Best doubles in T&T

Postby MaxPower » November 22nd, 2024, 4:24 pm

Doubles in T&T are too inconsistent and overrated just like all the other local food.

For such an “iconic” food, allyuh can’t get it right?

Imagine someone really hopping on a plane to try doubles for the first time as he suggested only to go by a stall that tastes like crap. This is the image we want?

Allyuh doubles people eh shame? Gosh have some pride and love in your food preparation. Yuh could actually taste the bitterness and the unwillingness in the food.

I went this place in the East recently, off the highway by Omeara and tried ALL three stalls, and ALL were failure ranging from too salty, too sweet and tasteless.

Allyuh good yes

dogg

Re: Best doubles in T&T

Postby dogg » November 22nd, 2024, 5:11 pm

In your opinion, the doubles you grew up eating in Guyana, are they substantially better than ours?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 22nd, 2024, 5:44 pm

What allyuh think about doubles with crispy bara fried on the spot vs regular doubles?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2024, 6:59 pm

MaxPower wrote:Doubles in T&T are too inconsistent and overrated just like all the other local food.

Imagine someone really hopping on a plane to try doubles for the first time as he suggested only to go by a stall that tastes like crap. This is the image we want?

Allyuh doubles people eh shame? Gosh have some pride and love in your food preparation. Yuh could actually taste the bitterness and the unwillingness in the food.

I went this place in the East recently, off the highway by Omeara and tried ALL three stalls, and ALL were failure ranging from too salty, too sweet and tasteless.

Allyuh good yes

You should consider migrating.

Postby paid_influencer » November 22nd, 2024, 7:21 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:What allyuh think about doubles with crispy bara fried on the spot vs regular doubles?

problem with crispy bara is yuh does feel to eat more than one doubles, which not healthy.

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2024, 7:22 pm

MaxPower wrote:Doubles in T&T are too inconsistent and overrated just like all the other local food.

Allyuh good yes

try the vene girl by xtra foods

Postby Dave » November 22nd, 2024, 7:26 pm

Allyuh good yes

You should consider migrating.
Ohh guuuddddd!
I have a contribution to the cause.

Postby MaxPower » November 22nd, 2024, 7:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You should consider migrating.

Just as the many others who are no longer tolerating this country and what it has to offer.

niso

Postby niso » November 22nd, 2024, 11:28 pm

Mohammed's doubles in aranguez tastes good but opens in the afternoon

Postby MaxPower » November 23rd, 2024, 6:03 am

niso wrote:Mohammed's doubles in aranguez tastes good but opens in the afternoon

Thanks, will check them out.

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2024, 6:37 am

the guyanese guy by mapau on ariapita avenue is best there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 23rd, 2024, 9:11 am

Red cap by the old airport still have his customers although is $8. I usually buy because I know where it's being prepared. Place is extra clean!

Postby MaxPower » November 23rd, 2024, 2:08 pm

dogg wrote:In your opinion, the doubles you grew up eating in Guyana, are they substantially better than ours?

O skont boddy.

You have money to even go Guyana?

Save yuh money na and stop moving like a sufferer.

Its a descent runaway to go even if its for the day.

You get through though with the US Visa or still ketching your ass to prove ties?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 23rd, 2024, 2:22 pm

Trinis always insecure about USA, Canada etc. Nowadays they insecure about Guyana.

dogg

Postby dogg » November 28th, 2024, 12:29 pm

dogg wrote:In your opinion, the doubles you grew up eating in Guyana, are they substantially better than ours?

O skont boddy.

You have money to even go Guyana?

Save yuh money na and stop moving like a sufferer.

Its a descent runaway to go even if its for the day.

You get through though with the US Visa or still ketching your ass to prove ties?

Babbu, is how long now you coming here to complain you can't get a US visa. I don't know what to tell you. For us Trinis, US visas are fairly easy to get. I dunno. maybe you need to get a proper job. Is how long you could go on cutting up meat by Rodney's supermarket? Maybe go back to Guyana and try from there?

Postby timelapse » November 28th, 2024, 5:35 pm

MAx is a Guyanese?
And NOT the owner of a minimart?
What kinda heresy is this?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 29th, 2024, 5:15 am

niso wrote:Mohammed's doubles in aranguez tastes good but opens in the afternoon

not AF. since HD stop selling in the spot everyone who come after taste like KAKA. mohammed should sell that doubles for $3. i sure you can see tru the bara but when you other choice is chatterbox or spanish doubles you will settle for the least of the worst.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 29th, 2024, 5:18 am

How d Fuq you can grow u eating guyanese doubles when doubles now selling in guyana only a few years now. mustbe like 2-3 years now. before that was egg ball. $500 guyanese for a doubles in guyana which is about $16 TT

Postby SR » November 29th, 2024, 6:55 am

Bara nation in curepe opposite caps bar bara does be reel good. Channa eh all that

dogg

Postby dogg » November 29th, 2024, 10:14 am

screwbash wrote:

not AF. since HD stop selling in the spot everyone who come after taste like KAKA. mohammed should sell that doubles for $3. i sure you can see tru the bara but when you other choice is chatterbox or spanish doubles you will settle for the least of the worst.

Didn't Spanish die a half-decade ago?

The van in outside food basket in champ fleurs is consistently decent. They have kuchela, so that's always a plus in my book!!!

I was in the mood for hot doubles with hot roast pepper by another vendor yesterday. When he start making it and I tell im heavy on the roast, he come with - bredz pepper gone up so he ent make roast today!!! Talk about disappointment!!

dogg

Postby dogg » November 29th, 2024, 10:16 am

timelapse wrote:MAx is a Guyanese?
And NOT the owner of a minimart?
What kinda heresy is this?

yeah. is true. You never notice how he refers to us as YOU Trinis?

Its a sad existence for him. Stuck illegally in TT for years.

Can't even fly back home cuz somebody say here that he on a watch list.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 27th, 2025, 8:20 am

Mr knock ah pot doubles 3 location im el socorro is the closest best doubles at this time. Plenty sauces from.coconut chutney to roast pepper an no spanish. Look trouble coming.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 27th, 2025, 9:39 am

Why allyuh does equate sauces and topping to how good the doubles is?

A good doubles should stand on it own IMO.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 27th, 2025, 9:49 am

Yes.^

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2025, 10:12 am

the roas pepper and million type chutney vendors are not pleased

*KRONIK* wrote:Why allyuh does equate sauces and topping to how good the doubles is?

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2025, 10:18 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Why allyuh does equate sauces and topping to how good the doubles is?

Yuh know the ting self.

Me, a good doubles is clear cut. Good thin soft bara, proper channa and the pepper to enhance the taste.

All you hadda say is without, slight, medium or heavy……talk done.

This kinda assness with cucumber and “no sweet” and kutchela n what not….keeping back the line man.

Just my opinion eh, everybody taste and variety different.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 27th, 2025, 12:07 pm

I agree, I does only put shado beni, pepper, channa and bara nothing else. Cucumber makes the doubles soggy and adds no extra taste, sweet sauce is always horrible tasting in the doubles and all the other chutneys too. Plain and simple and if it aint tasting good with that forget about adding all the other things to it.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 29th, 2025, 4:46 pm

DMan7 wrote:I agree, I does only put shado beni, pepper, channa and bara nothing else. Cucumber makes the doubles soggy and adds no extra taste, sweet sauce is always horrible tasting in the doubles and all the other chutneys too. Plain and simple and if it aint tasting good with that forget about adding all the other things to it.

When i looking to eat a kyat it mist be clean shaven an washed but i guess u like it bushy an natural scent an smell.

matix

Postby matix » April 29th, 2025, 4:51 pm

screwbash wrote:
DMan7 wrote:I agree, I does only put shado beni, pepper, channa and bara nothing else. Cucumber makes the doubles soggy and adds no extra taste, sweet sauce is always horrible tasting in the doubles and all the other chutneys too. Plain and simple and if it aint tasting good with that forget about adding all the other things to it.

When i looking to eat a kyat it mist be clean shaven an washed but i guess u like it bushy an natural scent an smell.

Postby MaxPower » April 29th, 2025, 5:02 pm

Screws,

It mussss be like that?

You never eat out a ting after she had a long day? Wam bai?

Doh act like yuh breath and cocolooks always hundred na or yuh have monkey butt scent and smelly break.

I could understand your POV from a hygiene perspective, but when you mix sex and chemistry….showering is the least of our worries. We hadda bathe at some point, and we will….just sometimes the sexual connection can’t wait for that.

Yuh knowww if you liming with the boys whole day and ending up meeting a chick who want to give you a lil head right there and then yuh wont refuse…….wait, would you??