*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 11:05 pm

killercow wrote:Would be nice if you could update this list to include the candidate names for ease of reference.

Fixed 8-)

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 30th, 2025, 6:21 am

paid_influencer wrote:imagine the history books...

"this is Stuwatee, our first prime minister by appointment. His first act as prime minister was to dissolve parliament and call a snap election, which he lost."

that only happen cause rowlee didnt want to be know as doing the same as manning and be forced to called a snap election and lorse.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » April 30th, 2025, 6:28 am

Anyone doesn't find it weird we have no votes for each candidate per constituency? 2 days later and I can't seem to find this data anywhere.

death365

Postby death365 » April 30th, 2025, 6:32 am

That does only be available from when the offical results are out ... aka today most likely
Carbon12 wrote:Anyone doesn't find it weird we have no votes for each candidate per constituency? 2 days later and I can't seem to find this data anywhere.

Postby hover11 » April 30th, 2025, 6:49 am

The People’s National Movement (PNM) will choose a new Opposition Leader today.

Read more:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/pnm-mem ... 8b1d4df23f

Allya i don't know where to post this....tell Rowley and young pack they Georgie bundles and ride off into the sunset

Postby sMASH » April 30th, 2025, 6:56 am

The_Honourable wrote:Results so far:

United National Congress (UNC) - 26

Aranguez/St. Joseph (Flipped) - Devesh Maharaj
Barataria/San Juan - Saddam Hosein
Caroni East - Rishi Seecharan
Caroni Central - David Lee
Couva North - Jerlean John
Couva South - Barry Paradath
Chaguanas East - Vandana Mohit
Chaguanas West - Neil Gosine
Claxton Bay - Hansen Narinesingh
Cumuto/Manzanilla - Shivanna Sam
Fyzabad - Davendranath Tancoo
La Brea (Flipped) - Clyde Elder
La Horquetta/Talparo (Flipped) - Phillip Watts
Mayaro - Nicholas Morris
Moruga/Tableland - Michelle Benjamin
Naparima - Narindra Roopnarine
Oropouche East - Roodal Moonilal
Oropouche West - Lackram Bodoe
Point Fortin (Flipped) - Ernesto Kesar
Princes Town - Aiyna Ali
San Fernando West (Flipped) - Michael Dowlath
Siparia - Kamla Persad-Bissessar
St. Augustine - Khadijah Ameen
Tabaquite - Sean Sobers
Toco/Sangre Grande (Flipped) - Wayne Sturge
Tunapuna (Flipped) - Roger Alexander

People's National Movement (PNM) - 13

Arima - Pennelope Beckles
Arouca/Lopinot (Recount) - Marvin Gonzales
Diego Martin North/East - Colm Imbert
Diego Martin Central - Symon De Nobriga
Diego Martin West - Hans De Vignes
Laventille East/Morvant - Christian Birchwood
Laventille West - Kareem Marcelle
Malabar/Mausica (Recount) - Dominic Romain
Port of Spain South - Keith Scotland
Port of Spain North/St. Ann's West - Stuart Young
St. Ann's East - Nyan Gasby-Dolly
San Fernando East (Recount) - Brian Manning
Trincity/Maloney - Camille Robinson-Regis

Tobago People's Party (TPP) - 2

Tobago East (Flipped) - David Thomas
Tobago West (Flipped) - Joel Sampson
Appreciated

Postby hover11 » April 30th, 2025, 7:35 am

The animal farm leadership made them lose they were completely out of touch with the people.Then to hear the PM stating he has no problem with the rich getting richer .....does the average man want to hear that? Tone deaf....
IMG-20250430-WA0059.jpg

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 30th, 2025, 8:12 am

A lot of the independent pnm taking solice in the "low voter turnout"

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 30th, 2025, 8:26 am

And the older ones is ", once I have my god I good"

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » April 30th, 2025, 9:02 am

death365 wrote:That does only be available from when the offical results are out ... aka today most likely
Carbon12 wrote:Anyone doesn't find it weird we have no votes for each candidate per constituency? 2 days later and I can't seem to find this data anywhere.

Okay just find it hard to get any data regarding that hopefully we get to see some margins on the different areas soon.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 30th, 2025, 11:06 am

What's the current vote counts?

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2025, 11:08 am

that like god face

Dohplaydat wrote:What's the current vote counts?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 30th, 2025, 11:22 am

pugboy wrote:that like god face

Every political party knows exactly how many votes etc they get on election day because when ballots are being counted, their representative etc does be right there. That information is then sent sent to political parties headquarters that's why they know if to declare victory or concede.

That is also where the media gets its information from. The EBC only offers official releases after it does its due dilligence and abide by any legalities etc. All electoral information that we usually consume comes from the political parties. I'm guessing the parties being stingy with that information for political reasons. In the case of UNC to further make the EBC look incompetent and in case of PNM, they done lose so eh care to release anymore info.

The long story short, the votes are already known and counted and political parties already know what the final tally is. They could release it if they want to etc. The EBC will release their official results according to the law etc.

Postby redmanjp » April 30th, 2025, 12:32 pm

^the official results was even d issue- we doh even have interim figures from all PNM seats in the north! except 1 vote each for pnm.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 30th, 2025, 12:37 pm

Marvin say he win by 500 or so

Postby redmanjp » April 30th, 2025, 12:50 pm

PariaMan wrote:Marvin say he win by 500 or so

that's my constituency- it look like the only 1 with figures on picong party site- but not all vote in it seems

Postby hover11 » April 30th, 2025, 12:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:

that's my constituency- it look like the only 1 with figures on picong party site- but not all vote in it seems
That's not fair Dr.chaitan-maharaj put in more work than Marvin did, ppl like mediocrity yes

Postby redmanjp » April 30th, 2025, 1:04 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Every political party knows exactly how many votes etc they get on election day because when ballots are being counted, their representative etc does be right there. That information is then sent sent to political parties headquarters that's why they know if to declare victory or concede.

That is also where the media gets its information from. The EBC only offers official releases after it does its due dilligence and abide by any legalities etc. All electoral information that we usually consume comes from the political parties.

where the picong party and tv6 election results site get their interim figures from?

Postby sMASH » April 30th, 2025, 1:31 pm

All polling agents will with their personal documents for the election day . When ebc results come out completely , they could compare .
If they detect any major discrepancy then, then unc have enough lawyers to handle it.

And they should, cause it will be good grounds to over haul the ebc. Imagine , narciss scope go down like earla

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 30th, 2025, 1:35 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

That is also where the media gets its information from. The EBC only offers official releases after it does its due dilligence and abide by any legalities etc. All electoral information that we usually consume comes from the political parties.

where the picong party and tv6 election results site get their interim figures from?

Media will get their results from the political party headquarters as they tally their votes on site etc. So you will have a journalist at Balisier house and one at Unc headquarters and they relay that information back to the tv station who then create their data visualisation products. But that figure not coming from EBC etc.

EBC is about counting votes and doing their due dilligence and then releasing results according to the law. The figures we get as laypersons come from political parties and not EBC. An official release will be given by the EBC when they finish.
Last edited by Redress10 on April 30th, 2025, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 30th, 2025, 1:35 pm

hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

That's not fair Dr.chaitan-maharaj put in more work than Marvin did, ppl like mediocrity yes

Yes she did

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 30th, 2025, 1:37 pm

sMASH wrote:All polling agents will with their personal documents for the election day . When ebc results come out completely , they could compare .
If they detect any major discrepancy then, then unc have enough lawyers to handle it.

And they should, cause it will be good grounds to over haul the ebc. Imagine , narciss scope go down like earla

Elections for the most parts tend to be very transparent in Trinidad. If there are 16 political parties contesting a seat then you have 16 representatives present etc to witness counting.

Postby bluefete » April 30th, 2025, 2:24 pm

Redress10 wrote:

That is also where the media gets its information from. The EBC only offers official releases after it does its due dilligence and abide by any legalities etc. All electoral information that we usually consume comes from the political parties. I'm guessing the parties being stingy with that information for political reasons. In the case of UNC to further make the EBC look incompetent and in case of PNM, they done lose so eh care to release anymore info.

The long story short, the votes are already known and counted and political parties already know what the final tally is. They could release it if they want to etc. The EBC will release their official results according to the law etc.

I could only offer you this: Results harder to find than a diamond. First time this has happened.

Diego Martin West - Hans Des Vignes

PNM 7570
PEP 3257
NTA 1336

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2025, 2:36 pm

the least the ebc could do is put out a statement asking for patience
lot of ol talk about how they pack up shop as they tried to jimmy the numbers unsuccessfully so they just buss it after final count

Postby alfa » April 30th, 2025, 2:54 pm

I think this the first time we have to wait so long for official figures. Also since we had a lower voter turnout than in 2020 and they got the numbers out in the middle of covid but can't now, something seems fishy

Postby hover11 » April 30th, 2025, 3:11 pm

Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Yes she did
Look even redress admit it.....i watched that woman put in some serious work and admired her. Arouca ppl never had good representation before and they finally were about to get the recognition they deserved and threw it away.....anyway enjoy Marvin who telling allya that you eating too much macaroni pie.

Postby hover11 » April 30th, 2025, 3:13 pm

BALLOT BOX BACHANNAL
Supporters of UNC candidate for San Fernando East John Micheal Alibocas today mounted a protest outside his main constituency office in Cocoyea Village, even as a recount of the votes was underway. The protesters are claiming that a ballot box that remained open on election day had compromised the integrity of the election result.
READ MORE ABOUT IT HERE: https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/u ... 8c6e2.html

Postby j.o.e » April 30th, 2025, 3:20 pm

alfa wrote:I think this the first time we have to wait so long for official figures. Also since we had a lower voter turnout than in 2020 and they got the numbers out in the middle of covid but can't now, something seems fishy

Nah official numbers don’t be out so quick in my memory. It’s always after recounts. It’s just the social media instant age making it feel long. Historically if election on a Monday …. Official numbers as in total votes per candidate usually all Thursday in the papers.
Before that we just have seats as declared by parties

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 30th, 2025, 3:22 pm

hover11 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Yes she did
Look even redress admit it.....i watched that woman put in some serious work and admired her. Arouca ppl never had good representation before and they finally were about to get the recognition they deserved and threw it away.....anyway enjoy Marvin who telling allya that you eating too much macaroni pie.

I thought your seat was Camille? Which part you live?

Postby hover11 » April 30th, 2025, 3:25 pm

Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Yes she did

I thought your seat was Camille? Which part you live?
My seat is Camille but I conduct business in five rivers and arouca with my clients I have seen the work that the doctor has done and I have seen the shite Marvin has done. If that's what the ppl want who am I to judge