the right to bear arms

Re: the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2025, 9:08 am

The_Honourable wrote:TTPS outlines legal process for applying for FUL

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) has reminded members of the public that all applications for a Firearm User’s Licence (FUL) must comply fully with the law and be processed solely through official TTPS channels.

As the only body legally authorised under the Firearms Act to issue FULs, the TTPS warned that citizens must immediately cease all dealings with individuals or entities outside the organisation regarding the acquisition or facilitation of firearm licences. It cautioned that such actions may be unlawful and will be investigated.

Applicants must provide the following documents, all of which must be current at the time of submission:

- A valid form of identification (National ID Card, Passport, or Driver’s Permit)
- A Certificate of Character issued by the TTPS
- A psychiatric evaluation by a certified mental health professional
- A medical certificate from a registered medical practitioner
- A letter of consent from a spouse and/or any adult residing at the applicant’s home, dated within the last six months
- Any additional documentation relating to justification, as requested during the interview stage

Applications missing any of these required documents will not be processed.

The TTPS outlined the formal application steps as follows:

1. Obtain the application form from the Government Printery
2. Compile the required documents for review and verification
3. Undergo background checks and a site visit by designated officers
4. Attend an interview, if requested
5. Await a decision following a comprehensive evaluation by the Commissioner of Police

The TTPS also issued a public advisory warning that no third party, broker, or intermediary has the authority to process or influence FUL applications. It stressed that all inquiries and submissions must be handled directly through the TTPS.

Attempts to bypass official procedures through unauthorised persons may constitute a criminal offence and jeopardise the application.

The TTPS reaffirmed its commitment to ensuring that all firearm licensing decisions are guided by legality, public safety, and professional integrity. It encouraged citizens to cooperate fully and honestly during the process.

The release further indicated that the TTPS is reviewing all FUL applications older than six months. Applicants with pending submissions will be contacted to update and resubmit expired or outdated documents to maintain compliance prior to consideration by the Commissioner of Police.

The advisory follows national discussions around civilian access to firearms. During the recently held General Election, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar campaigned on a promise to expand citizens’ ability to obtain FULs for self-defence. She also proposed introducing “stand your ground” legislation, which would give individuals legal protection when using force in response to a perceived threat.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/ttps-outlines-le ... g-for-ful/

“Applications missing any of these required documents will not be processed.”

Is penmanship, literacy and basic understanding of english language a criteria?

Postby alfa » June 29th, 2025, 10:46 am

Normally they does ask for those documentation when the cops come to do their investigation.
If you submit now and they reach your file next year and say you psych, medical etc too dated, you have to do yet a third time?

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2025, 11:37 am

that is what the man said on tv
so salt for all the ppl who patiently waiting years
have to wait for them to reach your file after they process the 6month within ones then resubmit
so may not make sense rushing for new docs as by the time they reach a person file 6months coulda pass again

alfa wrote:Normally they does ask for those documentation when the cops come to do their investigation.
If you submit now and they reach your file next year and say you psych, medical etc too dated, you have to do yet a third time?

Postby j.o.e » June 30th, 2025, 6:12 am

So after all the hype the same system in place with its backlogs ? Is there a plan to improve this system ?

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 8:23 am

lollll
and same cops wukking in same dept and same dealers who prob helped out the campaign financing

Max singing this tune from the start

j.o.e wrote:So after all the hype the same system in place with its backlogs ? Is there a plan to improve this system ?

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2025, 10:34 am

Correct.

Imagine the back log ontop the backlog.

Files lossing like that in all that paper work.

6 months will run up quick quick and everyone would hadda submit docs again.

is the same sheit when GG encourage everyone to apply.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 10:39 am

and a next “audit” thrown in for good measure

MaxPower wrote:Correct.

Imagine the back log ontop the backlog.

Files lossing like that in all that paper work.

6 months will run up quick quick and everyone would hadda submit docs again.

is the same sheit when GG encourage everyone to apply.

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2025, 10:47 am

I suspected this much from the start. The govt may have just given instructions to give out a whole lot more FULs, so whereas you used to get 1000 or so in a year, might be 2 or 3 thousand now. Backlog not gonna clear anytime soon.

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2025, 1:09 pm

https://youtu.be/91xcJf5Fndw?si=WvTyfdeu9YK5d7Ky

Ttps on applying for and purchasing firearms.
Ok then

Postby redmanjp » June 30th, 2025, 1:18 pm

alfa wrote:I suspected this much from the start. The govt may have just given instructions to give out a whole lot more FULs, so whereas you used to get 1000 or so in a year, might be 2 or 3 thousand now. Backlog not gonna clear anytime soon.

when would they figure out that they need to have multiple offices throughout the country to do processing of this huge amt of applications :roll:

Postby timelapse » June 30th, 2025, 1:33 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
MaxPower wrote:God help us with thousands upon thousands of Trinis with FULs.
Now we can do like the old west and challenge eachother to duels at high noon

Some fellas prefer "Sword fighting"

Postby redmanjp » June 30th, 2025, 1:39 pm

if i just want to shoot at a range for fun but not have a firearm, i still need a FUL?

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 1:40 pm

this is exactly gg all over again setta pr

alfa wrote:https://youtu.be/91xcJf5Fndw?si=WvTyfdeu9YK5d7Ky

Ttps on applying for and purchasing firearms.
Ok then

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2025, 2:14 pm

I think sMASH should be given his FUL first.

He has been abreast of the situation from Day 1 and has been a step ahead, also first in line.

sMASH you pick out a unit already?

Glocky? Siggy? Zev??

Postby timelapse » June 30th, 2025, 2:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:I think sMASH should be given his FUL first.

He has been abreast of the situation from Day 1 and has been a step ahead, also first in line.

Glocky? Siggy? Zev??

Come through nah Samurai Max. We can form the Jupongatana

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2025, 2:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:if i just want to shoot at a range for fun but not have a firearm, i still need a FUL?

Nah, they apply for an fuec for you once you join their range

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2025, 2:43 pm

timelapse wrote:

Glocky? Siggy? Zev??

Come through nah Samurai Max. We can form the Jupongatana

Imagine a man say I ready to dead, stab me stab me

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 2:52 pm

a man who waiting forever not going to buy a glock
that come like getting a tiida or aqua

Glocky? Siggy? Zev??

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2025, 3:12 pm

Considering you have to keep your one unit for the rest of your life I feel Glock is the best option. Plenty parts, after market service, accessories etc , and just like a tiida all the ghetto youths running one

Buy an Arex and the one dealer in Trinidad decide to go into a next business, salt after

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 3:54 pm

no doubt glock does work
but the small piggy short men not buying dat

alfa wrote:Considering you have to keep your one unit for the rest of your life I feel Glock is the best option. Plenty parts, after market service, accessories etc , and just like a tiida all the ghetto youths running one

Buy an Arex and the one dealer in Trinidad decide to go into a next business, salt after

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2025, 4:34 pm

What about variations?

That getting preference over the law abiding minimum wage worker who has the right to apply and acquire his FUL?

Postby 16 cycles » June 30th, 2025, 4:35 pm

Tida ftw...gets from point a to b and enough aftermarket parts to make it better than factory.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 5:14 pm

who gun dealers prefer to deal with?

that will answer your question

MaxPower wrote:What about variations?

That getting preference over the law abiding minimum wage worker who has the right to apply and acquire his FUL?

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2025, 5:20 pm

pugboy wrote:who gun dealers prefer to deal with?

that will answer your question

Thanks.

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2025, 7:52 pm

I going check them next week. They in Trinidad house building on Treasury street somewhere now. Hopefully find out what's the variation scene

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2025, 9:10 pm

alfa wrote:

I going check them next week. They in Trinidad house building on Treasury street somewhere now. Hopefully find out what's the variation scene

Nice man..lemme know.

i looking at dem Keltec KSG.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 9:21 pm

i like how this thread does go
it like a ocean tide
sometimes ppl gung ho with hope of getting a pipe
other times dead

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2025, 9:30 pm

Kamz rel went and hype up the law abiding bare minimum wage worker.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 10:15 pm

well that was the top campaign promise eh
stand yuh ground

MaxPower wrote:Kamz rel went and hype up the law abiding bare minimum wage worker.

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2025, 10:52 pm

pugboy wrote:well that was the top campaign promise eh
stand yuh ground

MaxPower wrote:Kamz rel went and hype up the law abiding bare minimum wage worker.

Politicians promise alot of things pug.