Re: Pricesmart jvc tv

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2025, 10:50 pm

are the jvc remotes really different between the tvs
and incompatible?

one thing with lg samsung and tcl the same remote working with all old and new

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:My experience with Pricemart TVs JVC dust far is good pic two 32" (2 years service-$1299 for 1) doing CCTV and on mostly 24 hours no issue.

Have a 50" (1 year- $2400) and 58" (2 months - $2699)) both performing well dust far no regrets at the price it is easy to replace

Addicted

Postby Addicted » February 6th, 2025, 1:06 am

Much appreciated feedback... so it's a hit and miss with jvc.. extended warranty at courts is the better option.. seeing circuit zone have some tvs as well .. are these new tvs coming from south or from usa

Addicted

Postby Addicted » February 6th, 2025, 1:23 am

paid_influencer wrote:there is no company called "jvc" that makes televisions.
all them "jvc" televisions is chinese companies that have licensed the name
there are actually a few different chinese companies that make "jvc" stuff
the quality is really hit or miss because you don't know who made the television "jvc" just means chinese company manufactured television

getting remotes for them is an issue since what works on one model "jvc" might not work on the other "jvc" models, so it hit or miss

The suggestion popular on the forum is to buy a TV from courts with their longest extended wararnty so when it mash up you could get it replaced. TCL is a well known international brand and I see their stuff on rtings and so on and it is good review

make sure you put an automatric voltage regulator (AVR) on whichever tv you buy. because to make them TV now real cheap they hae to cheapest on parts and them thing like they does cyar hold out with the kind of electricity infrastructure we have here.

whichever tv you go protip is to calibrate it. first turn off set it to movie or similar mode, then turn off all the motion and color processing crap, all the crap off. then set the color temperature to warm or warm 2. then adhust the brightness and contrast if you have test patterns. you could also ballpark the white balance if you have experience. if you have a colorimeter you could really dial it in. SONY does come pretty good out the box but plenty of the other brands is a lil work to get it dialed in to get people looking normal and not purple or blue or red or some crap. buy SONY

Thank you.. I have never set the color temperature on a tv

Postby wagonrunner » February 6th, 2025, 1:29 am

oldest pricesmart JVC 50' maybe going on 4 or 5 years.
had little issues. but factory resetting it and letting it update again fixed them.
still in daily use. not 14 hours a day. but still does what it should.

Postby MaxPower » February 6th, 2025, 2:49 am

hover11 wrote:Standards and Courts want nothing with Furniture Plus.They have great products, great prices and excellent customer service.

Agree Jason.

Courts also have this annoying delivery system where the info has to go the warehouse an appointment date scheduled which makes same day delivery impossible even jf you have your own transport.

Furniture Plus is really reasonable and hassle free returns.

Check out FP in El Socorro, ask for Vanessa.

Postby MaxPower » February 6th, 2025, 2:51 am

pugboy wrote:jvc are junk
the best tv on the market are tcl

TCL rel good?

Never tried

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2025, 5:42 am

yeah courts warehouse system is a nuisance if you want to collect yourself after buying online
however sometimes they tell you that you could pickup at a branch

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2025, 5:51 am

DMan7 wrote:Does courts honor this extended warranty?
Yes without issue or question.

And the warranty is on the value of $$ you paid initially when you purchased.

So if you buy a 50 inch TV this year for $5000

And in 2 years your tv conk out and they tell you choose a new one....you get to choose a item valued $5000 (or you can also pay the balance for a higher item)
And 2 years from now a 65 or 70 or 80 inch TV might be a $5000....and then you just pay again to start over the extended warranty on the new tv

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2025, 6:17 am

courts is a efficient financing machine
they don’t care what the product is
at the end of the day it’s about profits and interest % made over $$$

Chimera wrote:
Yes without issue or question.

And the warranty is on the value of $$ you paid initially when you purchased.

So if you buy a 50 inch TV this year for $5000

And in 2 years your tv conk out and they tell you choose a new one....you get to choose a item valued $5000 (or you can also pay the balance for a higher item)
And 2 years from now a 65 or 70 or 80 inch TV might be a $5000....and then you just pay again to start over the extended warranty on the new tv

Postby mero » February 6th, 2025, 9:00 am

pugboy wrote:jvc are junk
the best tv on the market are tcl

TCL rel good?

Never tried
Not all TCLs are good Tvs just like not all Samsungs are good.

If u looking for quality and entertainment purposes, don't look beneath the q7/qm7 series, they are mini led.

Postby gastly369 » February 6th, 2025, 10:17 am

Courts had 50% off all tvs black Friday gone... Samsung 65" UHD 4k was sold for $2899

Also their extended warranty works.. Friend had a old 40"tcl that cap out few weeks before his extended warranty 3years...same day got to take a new TV as replacement since they didn't have that model around again endup getting the 43" one

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 6th, 2025, 3:30 pm

Addicted wrote:Fellow tuners can anyone give some advice on pricesmart jvc 50+ tvs.. do they last more than 2 years.. any problems or any alternative places for buying any brand 50+ tvs.. thanks in advance

I have a 50 inch from about 3 years ago - no issue
and have a 550r 60 inch year plus and no issue

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 6th, 2025, 4:57 pm

Without hesitation

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2025, 9:12 pm

what about pricesmart warranty?

i bought a returned item pressure washer from them xmas time and they told me it has same 6month warranty like new and could return no questions 30days

Addicted

Postby Addicted » February 7th, 2025, 9:20 pm

Thanks for your input.. seeing standards have a warehouse sale tomorrow and Sunday 50" Samsung 3299 and 55 for 3799..

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » February 8th, 2025, 1:15 pm

Got a JVC TV which lasted only 1.5yrs. I purchased another one and over a year later, it still works. Hopefully it lasts. We have a Hitachi going on 8 years and a Sony on 7. Was told that JVC and Hitachi are Chinese junk. Maybe when those fail eventually I'll stick to Sony, LG and Samsung. Whatever happened to Sharp and Toshiba? Don't see those again.

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2025, 2:08 pm

those hitachi and sony would be when they were japanese companies

nowadays the japanese name may have been bought over and is now a disposable item meant to last a few yrs max

Tezzadude wrote:Got a JVC TV which lasted only 1.5yrs. I purchased another one and over a year later, it still works. Hopefully it lasts. We have a Hitachi going on 8 years and a Sony on 7. Was told that JVC and Hitachi are Chinese junk. Maybe when those fail eventually I'll stick to Sony, LG and Samsung. Whatever happened to Sharp and Toshiba? Don't see those again.