Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby pugboy » October 6th, 2024, 10:33 am

cereal business is big business
those who know supermarket business will know that it is essentially a real estate business for shelf space

cereals are one of biggest users of shelf space in big supermarkets

small grocery poor ppl doh eat dat

Postby alfa » October 6th, 2024, 11:01 am

They need to fix our local problems first, praedial larceny is the biggest issue followed by no invective for local farmers. The newspaper article cites luxury items such as grapes, apples, strawberries etc. Really, grapes is a luxury item now? We going back to the 80s or going forward to Haiti? I don't agree with penalizing the middle and upper class for the shortcomings of previous administrations who failed to invest in agriculture. And just like the 80s I'm sure all those professors quoted in the article will have those same items in their fridges at home while bemoaning the population for wanting same.

I saw price mart have $100 for one Halloween sugar pumpkins. While I won't buy it at that price I am curious as to the taste and won't criticize those who do. Nobody taking about the 1000+ spray ground backpacks people buying for kids or the expensive sneakers everyone wanted when we were young, that's not wasted forex?

Blaming it solely on the consumer in my opinion is just lazy and a cop out of fixing the real problems

Postby hover11 » October 6th, 2024, 11:27 am

alfa wrote:They need to fix our local problems first, praedial larceny is the biggest issue followed by no invective for local farmers. The newspaper article cites luxury items such as grapes, apples, strawberries etc. Really, grapes is a luxury item now? We going back to the 80s or going forward to Haiti? I don't agree with penalizing the middle and upper class for the shortcomings of previous administrations who failed to invest in agriculture. And just like the 80s I'm sure all those professors quoted in the article will have those same items in their fridges at home while bemoaning the population for wanting same.

I saw price mart have $100 for one Halloween sugar pumpkins. While I won't buy it at that price I am curious as to the taste and won't criticize those who do. Nobody taking about the 1000+ spray ground backpacks people buying for kids or the expensive sneakers everyone wanted when we were young, that's not wasted forex?

Blaming it solely on the consumer in my opinion is just lazy and a cop out of fixing the real problems
The funny thing is we Still in budget mode, it happens like clock work we rile up and we know what has to be done but then nothing is done. Then the next budget comes up and surprise surprise it's another deficit budget. We not serious about agriculture and quite frankly we never will be. Who sending their children out to school everyday to be a farmer? Agriculture has always been the bastard child of this economy and the time for diversification has come and gone.Agriculture is not important to the government as long as the big boys in charge of importing.

Postby pugboy » October 6th, 2024, 11:47 am

that’s how everything works under crumb theory…

ppl get riled up
throw some crumbs to appease them
say ttec rate increase not on cards anymore
pave some roads
carnival come, big distraction
and so it goes

Postby paid_influencer » October 6th, 2024, 1:28 pm

hover11 wrote:
pugboy wrote:right now cereals undergoing a market shakeup with multiple groceries dropping price from $50 to $28-30

just goes to show the profit margins
The hugest profit margin I ever saw was the mark up KFC makes off fries ALONE, do some research you would be amazed

buy fries is mad scene i could cut up an aloo, soak it, air-fry it and salt-and-pepper it to come out better cheaper and healthier than buy fries

exception is popeyes idk how to get it like popeyes fries

Postby alfa » October 6th, 2024, 1:34 pm

That was the old school way to make fries, tasted good to but in today's busy world people prefer to buy a bag of the frozen stuff. KFC did introduce local sweet potato fries some years ago but didn't work out for whatever reason. Not sure how healthy those are either cuz sweet potato pretty sweet compared to normal potato.
But we do have local sweet potato fries made by the Akaloo family marketed as Katana Cuts, I have to try them soon

Postby pugboy » October 6th, 2024, 2:16 pm

imported fries are not simply cut and frozen
they are very processed

Postby paid_influencer » October 6th, 2024, 2:19 pm

also taste worse than cut up aloo imo

Postby Chimera » October 6th, 2024, 4:34 pm

Mc Cain seasoned wedges real bess tho.

Postby K74T » October 6th, 2024, 5:33 pm

Chimera wrote:Mc Cain seasoned wedges real bess tho.
Especially when air fried

Postby MaxPower » October 6th, 2024, 6:08 pm

Too much fast food is being consumed.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 6th, 2024, 6:13 pm

MaxPower wrote:Too much fast food is being consumed.

No shite Sherlock!
We've got a Guyanese genius here folks!

After elections PNM will probably institute some form of restrictions on imports. And increased taxation on online purchasing.

Postby hover11 » October 6th, 2024, 6:24 pm

dogg wrote:

No shite Sherlock!
We've got a Guyanese genius here folks!

After elections PNM will probably institute some form of restrictions on imports. And increased taxation on online purchasing.
Harder times ahead, a vote for PNM means increased OPT, increased property tax , only thing decreasing is your standard of living and purchasing power. Vote for betterment

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 21st, 2024, 5:40 pm

The kiss mighty loaf is not worth the extra dollar bread too stiff and breaks apart if using for sandwich. For toast is okay.

Postby hover11 » October 21st, 2024, 5:47 pm

viedcht wrote:The kiss mighty loaf is not worth the extra dollar bread too stiff and breaks apart if using for sandwich. For toast is okay.
Yall still buying kiss bread, rel chemicals in that

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2024, 6:17 pm

using bread maker a while now
$4 vs $15

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 21st, 2024, 6:46 pm

just the way it should be. you have the govt killing the argi sector and they pally wals name 1% who own all the import export company that bring in all the alternatives to the matooks brands but still family to the matooks. they kill the local farmers to enable the 1% to import to make money. they impose OPT so you will go francis fashions and detour to spend your money. you cant get USD to fly out yet massy etc are full of imported items. to top it off the 1% chirren will go foreign and buy a going out of business company lock, stock and barrel and open it in TT and you lap it up such as incoming chipolte.

Postby st7 » October 22nd, 2024, 8:35 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:0b4eee4a-d2a4-4039-b6e0-ea0f584d448a.jpg

wonder if they will have south prices lol

Postby paid_influencer » October 22nd, 2024, 5:00 pm

what is the normal price of a portugal

like 1 portugal

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2024, 5:03 pm

all them retailers operating on a $20 scheme
like heap of 4 for $30
buying portugal is risky
plenty does be dry

Postby paid_influencer » October 22nd, 2024, 5:16 pm

^thanks

i pay $30 for a heap of 5 from the guy infront by massy
the portugal good but real small

i holding dis small portugal and wondering if is really $6 for this

i will never look at a portugal the same again

matix

Postby matix » October 22nd, 2024, 5:41 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^thanks

Give it some time and you’ll get 20 for $20

Postby redmanjp » October 22nd, 2024, 5:47 pm

alfa wrote:That was the old school way to make fries, tasted good to but in today's busy world people prefer to buy a bag of the frozen stuff. KFC did introduce local sweet potato fries some years ago but didn't work out for whatever reason. Not sure how healthy those are either cuz sweet potato pretty sweet compared to normal potato.
But we do have local sweet potato fries made by the Akaloo family marketed as Katana Cuts, I have to try them soon

fast food outlets should try cassava fries as a healthier option

Postby redmanjp » October 22nd, 2024, 5:49 pm

I find we should have an online website where all major food chains are mandated to post prices of at least basic staples so that we can compare prices.

Postby eliteauto » October 22nd, 2024, 5:51 pm

Outside Price Club in Chaguanas a vendor selling ginger $20 a lb. Was selling fast, nice fat ginger said his boss might raise the price by $5 tomorrow. Ginger was selling for as much as $50 a lb recently

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 22nd, 2024, 6:13 pm

pugboy wrote:all them retailers operating on a $20 scheme
like heap of 4 for $30
buying portugal is risky
plenty does be dry

4 for $30? That's crazy... We used to wholesale at. 50 or. 75....the rest would be stolen

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2024, 6:13 pm

sorry i mistyped, usually $20

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2024, 6:15 pm

yeah but you get the same dry crap
i buy from one of the heaped van fellas like that but he insist you can’t touch them
he have to take them out
never me again

i posted about it in fb trini farmers
plenty resellers took offense to that

matix wrote:

Give it some time and you’ll get 20 for $20

Postby Dizzy28 » October 22nd, 2024, 7:51 pm

Meanwhile in Massy 6 gala apples are $20

Fruit grown in foreign, picked, packed, shipped, taxed and have a conglomerate profit margin attached is cheaper than locally grown fruit!!

Postby Chimera » October 22nd, 2024, 8:08 pm

Join a trini farmers group and buy 100 Portugal for 100.