Vybz Kartel Will Not Perform Tonight May 31, 2025

Re: Vybz Kartel Will Not Perform Tonight May 31, 2025

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2025, 5:51 pm

the promoter need to sue kartel management and get back that money- it cyah be that u get paid 80% of the money and doh show up and take it and gone- yeah the promoter breach d contract so the artist didn't show, but 80% was already paid so do the right thing and pay it back, then the promoter can reimburse islandetickets as well as patrons who bought physical tickets.

Postby hover11 » June 2nd, 2025, 6:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:the promoter need to sue kartel management and get back that money- it cyah be that u get paid 80% of the money and doh show up and take it and gone- yeah the promoter breach d contract so the artist didn't show, but 80% was already paid so do the right thing and pay it back, then the promoter can reimburse islandetickets as well as patrons who bought physical tickets.
You don't know the clause in the contract if that's what both parties signed to how is it not legal?

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2025, 6:33 pm

the fine print probably covers keeping what ever money was paid
remember it’s a contract of deliverables on both sides
and even if you sue to get it back they will say this booking deprived them of another international booking which would have taken place

i bet island etickets hasn’t reconciled/remitted the money yet,
so they still holding the bulk minus bank cc fees
and can issue the refund without dipping into their pockets except for the cc fees

redmanjp wrote:the promoter need to sue kartel management and get back that money- it cyah be that u get paid 80% of the money and doh show up and take it and gone- yeah the promoter breach d contract so the artist didn't show, but 80% was already paid so do the right thing and pay it back, then the promoter can reimburse islandetickets as well as patrons who bought physical tickets.

Postby MaxPower » June 2nd, 2025, 6:41 pm

Maybe money done spen out

Postby The_Honourable » June 2nd, 2025, 7:56 pm

Island e-tickets

We have conducted a thorough review of the One Caribbean Music Festival and can now confirm that three of the headline performers who were advertised to appear did not perform.

As the ticketing platform for this event, we are deeply disappointed that the experience delivered did not match what was promoted to the public.

In line with our Merchant Service Agreement and internal policies, we have determined that the differences between the advertised event and what occurred are significant.

Accordingly, Island eTickets will be issuing full refunds to all patrons who purchased tickets through our platform.

Thank you for your understanding and continued support.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/19xkcWrpeu/

Postby hover11 » June 3rd, 2025, 10:00 am

PROMOTER Odane Anderson of Jacho Entertainment Ltd, the promoter for the One Caribbean Music Festival, has promised a media conference on June 3 to address the issues surrounding the event.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/06/03/vybz-k ... BMbu8_SGWw

Postby MaxPower » June 3rd, 2025, 10:45 am

The time and energy Trinis dedicate to this is unbelievable.

Postby zoom rader » June 3rd, 2025, 7:39 pm

Ban all these MC.

They are bad for trini black youths

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2025, 8:28 pm

Nah, jackass make to ride.
Mandate they hold these concerts and chatney concerts on election day... To keep discourage cross contamination of either crowds

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2025, 9:16 pm

the amount of woman latch on to man just to go

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 4th, 2025, 9:36 am

TTPS launches probe into Kartel’s US$950,000 payment

Acting Commissioner of Police Junior Benjamin has confirmed that the Financial Investigations Branch (FIB) is probing the source, method, and timing of the US$950,000 payment made to Adidja “Vybz Kartel” Palmer by a local promoter to appear at last Saturday’s One Caribbean Music Festival.

Benjamin was speaking at a vehicle handover ceremony yesterday at the Police Academy in St James, where 67 Toyota RAV4 SUVs were officially commissioned for use by the police service across the country.

Benjamin said while “the TTPS has not received any formal report on the matter”, they are proceeding with their own investigation.

The acting top cop assured, “Nevertheless, we continue to look at the matter, and based on that, I have already engaged the FIB to look into the matter, so we will look into it and will see what are the ramifications that come out of it.”

Following the disclosure that US$950,000 had been paid to Palmer to appear as the main act in the May 31 reggae concert at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Finance Minister Davendranath Tancoo said he was “intrigued” by the amount of foreign exchange that had reportedly changed hands.

Palmer was supposed to have been paid a total of US $1.35 million to perform in the show, which also featured other foreign acts including Malie Donn, Rvssian, Sizzla Kalonji, and Moliy, along with local artistes Lady Lava and Ravi B.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttps-la ... acc5fb431a

Postby RBphoto » June 4th, 2025, 9:47 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTPS launches probe into Kartel’s US$950,000 payment

Acting Commissioner of Police Junior Benjamin has confirmed that the Financial Investigations Branch (FIB) is probing the source, method, and timing of the US$950,000 payment made to Adidja “Vybz Kartel” Palmer by a local promoter to appear at last Saturday’s One Caribbean Music Festival.

Benjamin was speaking at a vehicle handover ceremony yesterday at the Police Academy in St James, where 67 Toyota RAV4 SUVs were officially commissioned for use by the police service across the country.

Benjamin said while “the TTPS has not received any formal report on the matter”, they are proceeding with their own investigation.

The acting top cop assured, “Nevertheless, we continue to look at the matter, and based on that, I have already engaged the FIB to look into the matter, so we will look into it and will see what are the ramifications that come out of it.”

Following the disclosure that US$950,000 had been paid to Palmer to appear as the main act in the May 31 reggae concert at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Finance Minister Davendranath Tancoo said he was “intrigued” by the amount of foreign exchange that had reportedly changed hands.

Palmer was supposed to have been paid a total of US $1.35 million to perform in the show, which also featured other foreign acts including Malie Donn, Rvssian, Sizzla Kalonji, and Moliy, along with local artistes Lady Lava and Ravi B.

Let Vybez take another rounds in prison.

Postby Les Bain » June 4th, 2025, 12:05 pm

Eff a probe. It would be cheaper to ban gunta music peddlers from entering the country.

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2025, 12:17 pm

Les Bain wrote:Eff a probe. It would be cheaper to ban gunta music peddlers from entering the country.

Ban gunta music on the whole.

Keep that for when allyuh home.

Postby hover11 » June 4th, 2025, 1:41 pm

Citizens cannot even get $500.00 us in the bank. But they can find 950k us to pay Kartel.

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2025, 1:46 pm

allyuh really think a probe going to happen or go anywhere?
what’s the most they can do?
ask questions and get stupid answers and they will be the end of it
and then add to a long list of “under investigation” pile

Postby j.o.e » June 4th, 2025, 2:35 pm

hover11 wrote:

Citizens cannot even get $500.00 us in the bank. But they can find 950k us to pay Kartel.

The normal citizen can’t get US but all your cars, clothes, electronics, 80% of your food etc etc is imported. You can get US if you are buying in the right quantities from the right people at the right rate.

Postby hover11 » June 4th, 2025, 2:36 pm

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:

The normal citizen can’t get US but all your cars, clothes, electronics, 80% of your food etc etc is imported. You can get US if you are buying in the right quantities from the right people at the right rate.
So what you are saying is buy at 10 to 1

Postby j.o.e » June 4th, 2025, 3:18 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:

So what you are saying is buy at 10 to 1

If you’re buying enough you can get at 7.8 to 8.4 ….. it’s all business. More you buy better the rate

Postby redmanjp » June 4th, 2025, 4:15 pm

hover11 wrote:PROMOTER Odane Anderson of Jacho Entertainment Ltd, the promoter for the One Caribbean Music Festival, has promised a media conference on June 3 to address the issues surrounding the event.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/06/03/vybz-k ... BMbu8_SGWw

this is probably why TTPS investigating

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/probe-into-kartel-pay-6.2.2322391.d917298f4b

Representatives of the US-based company said it will seek legal redress for the collapsed deal, as it is now at risk of losing millions of dollars. It said while it is now accepted that it will suffer a loss, it will try to recover as much money as possible from the local partner.

Jacho Entertainment Ltd

The event’s promoter, as listed on the One Caribbean Music Festival website, is Jacho Entertainment Ltd.

According to company registry documents, Jacho Entertainment Ltd is a San Fernando-based entertainment, events and promotions company.

It was incorporated in 2015.

Its two directors are Odane Anderson, events promoter, and Petel Jones, senior accountant.

In August 2020, Anderson, whose address is listed as the same address in the company registry, was one of two men charged with the possession of $94.8 million worth of cannabis for trafficking after being arrested in Charlieville.

According to police reports, officers of the Central Intelligence Bureau, the Northern Division Gang Unit, and the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF), with support from officers of the Customs and Excise Department and Port Security, intercepted a container at Kolahal Road, Charlieville, Chaguanas.

The container reportedly left the Port of Port-of-Spain on the same day.

On searching the container, officers found 958 boxes containing, what officers believed to be marijuana, which weighed 947.64 kilogrammes.

Guardian Media contacted Anderson and sent questions on whether patrons will be refunded and what recourse will be taken against Kartel.

Yesterday morning, Anderson said he was meeting with his attorneys to see what, if any, actions can be taken against the artistes for not performing.

also the US company involved want back their money so Kartel might have to return some or most of it.

Postby hover11 » June 6th, 2025, 10:26 am

So all Jamaican artistes were paid in USD, how did he obtain such large sums of US, why these reporters mot asking the right questions?
FB_IMG_1749212395130.jpg

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2025, 11:04 am

surely a lot of the money would be held offshore
so they don’t have to answer for thet

Postby j.o.e » June 6th, 2025, 11:11 am

hover11 wrote:So all Jamaican artistes were paid in USD, how did he obtain such large sums of US, why these reporters mot asking the right questions?
FB_IMG_1749212395130.jpg

What do you pay foreign artistes and companies in ? Why yall act like if this is news ?

Postby The_Honourable » June 6th, 2025, 11:46 am

Kartel promoter threatens legal action over concert ticket refunds

With an estimated $2 million in ticket sales promised to be refunded to patrons of the failed One Caribbean Music Festival, the event’s promoters are threatening legal action against online ticketing agency Island eTickets.

In a statement sent to the agency on Thursday night, Jacho Entertainment argued that ticket sale proceeds should not be refunded until a complete audit is conducted.

“This letter serves as a formal Cease and Desist Notice from the organisers of the One Caribbean Music Festival, instructing you to immediately halt all refund processing related to our event, until a full internal investigation is concluded.”

The statement also claims that Island eTickets’ refund policy does not align with what occurred at the festival and should not be enforced.

“Per your published Refund and Exchange Policy, as found on your official website, we highlight the following: If your event is cancelled, we will refund the amount you paid for your tickets (minus order processing, service and delivery fees). Venue and talent are subject to change without notice and are not grounds for a refund. Anything promised by the promoter that is unfulfilled is not guaranteed by the seller and is not grounds for a refund.”

Jacho Entertainment maintains that the One Caribbean Music Festival was not cancelled and declared that “any and all refund activity is in direct conflict with your stated policy.”

The company has asked Island eTickets to suspend all refunds, submit a written report of any refunds already processed—including payee details, refund amounts, and refund reasons—and confirm in writing that no further refunds will be issued until further notice.

“Failure to comply with this directive may result in legal action and claims for damages arising from any unauthorised or unjustified refund disbursements.”

Following the concert’s failure, many ticket holders requested refunds. Two online ticketing platforms—Frontline Ticketing and Island eTickets—have committed to reimbursing customers.

On Wednesday, Island eTickets’ Chief Technical Officer Matthew Encinas said the refund process would begin today and be completed within five business days.

In a WhatsApp response to Guardian Media, Encinas said the company remains committed to both promoters and patrons.

“It’s equally important to recognise our commitment to the promoters who use our platform. When a promoter runs a professional, well-executed event, we stand behind them just as firmly. Our platform exists to empower both patrons and promoters—so long as both parties operate with integrity, we will always have their back. We’re proud to be a local company that operates with global standards, and we hope our response shows that we don’t just process tickets—we protect the trust that surrounds them,” he said.

The concert collapsed after headliner Vybz Kartel pulled out at the last minute, citing a breach of contract. His withdrawal triggered a domino effect as most of the foreign acts also dropped out.

Kartel had been contracted for a total of US$1.35 million to perform. Other foreign artistes included Malie Donn, Rvssian, Sizzla Kalonji, Chronic Law, and Moliy. Only Chronic Law took the stage, performing alongside local artistes Lady Lava, KMC, Iwer George, Joshua Regrello, and Ravi B.

On Thursday, Odane Anderson, owner of Jacho Entertainment, said he feared for his life as he could not meet financial obligations.

On Tuesday, Acting Police Commissioner Junior Benjamin confirmed that the Financial Investigations Branch (FIB) is probing the source, method, and timing of the US$950,000 payment made to Kartel. Jacho Entertainment insists the payment was fully above board and does not warrant police investigation.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/kartel- ... bba98b2982

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2025, 11:49 am

he should give more details so we can see how much loss they were taking to wash

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2025, 1:16 pm

On Thursday, Odane Anderson, owner of Jacho Entertainment, said he feared for his life as he could not meet financial obligations.

if the source of funds was legit, why fear for your life?

Postby hover11 » June 6th, 2025, 1:28 pm

US$ for Vybz Kartel: ’We can’t get medicine, but you got all this money’
Responding to questions from the media as to whether she was concerned about the issue, Persad-Bissessar said, “Of course it concerns me.”
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/u ... NsR9wHSggw

Postby MaxPower » June 6th, 2025, 1:31 pm

Money done spend out

Postby mero » June 6th, 2025, 1:38 pm

How much so it go cost to fly in Taylor Swift ?

Postby MaxPower » June 6th, 2025, 2:03 pm

mero wrote:How much so it go cost to fly in Taylor Swift ?

Go be plenty boi.

Some former MP rich kids made mommy and daddy swipe easily accessible forex on their credit cards for $2000usd a pop for near front row seats for a concert in the US.