MaxPower wrote:You loss me there from the responding quick part.
redmanjp wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:hover11 wrote:Police association would never allow any of the aboveshake d livin wake d dead wrote:Unless changes like
Suspended WITHOUT pay
Immediate dismissal once found guilty
Pay for damages to vehicles once you are guilty
PG every 2 years, once you fail, you are dismissed
Are implemented, doh expect nothing much to change
Hence, nothing will change! Unions and associations are usually the downfall of these entities.alfa wrote:I know how public servants think, and if you make them liable for the vehicles they simply wouldn't drive them. I would love to see any of them last a day in the private sector
Ttr members are made to pay for damages when they crash the govt vehicles. GG tried to implement this and get licks.
ttps have to respond to emergencies quick- so if they were in hot pursuit of someone and crash under those circumstances? would they still be liable? cuz then they would not respond as quickly if they know they will be liable.
pugboy wrote:nah, them roving cops task force type does sometimes respond fast, they more trigger happy
it’s the station ones who does bawl no vehicle
the key thing to say is a bandit have a gun and shooting
otherwise they wouldn’t come fastMaxPower wrote:You loss me there from the responding quick part.
Well there is only one police service just like WASA, there is only one water company, regardless of what ppl think they still have to contact or use them when in need.MaxPower wrote:Does the TTPS care what the public thinks about them?
hover11 wrote:Mayaro man held with gun, ammo, police apparel including the ID and badge of an officer on extended sick leave.
Around 345 am on 21/10/24 officers went to the home of Curlan Christopher Matthews at La Savanne Circular Newlands Guayaguayare Mayaro.
PC Sarabjit had in his possession a High Court Search Warrant to search for Firearms and Ammunition.
During the search the following items were found concealed under a mattress and seized:
One Phantom BB Pistol 4.5mm Cal.
One black Holster.
One TTPS Identification Badge in the name of No 18318 PC Licourish in a black holder.
One TTPS ID Card in the name of No 18318 PC Licourish issued 24/10/2018.
One Blue T shirt With Police Emblem.
One black cargo pants.
One blue Operational jacket with two TTPS shoulder patches and two front Police patches.
One black cap marked Police.
One ski mask.
Two long camouflage long trousers.
One Army Type Pattern T shirt.
Initial enquires reveal that PC Licourish does not reside at that location and is presently on continuous sick leave for over one year.
Enquiries continuing by PC Sarabjit.
pugboy wrote:lewwe see if erla can ban them unmarked blue lights cars
hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg
Shouldn't there be stiffer penalties or disciplinary procedures in cases such as these. Simply doing a report of the incident and resuming duties like normal can't be the answeralfa wrote:hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg
Shouldn't matter. In firearms training they tell you 'a holstered firearm is a safe firearm' I'm almost sure it wasn't holstered properly and/or he was fiddling around and touched the trigger
hover11 wrote:Shouldn't there be stiffer penalties or disciplinary procedures in cases such as these. Simply doing a report of the incident and resuming duties like normal can't be the answeralfa wrote:hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg
Shouldn't matter. In firearms training they tell you 'a holstered firearm is a safe firearm' I'm almost sure it wasn't holstered properly and/or he was fiddling around and touched the trigger
hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business
alfa wrote:A more practical and socially acceptable solution might be too bring in foreign instructors to train the ttps and the like. Friends who have traveled to the US told me police officers are a world apart from what we have here. Professional, courteous and effective even at a random road stop. One guy told me he felt like they were actually serving him.
The attitude of some of the 'ole skool' ones locally, geeze, and don't forget the Terrances in the system. Foreign training definitely would make an impact
Cant holster a MP5. The question is why was the safety off.alfa wrote:hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg
As long as you exceed your allotted 14 days you have to pay back for exceeded/extended sick leave. It comes out from back pay or gratuity.hover11 wrote:I never doubted that but how these fellas does be on sick leave for a whole year normal and collecting pay, must be nicepugboy wrote:seems there is truth to the rumours that many cops lend out the garments and stuff
alfa wrote:hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg