Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby mero » December 4th, 2024, 9:24 am

Go in with your itinerary you'll get through, and its advised to notify your bank of travel for more than just cc reasons

Postby Dizzy28 » December 4th, 2024, 9:46 am

goalpost wrote:I need some US for a trip i taking in a few weeks. So just go in d bank? Even if I get 200 I good for now.

Also do we still need to inform bank if we going to use CC in foreign? Scotiabank CC.

Scotia requires you to schedule a time to come in for US$ and they do not require you to notify them you traveling (CC)
FCB doesn't want you coming in more than 2 weeks out from your travel, they also want notification for CC purposes

Don't know what the other banks are asking

wing

Postby wing » December 4th, 2024, 9:50 am

goalpost wrote:I need some US for a trip i taking in a few weeks. So just go in d bank? Even if I get 200 I good for now.

Also do we still need to inform bank if we going to use CC in foreign? Scotiabank CC.

Scotia requires you to schedule a time to come in for US$ and they do not require you to notify them you traveling (CC)
FCB doesn't want you coming in more than 2 weeks out from your travel, they also want notification for CC purposes

All Scotia branches? Also if I have to withdraw from my USD account, do I have to make an appointment?

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2024, 10:02 am

Best you all tell banks when u all taking a sĥíť

See where this is going

Postby Dizzy28 » December 4th, 2024, 10:35 am

wing wrote:

All Scotia branches? Also if I have to withdraw from my USD account, do I have to make an appointment?

Tunapuna and Ind Sq for sure. Can't speak to the other branches but I would assume its network wide.

Postby The_Honourable » December 4th, 2024, 10:42 am

wing wrote:

Tunapuna and Ind Sq for sure. Can't speak to the other branches but I would assume its network wide.

I can confirm for the san fernando branch.

Some time ago, I had cash in my USD account and when i asked for 400US, got it one time to travel.

Now i could have been lucky that day.

wing

Postby wing » December 4th, 2024, 10:45 am

The_Honourable wrote:
wing wrote:

I can confirm for the san fernando branch.

Some time ago, I had cash in my USD account and when i asked for 400US, got it one time to travel.

Now i could have been lucky that day.
I've never had any issues up to 1000 USD walk in. Above that I had to give a couple days. It's from my USD account.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2024, 10:55 am

I didn't realize FCB increased the USD limit on CCs. I know since last year they had dropped it to USD5K monthly but a few weeks ago I asked them for my available to spend US limit and it came up to roughly USD6500 (they provided the TT equivalent) and I would have already had some transactions in that added up to roughly USD500. So seems the limit is USD7k.

Postby MaxPower » December 17th, 2024, 11:11 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I didn't realize FCB increased the USD limit on CCs. I know since last year they had dropped it to USD5K monthly but a few weeks ago I asked them for my available to spend US limit and it came up to roughly USD6500 (they provided the TT equivalent) and I would have already had some transactions in that added up to roughly USD500. So seems the limit is USD7k.

On which card?

The FCB Infinite CC is $8000K.

I didn’t get any notices for a reduction.

Postby Chimera » December 17th, 2024, 5:41 pm

Platinum is 7500usd

Postby st7 » December 17th, 2024, 5:59 pm

FCB credit cards US Limits

Visa Tertiary - $2,000
Visa 2 in 1 - $2,000
Visa Purple - $2,000
Visa Classic - $5,000
Visa Business Classic - $5,000
Vacation Lifestyle Mastercard - $6,000
Vacation Lifestyle Mastercard Gold - $6,000
Visa Business Gold - $6,000
Visa Signature - $7,000
Visa Gold - $7,500
Visa Platinum - $7,500
Visa Infinite - $8,000

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 17th, 2024, 6:07 pm

st7 wrote:FCB credit cards US Limits

Visa Tertiary - $2,000
Visa 2 in 1 - $2,000
Visa Purple - $2,000
Visa Classic - $5,000
Visa Business Classic - $5,000
Vacation Lifestyle Mastercard - $6,000
Vacation Lifestyle Mastercard Gold - $6,000
Visa Business Gold - $6,000
Visa Signature - $7,000
Visa Gold - $7,500
Visa Platinum - $7,500
Visa Infinite - $8,000

Postby The_Honourable » April 7th, 2025, 6:39 pm

Effective May 1st 2025 if you have more than two credit cards with Scotiabank, the first two cards will keep the current US limit of 2000USD per month (for now) while any additional cards will only have $100USD per month.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 7th, 2025, 6:51 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Effective May 1st 2025 if you have more than two credit cards with Scotiabank, the first two cards will keep the current US limit of 2000USD per month (for now) while any additional cards will only have $100USD per month.

One hundred or one thousand?

Postby Dave » April 7th, 2025, 6:54 pm

100! I saw the letter.
Was typically those with multiple Scotia cards and always maxing them.

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2025, 7:02 pm

they are also looking at the transactions you do and if deemed to be too much “business” transactions they are threatening to cut the cards and telling you to open a business account.

it’s pretty obvious that scotia doesn’t have the level of business which affords them forex like the other banks

Dave wrote:100! I saw the letter.

Postby Dave » April 7th, 2025, 8:02 pm

pugboy wrote:they are also looking at the transactions you do and if deemed to be too much “business” transactions they are threatening to cut the cards and telling you to open a business account.

it’s pretty obvious that scotia doesn’t have the level of business which affords them forex like the other banks

Yup correct.

Heard it takes a while after opening a business account to get a business card. Not sure how true that is.

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2025, 8:45 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Effective May 1st 2025 if you have more than two credit cards with Scotiabank, the first two cards will keep the current US limit of 2000USD per month (for now) while any additional cards will only have $100USD per month.

trinis always looking for a way around the limits oui

stop buying online and wasting the ppl forex. great is the pnm

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2025, 8:56 pm

yeah, a bit of dodging and referring to another dept etc

Dave wrote:
pugboy wrote:they are also looking at the transactions you do and if deemed to be too much “business” transactions they are threatening to cut the cards and telling you to open a business account.

Yup correct.

Heard it takes a while after opening a business account to get a business card. Not sure how true that is.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 7th, 2025, 8:59 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Honestly the average person shouldn't have access to cold hard usd unless it's for an emergency or travel etc.

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 9:25 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Honestly the average person shouldn't have access to cold hard usd unless it's for an emergency or travel etc.

Go and tell your PNM pardners dat nah! Start with Imbert!

July 8, 2020
Thieves raid Imbert’s home, take away $.5m in currency and goods.

Two men are now in police custody after Member of Parliament Colm Imbert’s house at Hillsborough, Maraval, was robbed on Monday afternoon.

Police said thieves broke into the house of Diego Martin North East MP Imbert and stole approximately $244,000 in items, $200,000 in local currency and $20,000 in US currency.

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2025, 9:26 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

we going back to the old days of the negative list and import licences great is the pnm

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2025, 9:36 pm

why do trinis need to travel tho

they could just stay here

use skype

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 7th, 2025, 9:54 pm

bluefete wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Go and tell your PNM pardners dat nah! Start with Imbert!

July 8, 2020
Thieves raid Imbert’s home, take away $.5m in currency and goods.

Two men are now in police custody after Member of Parliament Colm Imbert’s house at Hillsborough, Maraval, was robbed on Monday afternoon.

Police said thieves broke into the house of Diego Martin North East MP Imbert and stole approximately $244,000 in items, $200,000 in local currency and $20,000 in US currency.

He too.

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2025, 9:55 pm

redress when was the last time you used skype

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 7th, 2025, 9:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:why do trinis need to travel tho

use skype

Technically speaking. Where they getting usd to travel? If the average trini never earn usd in their entire life via legitimate means. How they accessing usd? If we all agree that ttd is useless then what we really exchanging when we want usd?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 7th, 2025, 9:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:redress when was the last time you used skype

Bai skype eh get shut down. I feel like that close up shop.

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2025, 10:03 pm

EC0
show yuh age
who have an old passport and can post a pic of the usd allotment stamped in the back?

paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

we going back to the old days of the negative list and import licences great is the pnm

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2025, 10:06 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:why do trinis need to travel tho

use skype

Technically speaking. Where they getting usd to travel? If the average trini never earn usd in their entire life via legitimate means. How they accessing usd? If we all agree that ttd is useless then what we really exchanging when we want usd?

the average trini has a claim of the proceeds of oil and gas revenues extracted, as well as claim on any usd loans taken out on their behalf by the govt, and on any USD savings like the HSF fund being drawn down

the central bank issues ttd backed by that usd wealth. if the ttd is worthless paper then somewhere along the line the value of the oil/gas/loans/savings are being exchanged for something of worthlessness, which is theft

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 7th, 2025, 10:09 pm

Alluh hear me out. Check this.

Trinis living nice. Trinis working in Trinidad. Let us say public service. Teacher etc. Every month they earning 8-15k TT. They never once in their life earned a single US dollar. Yet every single month, they online shopping on Amazon etc. Come summer they booking trips all over the world and paying for their ticket, hotel, meals etc just by swiping that credit card.

Where the USD coming from to meet that demand for the thousands of people who intend to live like this. If they want to spend USD then shouldn't they be working remotely etc? How can you realistically earn TTD but intend to spend USD at the rate that most trinis do and vex when the banks keep tightening the screws?