zoom rader wrote:I pay Zero using cashmero wrote:Cool story, tl;dr but this bares no relevance or significance to my post. From a CONSUMER standpoint u pay 75 cents per debit card and pay nothing using your credit card and is that.paid_influencer wrote:mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
Debit cards carry a $0.75 charge per transaction so technically u pay more using a debit card
Seeing too much misinformation spreading here. Someone should update page 1 with actual information
Timelapse is correct tho. What you posted is only half the story.
Debit cards charge both the merchant and the consumer a fixed cost (usually totalling about a dollar per transaction). These can be substantial if we are moving to fully cashless where persons have to make several transactions a day - everything from buying doubles to paying the maxi taxi tout incurs a fee.
Credit cards only charge the merchant, but the charge is based on a percentage of the transaction (usually 3% to 5% depending on the card and the "points"/"cashback" given to the owner). Timelapses postulated that if these 3% to 5% payment fees becomes the norm, prices generally would raise to cover the additional transaction cost and thereby drive inflation.
The bank's merchant agreement specifically says that these fees must never be mentioned anywhere. This sounds anti-competitive because it is -- there is no mechanism to drive those costs down.
The payment processor naturally falls into monopolistic position to extract rents from the economy as a whole. The nature of these hidden agreements restrict competition and entrench the monopoly.
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice- ... it-markets“We allege that Visa has unlawfully amassed the power to extract fees that far exceed what it could charge in a competitive market,” said Attorney General Merrick B. Garland. “Merchants and banks pass along those costs to consumers, either by raising prices or reducing quality or service. As a result, Visa’s unlawful conduct affects not just the price of one thing – but the price of nearly everything.”
Debit transactions are an important and popular part of the U.S. financial system. Millions of Americans prefer or must use debit for online and in-person purchases. Visa dominates debit network markets that facilitate these transactions, charging significant fees and stifling competition in the process. Visa’s systematic efforts to limit competition for debit transactions have resulted in billions of dollars in additional fees imposed on American consumers and businesses and slowed innovation in the debit payments ecosystem. Through this lawsuit, the Justice Department seeks to restore competition to this vital market on behalf of the American public.
“Anticompetitive conduct by corporations like Visa leaves the American people and our entire economy worse off,” said Principal Deputy Associate Attorney General Benjamin C. Mizer. “Today’s action against Visa reminds those who would stifle competition rather than competing on price or investing in innovation that the Justice Department will never hesitate to enforce the law on behalf of the American people.”
“Visa fears competition and innovation, and instead chooses unlawful cooperation and monopolization,” said Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General Doha Mekki of the Justice Department’s Antitrust Division. “Visa abuses its power over its customers and buys off would-be rivals at the expense of American consumers, merchants, banks, and the competitive process itself. Today’s lawsuit holds Visa accountable for its conduct in a market that forms the backbone of American commerce.”
Banks minds games is to get you to use CC to eventually get you hooked in the debt trap.
World reports show that 74% of ppl eventually get trapped using CC. These are the same ppl that say they pay off their CC in full at the month. Yes sure they pay it in the first year, but over time, they get caught.
In the first yearadnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:I pay Zero using cashmero wrote:Cool story, tl;dr but this bares no relevance or significance to my post. From a CONSUMER standpoint u pay 75 cents per debit card and pay nothing using your credit card and is that.paid_influencer wrote:mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
Debit cards carry a $0.75 charge per transaction so technically u pay more using a debit card
Seeing too much misinformation spreading here. Someone should update page 1 with actual information
Debit cards charge both the merchant and the consumer a fixed cost (usually totalling about a dollar per transaction). These can be substantial if we are moving to fully cashless where persons have to make several transactions a day - everything from buying doubles to paying the maxi taxi tout incurs a fee.
Credit cards only charge the merchant, but the charge is based on a percentage of the transaction (usually 3% to 5% depending on the card and the "points"/"cashback" given to the owner). Timelapses postulated that if these 3% to 5% payment fees becomes the norm, prices generally would raise to cover the additional transaction cost and thereby drive inflation.
The bank's merchant agreement specifically says that these fees must never be mentioned anywhere. This sounds anti-competitive because it is -- there is no mechanism to drive those costs down.
The payment processor naturally falls into monopolistic position to extract rents from the economy as a whole. The nature of these hidden agreements restrict competition and entrench the monopoly.
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice- ... it-markets“We allege that Visa has unlawfully amassed the power to extract fees that far exceed what it could charge in a competitive market,” said Attorney General Merrick B. Garland. “Merchants and banks pass along those costs to consumers, either by raising prices or reducing quality or service. As a result, Visa’s unlawful conduct affects not just the price of one thing – but the price of nearly everything.”
Debit transactions are an important and popular part of the U.S. financial system. Millions of Americans prefer or must use debit for online and in-person purchases. Visa dominates debit network markets that facilitate these transactions, charging significant fees and stifling competition in the process. Visa’s systematic efforts to limit competition for debit transactions have resulted in billions of dollars in additional fees imposed on American consumers and businesses and slowed innovation in the debit payments ecosystem. Through this lawsuit, the Justice Department seeks to restore competition to this vital market on behalf of the American public.
“Anticompetitive conduct by corporations like Visa leaves the American people and our entire economy worse off,” said Principal Deputy Associate Attorney General Benjamin C. Mizer. “Today’s action against Visa reminds those who would stifle competition rather than competing on price or investing in innovation that the Justice Department will never hesitate to enforce the law on behalf of the American people.”
“Visa fears competition and innovation, and instead chooses unlawful cooperation and monopolization,” said Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General Doha Mekki of the Justice Department’s Antitrust Division. “Visa abuses its power over its customers and buys off would-be rivals at the expense of American consumers, merchants, banks, and the competitive process itself. Today’s lawsuit holds Visa accountable for its conduct in a market that forms the backbone of American commerce.”
Banks minds games is to get you to use CC to eventually get you hooked in the debt trap.
World reports show that 74% of ppl eventually get trapped using CC. These are the same ppl that say they pay off their CC in full at the month. Yes sure they pay it in the first year, but over time, they get caught.
How do people never get caught?
Asking for the 26%.
zoom rader wrote:In the first yearadnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:I pay Zero using cashmero wrote:Cool story, tl;dr but this bares no relevance or significance to my post. From a CONSUMER standpoint u pay 75 cents per debit card and pay nothing using your credit card and is that.paid_influencer wrote:mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
How do people never get caught?
Asking for the 26%.
Year by year creeps up, and ur limit increases and so does ur spending. Spending money that is not yours is all mind games.
sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Z,
3 trips a year going where? To quarrel?
Enjoy youself na, you cannot be frothing up when you hearing credit cards swiping off from a side when u in dollar tree line.
cash is king.
Nice with interestMaxPower wrote:Xmas shopping done.
Credit card max out.
I could pay it off but need about a 5 months.
zoom rader wrote:Nice with interestMaxPower wrote:Xmas shopping done.
Credit card max out.
I could pay it off but need about a [emoji6] months.
Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Z,
Enjoy youself na, you cannot be frothing up when you hearing credit cards swiping off from a side when u in dollar tree line.
cash is king.
pay the plenty money to the travel agencies ent?
cash is king
how anyone reaching Europe, or central and south America with a local debit card?zoom rader wrote:Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Z,
cash is king.
cash is king
zoom sounds like he don't have the discipline for sure.dogg wrote:If you're unsure whether you have the mental discipline and financial stability to manage a credit card, then it’s probably not for you.
Last year, I charged nearly $124,000 to my card.
I earned around $1,700 in cashback. The annual fee just about $200.
I’ve been using credit cards for over a decade, always paying the balance in full and on time.
never once paying interest.
There’s no reason for me not to have a credit card. But folks without my discipline should def not get one.
Make your card work for you.dogg wrote:If you're unsure whether you have the mental discipline and financial stability to manage a credit card, then it’s probably not for you.
I’ve been using credit cards for over a decade, always paying the balance in full and on time.
There’s no reason for me not to have a credit card. But folks without my discipline should def not get one.
Dave wrote:Make your card work for you.
I do 100k a mth. Cash back, miles and commission.
Cards are definitely working for me.
st7 wrote:how anyone reaching Europe, or central and south America with a local debit card?zoom rader wrote:Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is king
Z,
cash is king.
cash is king
yeah but zoom feel like everybody here have the same opportunity as him. and ppl must use Caribbean airlines to travel because ???The_Honourable wrote:st7 wrote:how anyone reaching Europe, or central and south America with a local debit card?zoom rader wrote:Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:
Z,
cash is king.
cash is king
Zoom and many others have the means to open bank accounts outside of T&T and get debit cards. Debit cards outside T&T is just like credit cards with the VISA or Mastercard logo. It's only in the past few years here in T&T that linx and the banks upgraded to visa debit cards but with limited features. If it wasn't for our forex situation, you can shop online with your debit card. Right now you can only pay utility bills online with your debit card but it's iffy across different banks.
The downside with debit cards for me is that it's directly connected to your bank account so if your debit card gets compromised online, the money is deducted directly from your bank account. I avoid this by having a second account with limited funds ($100 lol) and have the debit card connected to that account alone. If I want to do big purchases, i just transfer funds from my primary to my secondary account and then make the purchase.
Some people were either lucky or ahead of the curve by establishing accounts outside T&T and now they are benefitting.
Thanks,The_Honourable wrote:st7 wrote:how anyone reaching Europe, or central and south America with a local debit card?zoom rader wrote:Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:
Z,
cash is king.
cash is king
Zoom and many others have the means to open bank accounts outside of T&T and get debit cards. Debit cards outside T&T is just like credit cards with the VISA or Mastercard logo. It's only in the past few years here in T&T that linx and the banks upgraded to visa debit cards but with limited features. If it wasn't for our forex situation, you can shop online with your debit card. Right now you can only pay utility bills online with your debit card but it's iffy across different banks.
The downside with debit cards for me is that it's directly connected to your bank account so if your debit card gets compromised online, the money is deducted directly from your bank account. I avoid this by having a second account with limited funds ($100 lol) and have the debit card connected to that account alone. If I want to do big purchases, i just transfer funds from my primary to my secondary account and then make the purchase.
Some people were either lucky or ahead of the curve by establishing accounts outside T&T and now they are benefitting.
Before I started working abroad, I never had nor will never own a CC, but I did save all the US cash I got and kept it in the Milo tin for a rainy day.st7 wrote:yeah but zoom feel like everybody here have the same opportunity as him. and ppl must use Caribbean airlines to travel because ???The_Honourable wrote:st7 wrote:how anyone reaching Europe, or central and south America with a local debit card?zoom rader wrote:Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.
cash is king.
cash is king
the man is a huge hypocrite. if he didn't have the UK debit cards, you done know he was getting 5 credit cards. "cash is king" if you're a delusional hypocrite. what would Zoom have done if he only had local banking? (betcha he won't answer cause he can't answer)
plus, what's the daily transaction limit on a local debit card? i wanna say $6000 TTD but i could be wrong... how you supposed to buy plane tickets for one or more person with that? lololol
This is my personal CC. Not business.Dave wrote:Make your card work for you.dogg wrote:If you're unsure whether you have the mental discipline and financial stability to manage a credit card, then it’s probably not for you.
I do 100k a mth. Cash back, miles and commission.
Cards are definitely working for me.
zoom rader wrote:As for CC users that spend 100k in order to get 1k back, you tell me if that makes sense when u could have invested that and probably make 5% or more depending on investment. Then again, those spending 100k probably have very large cash flow. But the agv trini on 20k per month that is not feasible.
You will always hear they pay it back at the end of month, which is very few, why not hear about those who can't pay it off.
zoom rader wrote:Thanks,The_Honourable wrote:st7 wrote:how anyone reaching Europe, or central and south America with a local debit card?zoom rader wrote:Caribbean Airlines, debit card bro.st7 wrote:sounds like you being unrealistic and unfair to the wider population of T&T. if none of we have these international debit cards, how we supposed to purchase plane tickets without credit cards?zoom rader wrote:I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.
cash is king.
cash is king
I was waiting for some to highlight these facts. I did state before that I saw this issues will happen in Trinidad some 20 years ago and set out on banking overseas for me to not reach a state where I can't get forex.
I remember the days when a citizen could only get 600US from the banks per year, and that was stamped on ur passport on what US you got. When that was removed, Trinis was wild with careless US spending and not concerned with the future.
There are countless other Trinis that have bank roll abroad and don't rely on the Trini dollar, they are very careful with money.
Trinidad Card problems all lies with Forex and mismanagement by the PNM Government in favour of 1%.
Trinidad is under economic slavery when you have tuners asking how to buy airfare tickets online without a CC.
As for CC users that spend 100k in order to get 1k back, you tell me if that makes sense when u could have invested that and probably make 5% or more depending on investment. Then again, those spending 100k probably have very large cash flow. But the agv trini on 20k per month that is not feasible.
You will always hear they pay it back at the end of month, which is very few, why not hear about those who can't pay it off.
He knows nothing about Indian people, he is a beethamite trying to be accepted but he really belongs in the PNM.paid_influencer wrote:zoom tell me about old indian people
you think them used to spend that kind of money and call it subsistence
st[emoji[emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji639]] wrote:anyone knows the current daily limit for debit cards?
Scotia is 7500 to withdraw cash at atm but I believe you can swipe more at point of saleMaxPower wrote:st[emoji[emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji639]] wrote:anyone knows the current daily limit for debit cards?
If it’s cash you talking about.
Five thousand