appeal.

They PC however didn't want the terrorists rearrested bc rights or whatever

Screenshot_20250727-123445.jpg

Postby hover11 » July 27th, 2025, 12:39 pm

So I going based on precedence because that's what law is about if a coup attempt was to happen again what would stop us from receiving the same outcome?

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2025, 1:10 pm

Abu die a rich man tho.

Family set.

1990 come and gone.

What allyuh doing with allyuh life?

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2025, 1:30 pm

All the Muslim haters griping them is the main cause for concern in tnt . They threatening we democracy ! Allyuh better step up do sumting , generations going and people will forget.

Meanwhile:
Presenting the DEPUTY SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO...
IMG_20250727_124555.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2025, 1:39 pm

legally acquired funds or not?

when state seized his properties and auction them off he show up and buy back a few cash

MaxPower wrote:Abu die a rich man tho.

Family set.

1990 come and gone.

What allyuh doing with allyuh life?

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2025, 1:53 pm

sMASH wrote:All the Muslim haters griping them is the main cause for concern in tnt . They threatening we democracy ! Allyuh better step up do sumting , generations going and people will forget.

Meanwhile:
Presenting the DEPUTY SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO...IMG_20250727_124555.jpg

Anyone want to guess sMASH wholeheartedly supported the rape of the lady?

Man, run back to yuh dry up ghazan thread. You not flying to over to give them food?