Re: Lafast and BYD

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2025, 9:02 am

guess i was far off lol

i am seeing loads of them electric bimmers on the road
can spot them a mile away with the cheap looking plastic front grill which replace radiator grill

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^
BYD Shark 6 4x4
PHEV - Plugin Hybrid
$525,000.00

It's listed in the new vehicle prices thread
viewtopic.php?t=237573

Postby mero » April 16th, 2025, 9:38 am

eliteauto wrote:Price depending, this might be the best pickup option for those looking at a lifestyle vehicle vs a workhorse
It could peel out?

Postby j.o.e » April 16th, 2025, 10:09 am

I feel like pricing BYD so high is a big mistake on Lafast part but who am I to say that.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 16th, 2025, 12:27 pm

j.o.e wrote:I feel like pricing BYD so high is a big mistake on Lafast part but who am I to say that.
Once the ppl with money and those who need the newest car on the block have their bite of the pie they will struggle to make sales thereafter. The pricing is just ridiculous.

Unless they want to keep it premium for whatever reason.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2025, 12:30 pm

all commodities are like that
eventually the market decides

Postby j.o.e » April 16th, 2025, 12:35 pm

j.o.e wrote:I feel like pricing BYD so high is a big mistake on Lafast part but who am I to say that.
Once the ppl with money and those who need the newest car on the block have their bite of the pie they will struggle to make sales thereafter. The pricing is just ridiculous.

Unless they want to keep it premium for whatever reason.

Yea but I feel the people who have the money and want an electric car not gonna buy a BYD…. Most at least. They’ll go for the premium badges they’re accustomed to even if they want electric.
BYD should be trying to get the upper middle class Kia, Hyundai, Mazda etc buyer

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2025, 1:06 pm

well lafast is also dealer for bmw
also seeing a lot of volvo ev

Postby j.o.e » April 16th, 2025, 1:15 pm

pugboy wrote:well lafast is also dealer for bmw

It might be selling but also factor in it’s the option of company vehicle for upper management at Massy group . I have two friends who got EV or Hybrid as their company vehicle.
Based on the size of the company that could be a lot of vehicles ….. can’t confirm.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 16th, 2025, 2:34 pm

I thought the BYD's supposed to be 16K USD? What happened? How is the prices soo high, those vehicles should be around 150K TTD max.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » April 16th, 2025, 3:14 pm

DMan7 wrote:I thought the BYD's supposed to be 16K USD? What happened? How is the prices soo high, those vehicles should be around 150K TTD max.
The removal of taxes was never to pass on the savings to end consumers. It was to allow dealerships to increase profit margins.
I cannot see how a vehicle with exemptions can be comparable to a vehicle that is subject to full MVT/VAT/Customs.
And the shark 6 is a 1.5 engine so it's poised to benefit from the hybrid exemptions.
*Awaits post removal*

Postby eliteauto » April 16th, 2025, 5:04 pm

mero wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Price depending, this might be the best pickup option for those looking at a lifestyle vehicle vs a workhorse
It could peel out?

Yuh hadda giddem current

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2025, 5:22 pm

anybody know how the ev prices in barbados are compared to non ev over there?
barbados has had plenty ev penetration due to their high fuel prices
curious to know if the dealers over there doing the same ripoff schemes
granted the ev they selling there are small end models like leaf

Postby gastly369 » April 16th, 2025, 6:22 pm

Here ting for we market $7800usd

Or locally about $200,000ttd

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 17th, 2025, 10:18 am

The Volvo EX30 full electric SUV is $299,000. Seeing quite a lot on the road.

Screenshot 2025-04-17 at 10.17.34.png

Screenshot 2025-04-17 at 10.17.51.png

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2025, 10:42 am

I like the minimalism of that Volvo's interior

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 17th, 2025, 11:07 am

eliteauto wrote:I like the minimalism of that Volvo's interior

agreed - that's a trend in EVs
The shifter is gone in many new cars - eventually they will remove the steering wheel and pedals too

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2025, 2:38 pm

As we talking electric, got driven in a Taycan Turbo GT yesterday... damn that thing is scary fast. It was unbelievable

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2025, 2:59 pm

Gladiator wrote:As we talking electric, got driven in a Taycan Turbo GT yesterday... damn that thing is scary fast. It was unbelievable
Goals yes

I see one touch the streets up my side PEJ plates

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2025, 4:18 pm

tmall boss have one, i sure he does come by your side round the corner

*KRONIK* wrote:
Gladiator wrote:As we talking electric, got driven in a Taycan Turbo GT yesterday... damn that thing is scary fast. It was unbelievable
Goals yes

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2025, 9:41 pm

pugboy wrote:tmall boss have one, i sure he does come by your side round the corner

*KRONIK* wrote:
Goals yes

*gasps

I never seen it

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2025, 9:55 pm

they live in the branch by caroni lic office
that have a fancy bimmer too

*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:tmall boss have one, i sure he does come by your side round the corner

*KRONIK* wrote:
Goals yes

*gasps

I never seen it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2025, 10:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:BYD Shark pickup in T&T

Heavy T license needed

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2025, 7:28 am

$4500 is the word from ranger drivers

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:BYD Shark pickup in T&T

Heavy T license needed

snowman

Postby snowman » April 25th, 2025, 10:02 pm

The Volvo EX30 full electric SUV is $299,000. Seeing quite a lot on the road.

Screenshot 2025-04-17 at 10.17.34.png

Screenshot 2025-04-17 at 10.17.51.png
This is an amazing price BTW.

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2025, 1:07 am

PMV

Poor Man Volvo

Postby pugboy » April 26th, 2025, 9:25 am

so how much would equiv byd to that volvo cost?

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » April 26th, 2025, 12:59 pm

pugboy wrote:so how much would equiv byd to that volvo cost?

think that would be the yuan plus at around the same price

edit: i also took in carwow's review of the volvo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5umdHj0o1B8

same issue that steered (heh) me away from the teslas - everything done through the center display. i like the byd cars because they managed to strike a balance where minimalism is concerned

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 26th, 2025, 4:51 pm

My only problem now is the price. Dealers are taking advantage of us and not passing on the lower taxes

Postby pugboy » April 26th, 2025, 5:28 pm

thats what you call a capitalist system

PariaMan wrote:My only problem now is the price. Dealers are taking advantage of us and not passing on the lower taxes

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » April 26th, 2025, 6:46 pm

idk how much of that is capitalism vs lack of regulation and lack of competition.

at least the prices are consistent with the rest of the region (not that i think it's fair overall)

good thing yall aint see BYD prices in singapore, you might get a heart attack