T&T declares State of Emergency - 18th July 2025

Re: SOE declared - 18th July 2025

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 18th, 2025, 9:29 am

The police is only one side of this issue - detection & detention.

The judicial system is screwed badly, because when police do manage to lock up criminals, the system is broken where they don't really get their punishment.

An example case in particular was "wounding with intent" back in 2006. Jury now getting selected for that.

So it's a systemic failure.

Corrupt police
Corrupt prisons
Slow process
No justice.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 18th, 2025, 9:30 am

one eye wrote:Alexander has served the TTPS for over 30 years, how can he not be aware of a coordinated and dangerous criminal network operating from within the nation’s prison system?

Another SOE with the help of the TTDF, we need to get rid of the TTDF.

Yes snowman it is a culture not any government's fault.

You were literally questioning a suggestion to close down the TTDF a few weeks ago in the CEPEP thread. What has changed?

Postby MaxPower » July 18th, 2025, 9:30 am

Trinis as usual rushing to buy toilet paper

one eye

Postby one eye » July 18th, 2025, 9:35 am

Foreign assistance from Brazil or other South American nations would be ideal geographically as well as having extensive experience with these types of criminal networks.

Postby mero » July 18th, 2025, 9:36 am

But them UNC MPs /big shotta lawyer is the same men who have dem criminal number on dey phone and proved them innocent at the cost of millions of OUR taxpayers dollars...

WA IT IS GOING ON HERE BOYYYY?!! WE CYAHH WINNNNN

Postby The_Honourable » July 18th, 2025, 9:38 am

TTPS Media Briefing - Friday 18th July, 2025

Postby timelapse » July 18th, 2025, 9:38 am

No amount of SOE's or policing is going to affect crime in T&T. Crime is deeply entrenched in our culture at this point whether it be robberies, murder,white collar or traffic offenses. People are selfish and do not consider how their actions impact other persons.
Examples:
Taxi drivers don't care how many people they bad drive, bounce, frustrate on a daily basis just because they want to get passengers before the other taxi drivers.

Container truck drivers take off like Formula 1 drivers on the highway on a daily basis.

Offroad men driving through rivers and firetrucking it up for people that bathing out of pure ignorant selfishness

Injuns still killing each other over land disputes

Unlicensed house electricians digging out your eye in bribes because they weren't qualified to get your wiring passed

Too many examples to list . The problem is that the average person does not have an ounce of integrity to stand up for what is right. They will just froth up and do nothing

snowman

Postby snowman » July 18th, 2025, 9:43 am

I will say this, I like this CoP.

Re: T&T declares State of Emergency - 18th July 2025

Postby The_Honourable » July 18th, 2025, 9:53 am

While i'm willing to give this new CoP a chance (1 month in the position so far), as we have seen the effects of the SoE on crime is usually temporary.

VexxDogg on point, police can make all the arrests but then you have a slow judicial system. By the time cases reach trial stage, some of the officers may have moved on, state attorneys changing, evidence compromised and next thing you know, those arrested get off on a technicality... turn around and sue the state.

Postby MaxPower » July 18th, 2025, 9:55 am

No curfew.

Postby alfa » July 18th, 2025, 10:12 am

mero wrote:Gary basically calling them dotish mcs. Ogoarrrr

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1B1kKbJ8TA/?mibextid=xfxF2i

Yeh boi Merz,

Garindra always have the solution and bragging about all he did…yet still there was NO significant reduction in crime under his tenure.

But he right tho, not about what all the great things he thought he did, but the manner in which the Govt conducted themselves.

As usual, criminals whatsapp hot and sweaty this morning…….all the drugs and guns done hide and they know who and where they shaking down.

Really a set of jokers yes.

The TTPS and TTDF are too corrupt and incapable of doing a proper SOE more so for any organized exercise.

Seek foreign assistance.

Gary needs to keep his irrelevant ass quiet

But lemmie play captain obvious for a second. A national security threat from within the prison walls was the impetus. Here's a radical proposal. How about cell phone jammers throughout the entire prison and devices to intercept drones so there's literally zero communication on the outside expert for monitored calls like you see on TV.It's so crazy it just might work.

The day they get rid of the woft prison service and make it Sabga security division or Massy correctional company and hire back those same officers on 5 year contract at a time you'll see an end to this nonsense

Postby sMASH » July 18th, 2025, 10:14 am

snowman wrote:We hearing from the CoP at the moment. But the Government is oddly silent this morning and placing him infront of everything.
Soe is the cop jurisdiction

snowman

Postby snowman » July 18th, 2025, 10:38 am

Those same Jammers affecting surrounding neighborhoods.

Postby alfa » July 18th, 2025, 10:48 am

snowman wrote:Those same Jammers affecting surrounding neighborhoods.

But not affecting the prisoners who inside and calling shots?

It probably affecting the officers who can't call they outside birds on a 24 hr rotation or whatever and can't sell the inmates phone cards either

Postby hover11 » July 18th, 2025, 10:56 am

What's the point of a SOE without a curfew

T&T declares State of Emergency - 18th July 2025

Postby MaxPower » July 18th, 2025, 11:29 am

hover11 wrote:What's the point of a SOE without a curfew

Same set of dunces trying to fool the public.

Zero crime plan.

The COP rel butter up plenty dumb ass Trinis with that conference though..

Postby Chimera » July 18th, 2025, 11:51 am

hover11 wrote:What's the point of a SOE without a curfew
For them to deal with what needs to be dealt with. Hearing is a former pnm minister organizing some bacchanal from his criminal bredrin as the unc investigating him heavily.

Time will tell

Postby The_Honourable » July 18th, 2025, 11:56 am

Organised gangs trigger state of emergency, no curfew

HAVING received information on July 17 that organised criminal gangs, both within the prison system and outside, were actively planning to carry out murders, robberies, and kidnappings, Police Commissioner Allister Guevarro immediately sprang into action, and asked the government to call a state of emergency (SoE).

At an emergency press briefing on July 18 at the Police Administration Building in Port of Spain, Guevarro recalled that when he received the information, it was troubling to him.

He added that he approached the National Security Council later that night and held a briefing with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and the Attorney General and a recommendation was made "with a heavy heart" to accede to his request for a SoE to address the threat.

Guevarro said they agreed, and the President signed that proclamation.

Guevarro said he and his team immediately hit the ground running.

Earlier, before the conference, Guevarro visited the Maximum Security Prison in Arouca, where he supervised "the extraction of gang leaders," who were then relocated to another facility.

He explained that the move was necessary to prevent them from having access to the "liberal communication they were using to facilitate this reign of terror" on people."

"Moreso, we have seen recent acts of kidnapping and homicides being perpetrated against our citizenry that we have been able to trace back to this organised crime syndicate," he said.

"As your CoP, I cannot in all good conscience stand before you at any given time, knowing what I know and not take definitive action against it," he said.

Having now spent a month in the position, Guevarro thanked the public for their support and commended people and fellow police officers for their support.

He recalled that police recovered over 30 guns from the streets during his tenure.

With no curfew, Guevarro reassured the public, "We want the good citizens of Trinidad and Tobago to enjoy their lifestyles without placing any undue strain on them."

Earlier in the morning, communications adviser Rodelle Phillips-Simmons in a message to Newsday stated that the Office of the President advises that all queries relating to the SoE be directed to the Office of the Prime Minister and the Attorney General.

Police first announced the emergency early on July 18 via a media statement, citing "credible intelligence" involving threats originating from inside prison walls.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/07/18/organi ... no-curfew/

Postby MaxPower » July 18th, 2025, 12:13 pm

A corrupt TTPS is more than enough reason for a SOE.

Fix the TTPS.

We need foreign assistance.

Postby 16 cycles » July 18th, 2025, 12:14 pm

CoP is articulate....hope it signals an intelligence lead fight on crime.

Prison officers need to account for reasons comms are free flowing in and out of prison.

Postby MaxPower » July 18th, 2025, 12:15 pm

Chimera wrote:Hearing is a former pnm minister organizing some bacchanal from his criminal bredrin as the unc investigating him heavily.
Time will tell

Time will tell, and show what it always shows man.

No one is ever charged.

This SOE is a cover up or a distraction for something IMO.

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2025, 12:38 pm

so far nobody has ever been able to clamp down on prison officers

16 cycles wrote:CoP is articulate....hope it signals an intelligence lead fight on crime.

Prison officers need to account for reasons comms are free flowing in and out of prison.

Postby hover11 » July 18th, 2025, 12:48 pm

SoEs being used as a crime fighting tool is an attack on democracy. PNM or UNC; it doesn’t matter. Neither party has produced any information to show that a credible threat was planned or underway. Show me undeniable proof I don't just want to hear matters of national security

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » July 18th, 2025, 1:00 pm

Prison officers, Police officers, coast guard etc will NEVER be held accountable not in Trinidad or anywhere in the world except maybe a handful of first world countries like Denmark or whatever.

Nothing will come out of this, in order to fix this issue you would need to scrap the entire recruitment process and start only hiring people with A levels out of prestige colleges or something, that never happening and unlikely that highly educated people would be interested in law enforcement at a ground level.

Postby Chimera » July 18th, 2025, 1:04 pm

prison officers in a dred situation

how much of them get attacked/killed?

They should probably hire contractors from abroad for the job of prison officers

because ANYONE with a family will be targeted

either you help the criminals or turn a blind eye

thats the two options

Postby K74T » July 18th, 2025, 1:56 pm

STATEMENT BY THE HONOURABLE KAMLA-PERSAD BISSESSAR S.C. PRIME MINISTER OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO ON THE STATE OF EMERGENCY

My government came into office on the promise that we would address the crime situation in Trinidad and Tobago as a matter of priority and that we would do everything necessary to ensure that citizens felt safe in their homes, workplaces, schools and places of worship. Last evening I received an intelligence report from the Commissioner of Police and I immediately directed my Attorney General to take the requisite steps to advise Her Excellency, the President, to declare that a State of Emergency existed in Trinidad and Tobago.

I will not stand idly by for years, months, weeks or even days while a minority of illegally armed individuals act in concert to intimidate the people of Trinidad and Tobago. I will not tolerate a resurgence of kidnappings for ransom and other heinous crimes initiated by gangs. I will not allow these elements of society to continue to terrorize and traumatize law abiding citizens and to wreak havoc in our land.

For years, while in Opposition, I repeatedly called for a State of Emergency, not as cheap political gimmickry to appease the population leading up to an election, but as a critical measure to attack the crime situation within the parameters of the law. This Government walks the walk. We are taking urgent action to cut off this immediate threat at the root, and to safeguard our people. Our Government is working closely with the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) to ensure that this State of Emergency brings tangible results in our fight against crime.

The State of Emergency came into effect just after midnight when Her Excellency the President issued the proclamation and regulations. The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service immediately engaged in operations to secure the citizenry and the institutions that uphold the integrity of the State. The TTPS and the Government will continue to keep the population informed, as appropriate, within the coming days.

###

Zim

Postby Zim » July 18th, 2025, 2:03 pm

MaxPower wrote:A corrupt TTPS is more than enough reason for a SOE.

Fix the TTPS.

We need foreign assistance.

×2

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2025, 2:31 pm

i think chris’s must list next court date is august
he better watch himself
they go make an example of him

Postby timelapse » July 18th, 2025, 2:59 pm

pugboy wrote:i think chris’s must list next court date is august
he better watch himself

They should.
Grab that Zoe rat as well.
Too many people glamourizing the dotish ghetto gang behaviour we have here.
This country used to have a level of class.
Now is just crass

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2025, 3:21 pm

yes but shooting the messenger achieves nada tho
timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:i think chris’s must list next court date is august
he better watch himself

They should.
Grab that Zoe rat as well.
Too many people glamourizing the dotish ghetto gang behaviour we have here.
This country used to have a level of class.
Now is just crass