T&T declares State of Emergency 2024/2025

Will Rowley/Hinds SoE be effective in curbing Crime?

Yes
3%
No
68%
Great is the PNM and it shall prevail
30%

Total votes: 37

Re: T&T declares State of Emergency 2024/2025

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2025, 1:02 pm

Debate not needed, Just keep SoE in place for a year
Last edited by zoom rader on January 7th, 2025, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » January 7th, 2025, 1:03 pm

So we deporting the illegals yet?

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2025, 1:05 pm

matr1x wrote:So we deporting the illegals yet?

I trying to have immigration deport Max back to Berbice

Postby MaxPower » January 7th, 2025, 1:13 pm

We have more important issues to focus on.

Postby matr1x » January 7th, 2025, 1:29 pm

Wrong. If we had been stricter with Islamic terror, we would not be having the crime situation now.

Weeding out the venes will send a clear message that we have laws and those need to be respected. Get out and apply before stepping onto Trinidad soil

Postby alfa » January 7th, 2025, 1:33 pm

zoom rader wrote:Debate not needed, Just keep SoE in place for a year

I agree but keep it in the hot spot areas, seems to be working so far as the murder rate down. Ban gel blaster in those areas to

Postby MaxPower » January 7th, 2025, 2:03 pm

matr1x wrote:

Wrong. If we had been stricter with Islamic terror, we would not be having the crime situation now.

Weeding out the venes will send a clear message that we have laws and those need to be respected. Get out and apply before stepping onto Trinidad soil

When you specify Islamic terror, are you referring to the 1990 coup?

Postby hover11 » January 7th, 2025, 2:27 pm

alfa wrote:

I agree but keep it in the hot spot areas, seems to be working so far as the murder rate down. Ban gel blaster in those areas to
I never understood the crap Stuart young was tryna feed when he said limited SoEs in certain areas was UNCONSTITUTIONAL, how is that so when Jamaica has been doing such for years.......what part of the constitution explicitly states that is not possible and like us those stupid reporters ate it up without question. Just say you don't want to upset your core voter base during an election year , nobody could be vex at you for talking the truth.

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby matr1x » January 7th, 2025, 3:41 pm

matr1x wrote:

When you specify Islamic terror, are you referring to the 1990 coup?

Precisely. After that, crime went haywire. Gang warfare went into overdrive

Postby hover11 » January 7th, 2025, 4:01 pm

mero wrote:
death365 wrote:ok so i iz a UNC (and ah Uncle too :)) i have been a member/ financial member since more or less its creation.

Imagine posting this in 2025.

Username checks out
Ppl like you making this country in mess shame on u.....pnm till I dead and suffering

Postby redmanjp » January 7th, 2025, 4:34 pm

Constitution says 6 months max- and that's with 2 parliamentary approvals. meaning Opposition has to agree.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 7th, 2025, 4:36 pm

After 15 days, a simple majority to get 3 months extension

Then, a special majority for an additional 3 months

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2025, 4:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Constitution says 6 months max- and that's with 2 parliamentary approvals. meaning Opposition has to agree.
Extend it,

Blackmen need to saved

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 7th, 2025, 5:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Seeing that they've been calling for it for a while, I'll be surprised if they don't.

Unless they opposing for opposing sake.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 7th, 2025, 5:07 pm

Depends on if we are getting results and if people constitutional rights are being respected.

I very much doubt that the PNM will want to go six months

If by then they can not meet their objectives whats the sense, especially with no curfew .

Postby paid_influencer » January 7th, 2025, 6:04 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Police Service
January 7th, 2025

MEDIA RELEASE

SD Officers Arrest Five

Southern Division officers arrested five individuals, seized a firearm with a quantity of ammunition and cannabis, during an operation conducted in the division on 6th January 2025.

The exercise, which took place between 12:00 noon and 4:00 p.m. across the division, was coordinated by Snr. Supt. Kirk, Supt. Singh, Asp. Singh, and Insp. Wilkinson. During the operation, the team searched a vehicle on Union Road, Marabella, which was occupied by three men. The search uncovered a Taurus pistol with two rounds of .45 ammunition.

The occupants, a 22-year-old man from Vistabella, a 26-year-old man from St. Mary’s Village, and a 32-year-old man from Pleasantville, were arrested in connection with the discovery and are expected to be charged accordingly.

Officers also arrested a 32-year-old man from Frederick Street, Marabella, for possession of 98 grams of cannabis, and a 27-year-old man from Gulf View, La Romaine, for possession of an offensive weapon.

Investigations into these matters are ongoing.
Corporate Communications Unit
January 7th, 2025

SoE working

offensive weapon is a switchblade or taser or pepper spray or something?

Postby sMASH » January 7th, 2025, 7:14 pm

PariaMan wrote:Depends on if we are getting results and if people constitutional rights are being respected.

I very much doubt that the PNM will want to go six months

If by then they can not meet their objectives whats the sense, especially with no curfew .
What are the metrics to determine 'success'?
As far as they say, 1 gun is a success.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 7th, 2025, 7:30 pm

I think it will last three months and that will be that

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2025, 7:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Trinidad and Tobago Police Service
January 7th, 2025

MEDIA RELEASE

SD Officers Arrest Five

Southern Division officers arrested five individuals, seized a firearm with a quantity of ammunition and cannabis, during an operation conducted in the division on 6th January 2025.

The exercise, which took place between 12:00 noon and 4:00 p.m. across the division, was coordinated by Snr. Supt. Kirk, Supt. Singh, Asp. Singh, and Insp. Wilkinson. During the operation, the team searched a vehicle on Union Road, Marabella, which was occupied by three men. The search uncovered a Taurus pistol with two rounds of .45 ammunition.

The occupants, a 22-year-old man from Vistabella, a 26-year-old man from St. Mary’s Village, and a 32-year-old man from Pleasantville, were arrested in connection with the discovery and are expected to be charged accordingly.

Officers also arrested a 32-year-old man from Frederick Street, Marabella, for possession of 98 grams of cannabis, and a 27-year-old man from Gulf View, La Romaine, for possession of an offensive weapon.

Investigations into these matters are ongoing.
January 7th, 2025

SoE working

offensive weapon is a switchblade or taser or pepper spray or something?
Trinidad needs a year of SoE to purge these misfits

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2025, 7:50 pm

PariaMan wrote:I think it will last three months and that will be that
1 year.

PNM criminals need to understand what time it is.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 7th, 2025, 7:58 pm

UNC will have to support any extension over 3 months

That will never happen

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 8th, 2025, 10:37 am

Murder rate cut in half already!

Well done PM Stuart

Postby hover11 » January 8th, 2025, 10:55 am

Forget the nine 9 years of bloodshed at least they finally did something during an election year

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 8th, 2025, 2:10 pm

hover11 wrote:Forget the nine 9 years of bloodshed at least they finally did something during an election year

Nah it's because Stuart in charge now, that's why crime dropping

Postby redmanjp » January 8th, 2025, 4:58 pm

increased road block, no warrant needed for searches of even private premises, no bail if charged- this is what keeping it low right now.

so that would be the rate till the SOE end 3 months from now. after that we go see- the post-SOE rate could still be kept relatively low IF and only if TTPS able to find plenty guns & ammunition and the gangs have a shortage as a result.

Postby hover11 » January 8th, 2025, 5:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:increased road block, no warrant needed for searches of even private premises, no bail if charged- this is what keeping it low right now.

so that would be the rate till the SOE end 3 months from now. after that we go see- the post-SOE rate could still be kept relatively low IF and only if TTPS able to find plenty guns & ammunition and the gangs have a shortage as a result.
Exactly, what's the plan after the SOE has expired? Do they have one or is it for theatrics and then back to business as usual. Crime must be low if there is more police visible and no bail. It come like when you in school, ofc you will behave yourself if you see the teacher coming. The question is what crime plan if any are they planning to implement after the SOE so we don't a repeat of 600 murders this year

Postby paid_influencer » January 8th, 2025, 6:13 pm

while allyuh ole talking, Erla wokking

January 8th, 2025
MEDIA RELEASE
Cannabis and Firearms Seized in Western Division
An anti-crime exercise in the Western Division (WDTF) resulted in seizure of cannabis and firearm.
On Monday, January 6, 2025, from 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m., a major anti-crime exercise was conducted in the Western Division as part of ongoing efforts to combat criminal activity. At approximately 3:45 p.m., officers conducted a search of an empty lot at Hillaire Street, Diego Martin, where a white plastic bag containing 2170.3 grams of cannabis was discovered.
Additionally, officers then moved to a forested area between North West Drive and Spring Drive in Patna Village, Diego Martin. At around 5:00 p.m., a black plastic bag was found, containing an A.R platform FM 9 pistol and a magazine holding three rounds of 9mm ammunition. Also, at 5:05 p.m., officers uncovered a Glock pistol, fitted with a magazine containing 12 rounds of 9mm ammunition, wrapped in a burgundy-coloured jersey.
The exercise was sanctioned by Ag/Snr Superintendent Williams, and included members of the Western Division Task Force, alongside the Canine Unit.
The Western Division Task Force continues its proactive approach to tackling crime and urges members of the public to report any suspicious activity to the authorities.
January 8th, 2025
END

January 8th, 2025
MEDIA RELEASE
Two Suspects Held, Large Cash Seizure Made in Tacarigua
Two suspects were arrested and quantities of US and TT currencies seized, by officers of the Arouca Criminal Investigations Unit, the Special Investigations Unit and the Inter-Agency Task Force, during a State of Emergency operation, conducted in the Tacarigua district, early yesterday morning.
Officers conducted the intelligence-led operation between 10:30 pm on Monday 6th January, 2025 and 6:30 am, on Tuesday 7th January, 2025, during which they proceeded to a house located at Huggins Street, where they conducted a search.

During the search, the officers seized two million, one hundred and fifty-eight thousand, one hundred and sixty-six TT dollars along with eighty-nine thousand, four hundred and fifty US dollars.

A 49-year-old man and a 45-year-old woman, who were in the house at the time of the exercise, were arrested in connection with the find.
Investigators at the Financial Investigations Bureau were contacted and enquiries are ongoing.
January 8th, 2025
END

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2025, 6:20 pm

so they suddenly find out where them criminals does hide all these guns during soe?

Postby paid_influencer » January 8th, 2025, 6:40 pm

they probably did know but couldn't get the warrant

a whole-of-govt approach would make it easier to get warrants during outside of the soe, but this govt so dotish they made it harder to get warrants instead. this whole govt dotish and need to be removed

Postby MaxPower » January 8th, 2025, 11:41 pm

Stuart is the man!