Re: PNM 2.0: Penny in Charge

Postby alfa » May 1st, 2025, 11:24 am

PariaMan wrote:
alfa wrote:
zoom rader wrote:The closing of Petrotrin affected the entire south. Everyone was affected from doubles vendors to banks.

A very bad decision

Yes but they closed in 2018 and still won 2020.
It's something more in the mix now
A fluke win in 2020
No bai. Murder rate was little over 100 ,all roads paved, no increases in fuel, and the introduction of foreign used cars . Country was actually well run by the late great Bas. At 18 18 in 2001 he should have been reinstated

I said 2920 not 2000 lol, think you misread

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » May 1st, 2025, 11:39 am

sMASH wrote:So wait nah,
1990 coup
RamjackG
Spiritual guidance
Email-gate

These are the kinds of reasons why pnm took back power ??? Not so much because the alternative was performing badly ?

2020 covid … used the daily press briefings to harness the fear of a situation they created

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 1st, 2025, 11:42 am

dogg wrote:Well now PNM and UNC are even with both having feeble weak leaders.

If kamla do anything wrong I blaming Penny for being a weak opposition leader

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 1st, 2025, 11:46 am

sMASH wrote:So wait nah,
1990 coup
RamjackG
Spiritual guidance
Email-gate

These are the kinds of reasons why pnm took back power ??? Not so much because the alternative was performing badly ?
Dem spirit take robbie for the deadlock yeah
Ramjack and dooksie is 2007
2001 was because the three stooges

dogg

Postby dogg » May 1st, 2025, 11:51 am

Mmoney607 wrote:

One weak, the other weaker. It varies by the hour.
One cyar walk without assistance, the other look like she half asleep at any given time. Dropsy like dat.

We in a right mess.

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 11:53 am

dogg wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

One cyar walk without assistance, the other look like she half asleep at any given time. Dropsy like dat.

We in a right mess.
They say women in charge... i guess

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 1st, 2025, 12:09 pm

hover11 wrote:
dogg wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

We in a right mess.
They say women in charge... i guess

The only woman in charge of anything is KPB, them next two will be out soon

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 1st, 2025, 12:12 pm

I like woman on top

Postby The_Honourable » May 1st, 2025, 12:22 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Some in the pnm done start... they saying the party gone backwards, penny is the opposition choice, and she wouldn't be able to stand up to the UNC

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 1st, 2025, 3:00 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Some in the pnm done start... they saying the party gone backwards, penny is the opposition choice, and she wouldn't be able to stand up to the UNC

Penny too sorf, PNM accustomed to women behaving a certain way.....

Postby The_Honourable » May 1st, 2025, 3:06 pm

Lost the 2 Tobago seats to Farley. He's a Rowley loyalist if you didn't know...

Dennis refuses to step down as Tobago Council head

People’s National Movement (PNM) Tobago Council political leader Ancil Dennis says he will not resign, even as other party officials have stepped down following the party’s heavy defeat in Monday’s General Election.

“There will be no resignation from me while I am on the national executive as a deputy political leader,” Dennis told Guardian Media yesterday.

“I am there by virtue of being the elected political leader of the PNM in Tobago, so there will be no such resignation from me.”

He added, “According to the PNM’s constitution, the elected political leader of the PNM in Tobago, because PNM in Tobago has its own internal elections, so that political leader who is elected in that election is also automatically a deputy political leader of the party and not necessarily appointed by the political leader nationally.”

His statement came hours after PNM chairman Stuart Young resigned. In a statement on his decision, Young said he was stepping down to allow the party to reflect and move forward.

Former political leader Dr Keith Rowley also announced his resignation five hours prior to Young, but said he will officially demit office today, after leading the PNM for several years. Rohan Sinanan, another deputy leader under Rowley, also tendered his resgination yesterday.

The PNM lost the Tobago East and Tobago West seats to the Tobago People’s Party (TPP) on Monday. United National Congress leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar led her party to a 26-13 win over the PNM.

Political analysts say the public turned away from the PNM because of several issues, including recent salary hikes for senior government officials and a feeling that the party was out of touch with the people.

Despite the growing calls for change within the party, however, Dennis said he is staying and plans to focus on rebuilding the PNM’s base in Tobago and helping the national executive recover from the loss.

Dennis said the PNM in Tobago still has work to do and he intends to lead that effort.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/dennis- ... 443b8e36af

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 4:04 pm

Imps berty has to go

This guy is Currupted to the core and sees about himself during the 10 years. Made himself richer.

These are the things the agv man sees.

Postby redmanjp » May 1st, 2025, 9:30 pm

Young not entitled to Prime Minister's pension

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/04/29/young-not-entitled-to-prime-ministers-pension/

The rules for payment of a pension to former prime ministers are laid out in the Prime Minister's Pension Act.

Section 3(1) of the Act states, "Every person who having been appointed Prime Minister on or after the 31st day of August, 1962, ceases at any time after such appointment to be Prime Minister shall be paid a pension under this Act with effect from the date on which he ceases to be Prime Minister and subject to subsection (2) the pension shall continue to be paid during the lifetime of that person."

Section 3 (2) added, "The Prime Minister’s pension shall, if the person to whom it is payable becomes a legislator or is again appointed Prime Minister, cease to be payable during the period in respect of which that person is a legislator or holds the office of Prime Minister, as the case may be, but where the rate of the Prime Minister’s pension exceeds the rate of salary as a legislator, nothing in this subsection shall prevent the payment of the Prime Minister’s pension to the extent of such excess."

Young was sworn in as prime minister on March 17, one day after Dr Keith Rowley resigned from this post.

On April 28, Young was re-elected as Port of Spain North/St Ann's West MP.

This means he will sit in the House of Representatives again as a legislator but not as prime minister since the PNM lost the election.

Postby zoom rader » May 2nd, 2025, 5:06 am

Let Penny do her thing.

I had chead on who to be PNM leader, and it was penny right after Manning demise back in 2010

But again, tuners dissed it.

I even bumped the chead on Tuesday, and the mods took it down.

Mods just like PNM still getting it wrong

Postby hover11 » May 2nd, 2025, 6:18 am

Penny stood by and watched PNM oppress the citizens for ten years, watched Rowley scold us and watched imbert laughed at us. This is just a case of the best out of the worst as I said before she is a good MP but that's about it

Postby goalpost » May 2nd, 2025, 7:13 am

PNM and by large, Trinidad believe a leader has to be aggressive, brash and unforgiving. This is not true. They allowed Rowley too long to get on like a wajang and have his MPs subservient. Let's see that stop plz.

While Penny isn't aggressive, my dealings with her is that she thinks, she's fair and hopefully she allows her MPs room to do their thing.

Postby zoom rader » May 2nd, 2025, 7:51 am

Jah bless penny, she will pull back the disgruntled PNM base.

The biggest disappointment was all these pollsters and political scientists. They just did not want to admit the truth. They did all this for money.

Postby hover11 » May 2nd, 2025, 9:59 am

“I think what is critical at this time is to be a lot more caring. A lot of issues that I have found in the public domain is people feeling that the party has not been sufficiently caring—that the party is not knowledgeable about the issues…”
—Opposition Leader Pennelope Beckles-Robinson

For more…
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/penny-p ... 90c38cdb62

It's not now the people feel like this, why didn't you speak out in the last ten years when Rowley Buff the citizens and when imbert laughed at us. Where were you, oh you were right there , silent as per usual. The enabler is worse than the abuser. Listen she is a good MP I not disputing that but PNM makes a really good opposition let them relax there for a bit
FB_IMG_1746194213691.jpg

Postby hover11 » May 2nd, 2025, 11:44 am

SECRETARY of Finance, Trade and the Economy Petal-Ann Roberts claims the Farley Augustine-led administration has inherited the highest liability in the history of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) – approximately $1 billion.

She said to date, the administration has not been able to settle all of its debts and it was hoping for a meeting with the incoming Minister of Finance next week to air concerns and perhaps devise a strategy to resolve the situation.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/05/02/financ ... wOLGNru9Ug

Postby matr1x » May 3rd, 2025, 12:42 pm

She is just another puppet of the 1%

Postby hover11 » May 4th, 2025, 7:10 pm

Tomorrow Stuart young will host a media conference at Balisier House at 10:00 am.
FB_IMG_1746400185962.jpg

Postby bluefete » May 4th, 2025, 7:13 pm

hover11 wrote:Tomorrow Stuart young will host a media conference at Balisier House at 10:00 am.FB_IMG_1746400185962.jpg

I though Penny is Leader of the Opposition.

Stuart "Vene" Young trying to stay relevant?

Postby hover11 » May 4th, 2025, 7:14 pm

bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:Tomorrow Stuart young will host a media conference at Balisier House at 10:00 am.FB_IMG_1746400185962.jpg

I though Penny is Leader of the Opposition.
PNM in a mess

Postby bluefete » May 4th, 2025, 7:17 pm

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

I thought Penny is Leader of the Opposition.
PNM in a mess

Definitely.

I wonder if he asked Penny first or just did his own thing?

Postby paid_influencer » May 4th, 2025, 7:31 pm

normal procedure... look Saddam does host press conference all the time... so does Moonilal.... Tancoo... etc

Postby K74T » May 4th, 2025, 7:49 pm

FB_IMG_1746402459856.jpg
FB_IMG_1746402464101.jpg

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2025, 8:02 pm

wonder if they come out of the meeting hugging up each other like the meeting they had after stuey was pushed as pm and they had to have a meeting to save face

Postby hover11 » May 4th, 2025, 8:07 pm

PNM rel fake boi

Postby The_Honourable » May 4th, 2025, 8:20 pm

Opposition leader is one thing, what about political leader?

I doubt anybody will challenge Penny for PL of the pnm when the time comes. Camille has no choice but to boil down.

Postby bluefete » May 5th, 2025, 7:31 am

Lacouray is that he going and resign. Me eh know.