Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby hover11 » April 20th, 2025, 10:20 am

All I know is if PNM wins again, groceries prices will rise and wages will remain the same then they will throw up their hands and say they can't do anything look. If you accustom eating two banana eat one.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 20th, 2025, 10:32 am

paid_influencer wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:i give my kid an allowance

does that mean I have a shortage of money

what im getting at is trinidad doesn't have enough foreign reserves or income to maintain our supposed "fixed" exchange rate. It is going to collapse spectacularly so in soon order
So businesses and adult Bajans hold equivalency to your kid and not say to free markets?

Cool!!

That is up to Bajans and their government. But it is essentially what the relationship is in that country as far as "free markets".

https://www.centralbank.org.bb/faqs/exc ... ntrol-faqs

oddly enough on that page,

There is no prohibition on any foreign CURRENCY into Barbados. Remember, however, that if you are a resident, you should surrender as soon as possible, any foreign CURRENCY which you may bring back from abroad to an Authorised Dealer for exchange into Barbados dollars. The exception to this relates to persons holding foreign currency accounts.

The Central Banks of Jamaica and Guyana have requested that under no circumstances should Jamaica and Guyana CURRENCY notes be encashed outside of their respective territories. E.C. dollar notes are freely exchanged by Authorised Dealers. It should also be noted that currency notes of Trinidad & Tobago are not currently exchanged by Authorised Dealers in Barbados.

that part in bold, could you explain that part?

We have a fixed exchange rate after all, the Minister of Finance said so !!!
That bolded part means our currency is sheit.

Postby paid_influencer » April 20th, 2025, 10:43 am

hover11 wrote:All I know is if PNM wins again, groceries prices will rise and wages will remain the same then they will throw up their hands and say they can't do anything look. If you accustom eating two banana eat one.

when last you eat macaroni pie and ham bai

i doh even have a coal pot

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2025, 11:25 am

watch all the movies you can now

Postby bluefete » April 20th, 2025, 11:31 am

Excellent prices at Better Deal this morning.

3/ 1L Pulpy Orange "juice" for $18. Xtra Foods had them $10 for 1L.

6 packs Bess Coconut powder - $20.00. Food basket had them $5. and $6 for one a few days ago.

Matouks green pigeon peas - 2 tins / $20.

3 tins Miran corn in can - $18.99

Fruta juice (yes, I know) - 3 /1L packs for $25

And so the story goes.

I did not see my watermelon people this morning outside Lok Jack but there was another older couple there selling watermelons -the man was smoking weed - HUGE TURNOFF.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 20th, 2025, 12:27 pm

Uncle blues them need to hire you at the supermarket association bai, you does do rel grocery hopping.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 21st, 2025, 6:37 am

bluefete wrote:Excellent prices at Better Deal this morning.

6 packs Bess Coconut powder - $20.00. Food basket had them $5. and $6 for one a few days ago.

And so the story goes.

I did not see my watermelon people this morning outside Lok Jack but there was another older couple there selling watermelons -the man was smoking weed - HUGE TURNOFF.

You all does check the expiry/best before dates on these so called “deals” before you buy?

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2025, 8:27 am

DMan7 wrote:Uncle blues them need to hire you at the supermarket association bai, you does do rel grocery hopping.

When yuh old like me, you are always looking to save a $1.00 especially in the grocery.

Rory Phoulorie wrote:You all does check the expiry/best before dates on these so called “deals” before you buy?

Close to expiry dates would sell as BOGO. I always buy BOGO if I get it because I save a lot of money. Butter, cheese for example could "expire" on 22/4 and I would take it and put it straight in the fridge until I am ready to use it 1 year later!

Better Deal just had good prices on their stuff when I went yesterday. I saved a lot of money. Very few BOGO.

Postby MaxPower » April 21st, 2025, 10:32 am

Well done blues.

Admire the ambition to save.

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2025, 3:46 pm

MaxPower wrote:Well done blues.

Max. that is how I was raised.

I used to walk to school to save the passage (0 .10c and 0.25c back in those days) to either invest or buy "tambran". LOl.

Postby Dave » April 21st, 2025, 5:17 pm

bluefete wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Well done blues.

Max. that is how I was raised.

I used to walk to school to save the passage (0 .10c and 0.25c back in those days) to either invest or buy "tambran". LOl.
Alot of us grew up like that.
Why must I not safe guard my monetary assets?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 22nd, 2025, 11:33 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

And so the story goes.

You all does check the expiry/best before dates on these so called “deals” before you buy?

Ex tra foods love to hit your close to expired stuff with their "deals". Any time you see stuff selling in twos, know it gonna expire soon.

dogg

Postby dogg » April 22nd, 2025, 11:37 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

And so the story goes.

Ex tra foods love to hit your close to expired stuff with their "deals". Any time you see stuff selling in twos, know it gonna expire soon.

Errr...
how is this different from any other supermarket anywhere else in the world?

dogg

Postby dogg » April 22nd, 2025, 11:42 am

Yeah man, i'm a regular Better Deals patron
The other day they had a close to expiry on Lindt chocolate truffles - $20 for 2 packs. them thing usually go for $70-90 EACH. I make my name!!
And around xmas time there were some big pork bb back ribs for $50 a slab! ALways something there.

And so the story goes.

Postby bluefete » April 22nd, 2025, 3:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ex tra foods love to hit your close to expired stuff with their "deals". Any time you see stuff selling in twos, know it gonna expire soon.

Why you coming here with your "stush" self? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Just because the expiry date passes does not mean it spoils.

Postby bluefete » April 22nd, 2025, 3:29 pm

I could well imagine. A couple months ago Pennywise had a sale on Lindt chocolates in the tin. It was $100. I made my name as well!

dogg wrote:Yeah man, i'm a regular Better Deals patron
The other day they had a close to expiry on Lindt chocolate truffles - $20 for 2 packs. them thing usually go for $70-90 EACH. I make my name!!
And around xmas time there were some big pork bb back ribs for $50 a slab! ALways something there.

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2025, 3:54 pm

yuh better buy some insulin in the pennywise pharmacy to go too

bluefete wrote:I could well imagine. A couple months ago Pennywise had a sale on Lindt chocolates in the tin. It was $100. I made my name as well!

dogg wrote:Yeah man, i'm a regular Better Deals patron

Postby redmanjp » April 22nd, 2025, 4:41 pm

bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ex tra foods love to hit your close to expired stuff with their "deals". Any time you see stuff selling in twos, know it gonna expire soon.

Why you coming here with your "stush" self? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Just because the expiry date passes does not mean it spoils.

not pass, close to - they can't sell it once it pass

dogg

Postby dogg » April 25th, 2025, 9:59 am

great news for pork lovers!

China canceled 12,000 metric tons of United States pork shipments amid a high-stakes trade standoff between the superpowers, according to data released Thursday.

We going to get some cheap pork soon!!! :D

Postby timelapse » April 25th, 2025, 10:43 am

dogg wrote:great news for pork lovers!

China canceled 12,000 metric tons of United States pork shipments amid a high-stakes trade standoff between the superpowers, according to data released Thursday.

I can see it now...
Colm will pass a new law to tax pork in support of our Muslim and Jewish brothers and sisters....

Postby hover11 » April 25th, 2025, 10:44 am

timelapse wrote:

I can see it now...
Colm will pass a new law to tax pork in support of our Muslim and Jewish brothers and sisters....
Dhanpaul you mean but Imbert 2.0 same thing nonetheless

Postby timelapse » April 25th, 2025, 2:15 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

I can see it now...
Dhanpaul you mean but Imbert 2.0 same thing nonetheless

Colm has the ability to extort taxes from stone. I put nothing past him

Postby Dizzy28 » April 25th, 2025, 3:03 pm

Pork is probably one of the few food items we self sufficient in.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2025, 8:50 am

Market prices pretty decent this morning

Baigan: 5lb for $15
Tomatoes : 3lb for $20
Cucumber : 4lb for $20
Pimento: 1lb for $20
Lettuce : from $5 go up
Water cress: $7
Melon:1lb for $3

Postby bluefete » April 26th, 2025, 1:29 pm

Watermelon selling by Lok Jack - $1.99/lb today - 1st vendor after the roundabout. The other one lower down was selling $3.99/lb.

FoodBasket:

Moo Chocolate Milk - 1L - BOGO - $27.00
Lays BBQ Chips - BOGO - $28.95
Small Solo - case of 24/$43.95

Errrm, I not sure if that Solo price remained the same after I passed through. I took a case and the register put up $60.00. I stopped the cashier one time. You ALWAYS have to check the register with their pricing. Cashier went and eventually came back after almost 10 minutes, with the sign, so I got it for $43.94. Not sure if she put back the sign after. LOL.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 26th, 2025, 5:31 pm

bluefete wrote:Watermelon selling by Lok Jack - $1.99/lb today - 1st vendor after the roundabout. The other one lower down was selling $3.99/lb.

FoodBasket:

Moo Chocolate Milk - 1L - BOGO - $27.00
Lays BBQ Chips - BOGO - $28.95
Small Solo - case of 24/$43.95

Errrm, I not sure if that Solo price remained the same after I passed through. I took a case and the register put up $60.00. I stopped the cashier one time. You ALWAYS have to check the register with their pricing. Cashier went and eventually came back after almost 10 minutes, with the sign, so I got it for $43.94. Not sure if she put back the sign after. LOL.
Food basket on gulf view link, recently opened, same shady kinda ting... Bright ideas that open around Xmas time, I think it was 'bella branch, mums got the same style of nonsense; see a price on the shelf, scan overpriced at the checkout

Postby paid_influencer » April 26th, 2025, 5:44 pm

massy has the solution to that:

don't put price tags and let ppl guess

Postby bluefete » April 27th, 2025, 10:12 am

Me eh no big sawatee so:

Small oranges in the market today - I got 19 for $20. Real sweeeet. Things others would push up their noses at I real happy to get.
Also Tomatoes - 3lbs/$18.

Food Basket - the Solo is still $43.95 but make sure that is the price in the register.

X-Tra Foods: - 3 Value Disinfectant - $20. But you have to be careful with their pricing.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 27th, 2025, 12:05 pm

bluefete wrote:Me eh no big sawatee so:

Small oranges in the market today - I got 19 for $20. Real sweeeet. Things others would push up their noses at I real happy to get.

Food Basket - the Solo is still $43.95 but make sure that is the price in the register.

X-Tra Foods: - 3 Value Disinfectant - $20. But you have to be careful with their pricing.

Which market is this?

Postby bluefete » April 27th, 2025, 12:58 pm

DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:Me eh no big sawatee so:

Which market is this?

Tunapuna.