Pannist sets Guinness World Record

Postby The_Honourable » December 28th, 2024, 1:17 pm

Trinidad and Tobago has been placed on the world map once more thanks to pannist Joshua Regrello.

Regrello also earned himself not just a place in history but a title in the Guinness World Records on Saturday (December 28) after playing tunes for a record 30 hours on the steel pan.

Regrello began the challenge–Longest Marathon For Playing Steelpan– at 6am on Friday and created the historical feat around 12:30pm today.

Along the way he was accompanied and encouraged by several of his friends and entertainers including Rome, Violinist ‘Mr Strings’, Soca Artist ‘Voice’ and DJ Ultra Simmo.

Regrello reportedly had to stop for a mandatory 30-minute break earlier in the day as prescribed by the record company. Still, with this aside, he played non-stop for the duration of the period and was seen using one hand to continue his music while he grabbed a quick bite or a drink of water.

He also gathered the support and won the admiration of thousands of citizens throughout the journey and received accolades from the government including the Ministry of Tourism and Culture and the Ministry of Youth Development and National Service.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/breakin ... rld-record

Re: Pannist sets Guinness World Record

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2024, 1:27 pm

finished it with a great tune too
couldn’t have chosen a better one

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 28th, 2024, 1:36 pm

Congrats to Mr Regrello

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 28th, 2024, 1:37 pm

What the hell this doing for the country

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2024, 1:39 pm

unite the country
reduce crime etc
you don’t remember 2006 when soca warriors united the country?

Mmoney607 wrote:What the hell this doing for the country

Postby bluefete » December 28th, 2024, 2:19 pm

Nice to see Sat Maharaj come back from de dead.

Reincarnation is real!

Joshua Regrello has done more for the young people of T&T than you will ever do in your life.

One day you will figure it out.

Postby The_Honourable » December 28th, 2024, 2:35 pm

The moment the world record was officially established…

Joshua 'D Pan Man' Regrello plays David Rudder’s “High Mas” as the final 10 seconds are counted down and he sets the world record for 30 hours of playing the steelpan, non-stop.
[Video by KEVON FELMINE]

Joshua ‘D Pan Man’ Regrello has ended his record setting run at exactly 31 hours. He then played the National Anthem of Trinidad and Tobago to end his historic achievement.

Arts & Culture Minister Randall Mitchell congratulated him saying, "You made us proud."

He also received accolades from Pan Trinbago, whose president, Beverly Ramsey-Moore stated: “Joshua’s passion, resilience, and unyielding determination are an inspiration to all.”
[Video by KEVON FELMINE]

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2024, 2:41 pm

house and land to be awarded
nice diversion to start carnival

Postby bluefete » December 28th, 2024, 3:45 pm

BTW - Emmett Hennessy ever play any steelband music or calypso in the 50 years he has been on radio in T&T? Just asking.

Postby st7 » December 28th, 2024, 4:41 pm

ppl living their lives, wtf it hadda do with for purpose of country?

how is this affecting you? i swear you and hover just like to post ambitionless comments. get a hobby, strive to be better instead of living on yuh phone. allyuh real closed-minded here.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 28th, 2024, 4:45 pm

Oh goud, my next post get removed from the thread boy.

Anyway, this is all just a PNM smokescreen

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 28th, 2024, 6:19 pm

Congrats and respect sir!

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 28th, 2024, 7:02 pm

So if he break the record, who held the record before?

Postby The_Honourable » December 28th, 2024, 7:08 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:So if he break the record, who held the record before?

Nobody mentioned that he broke anything, he is the first to set the record recognized by Guinness

Postby 88sins » December 28th, 2024, 8:10 pm

Wonderful. Good for him. yadda yadda yadda blah blah blah

Meanwhile

The last musical instrument to be invented, originating from right here, that's widely known to be synonymous with this country, to this day, is NOT recognized as the national instrument of this country. Not by the government, not internationally.

Do whatever you want with that

Postby alfa » December 28th, 2024, 8:13 pm

Congratulations to him. It's probably the longest anyone has played any instrument for or close to it

Postby sMASH » December 28th, 2024, 8:37 pm

As a former shift worker , 30hrs is reallll strain on ur brain and body .
It will be good for marketing ... Better than travel with Zoe taking black pudding in PoS ghetto ? Who knows

Postby The_Honourable » December 28th, 2024, 8:54 pm

88sins wrote:Wonderful. Good for him. yadda yadda yadda blah blah blah

Meanwhile

The last musical instrument to be invented, originating from right here, that's widely known to be synonymous with this country, to this day, is NOT recognized as the national instrument of this country. Not by the government, not internationally.

Do whatever you want with that

Pan officially became the national instrument in July of this year with the passing and assent of The National Musical Instrument Bill 2024.

I still get your point tho, this should have been done over 50 years ago.

Postby zoom rader » December 28th, 2024, 8:59 pm

Pan & murder records,

Nice

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 28th, 2024, 10:52 pm

Are there any other trinidadians in the guinness world records?

Postby MaxPower » December 29th, 2024, 1:04 am

Yeh ok congrats to him.

Postby zoom rader » December 29th, 2024, 8:23 am

MaxPower wrote:Yeh ok congrats to him.
And the Murder rate?

Postby MaxPower » December 29th, 2024, 8:27 am

And the Murder rate?

Ahhh

Now we talking relevance.

Postby j.o.e » December 29th, 2024, 9:31 am

How is this relevant ? What did you do yesterday or the day before that for the country ?
Man is a pannist not your MP

Postby Dizzy28 » December 29th, 2024, 9:45 am

The Limbo lady didn't make it in that IIRC?

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2024, 9:55 am

carnival season start
the time when them companies boast about “successful 2days” crime
free

And the Murder rate?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 29th, 2024, 9:57 am

People, let us get the facts straight, no record has been broken. I think that I deserve an apology.

Screenshot_20241229_095508_Chrome.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » December 29th, 2024, 10:03 am

Dizzy28 wrote:The Limbo lady didn't make it in that IIRC?
Screenshot_20241229-095924.jpg

Postby st7 » December 29th, 2024, 2:37 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:People, let us get the facts straight, no record has been broken. I think that I deserve an apology.

Screenshot_20241229_095508_Chrome.jpg

there was no record to beat....

i think what you deserve is an apology from your parents for how stupid you turned out

Postby hover11 » December 29th, 2024, 4:28 pm

Bigger record.Let’s go 30 days without any murders.

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app