Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 6th, 2024, 10:49 pm

^ sounds like it might work.
Let us know how it works out in reality

nick639v2

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iOS 18 and ai

Postby nick639v2 » July 7th, 2024, 8:26 pm

f10cb35c3c91460eed02f8a75cd913cd.jpg

Time for setup. Planning to do another drone footage edit and export so let’s see how much faster the workflow will be on the m4. (The m1 has already shown to hold its own and quite possibly be on par or better than my desktop 5800x in 4k editing)

Initial thoughts, Magic Keyboard feels just much nicer and reminds me of a mbp with travel and the metal deck, pencil pro no notable difference except for haptics and squeeze feature

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iOS 18 and ai

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 7th, 2024, 11:26 pm

^ do you also use a Mac?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 8th, 2024, 2:31 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ do you also use a Mac?

Na,

after 2018 my 7 year old MacBook gave out. I decided on building a gaming pc instead of purchasing a ps5 and Mac. Then i slowly embraced a Nvidia Shield over my Apple TV during lockdown for modded apks and Nvidia plays pretty nice with its own devices.

That’s why i now use the iPad. Does what i used the mbp for, with more portability and benefits opened up with the pencil. Syncs to my phone with Goodnotes so it’s pretty much a nice combo for work. And i could sideload some fun mods without jailbreaking.

I may go back to a Mac, but it’ll be in the form of a Mac mini to replace the Nvidia shield and/or the wife for her work

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2024, 3:55 pm

Universal Control works great with Apple Silicon Macs and iPad
https://support.apple.com/en-us/102459

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 10th, 2024, 8:22 pm

Rendering results

4k 100fps 5:08 clip H.264 :

(No gpu encoding ) 5800x, 36c, - 8min 53secs

M1 iPad Pro , 28c, 90% battery - 9min 09secs, end battery 82%

M4 iPad Pro , 28c , 57% battery - 5min 53 secs, end battery 55%

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2024, 10:13 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Rendering results

4k 100fps 5:08 clip H.264 :

(No gpu encoding ) 5800x, 36c, - 8min 53secs

M1 iPad Pro , 28c, 90% battery - 9min 09secs, end battery 82%

M4 iPad Pro , 28c , 57% battery - 5min 53 secs, end battery 55%

paps - impressive

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 16 Pro

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2024, 5:44 pm

iPhone 16, 16 Plus, 16 Pro and 16 Pro Max dropped today

As well as updated AirPods 4

and Apple Watch 10

Postby bluefete » September 9th, 2024, 5:53 pm

Apple real getting licks over that iPhone 16 Pro.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2024, 8:17 pm

bluefete wrote:Apple real getting licks over that iPhone 16 Pro.

and might end up crying all the way to the bank.

people complained about the 14 and 15 when they came out saying it was boring and not much changed, but sales still soared

Top-10-smartphones-in-Q1-2024.png

Postby paid_influencer » September 9th, 2024, 8:56 pm

i think it is fine. most normies want a better camera on their phone and this delivers. the AI (apple intelligence) features are also p. underrated. I have some mac apps that use ai for selecting subjects, making automatic adjustments, etc and it works acceptably sometimes. if every generation they make ai better it is gonna be a must-have in the future

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 9th, 2024, 9:03 pm

I ain’t upgrading anything this launch. 15 pro still going strong, and s9 watch the same.

Btw update on Old Man vs New tech, he’s loving it. Saw him ritually switch to sending handwritten invoices and quotations digitally to his clients.

Huge increase in content consumption from YouTube and even googling randomness too BY WRITING in the search bar vs typing? Lol

I’d say it’s a success! A shocking and extremely interesting (expensive) experiment, I had my doubts but it all worked out. And who knew there was a gazette app for digital versions of the newspaper articles

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 10th, 2024, 8:22 am

Due for a device refresh, will likely jump on the promax. Have the 13pro now and the extra real estate is only 100 more, but plenty more battery life.

The natural titanium looks decent, but a few shades too light for me. Might go black, but I hope it's not that crappy smudgy black that I've seen on other devices.

derrick1993

Postby derrick1993 » September 17th, 2024, 10:39 am

With the new IOS 18 update, anyone has any info as to when or if Digicel and Bmobile going to activate RCS messaging for us to use locally?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2024, 11:52 am

derrick1993 wrote:With the new IOS 18 update, anyone has any info as to when or if Digicel and Bmobile going to activate RCS messaging for us to use locally?

I see Digicel has it in their legal documentation
https://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/lega ... conditions

Most ppl locally on WhatsApp anyway, so I don't think it will be any priority for the local carriers.

sidenote: iOS 18 is pretty cool!

Postby j.o.e » September 17th, 2024, 12:28 pm

derrick1993 wrote:With the new IOS 18 update, anyone has any info as to when or if Digicel and Bmobile going to activate RCS messaging for us to use locally?

I see Digicel has it in their legal documentation
https://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/lega ... conditions

Most ppl locally on WhatsApp anyway, so I don't think it will be any priority for the local carriers.

sidenote: iOS 18 is pretty cool!

I does try not to associate with android people. Joking joking

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » September 19th, 2024, 6:31 pm

isnt this already implement cause when i have internet and i send a normal SMS it goes threw as a RCS

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » October 9th, 2024, 7:53 pm

Just got back from the US. The wife say she wanted ah iPhone 15 to replace she Galaxy S22. Woman gone and pick out ah pink one from the Apple store. I've been playing around with it and getting it configured, and somehow I am really enjoying it. Apple really has a polished product, I have to give it to them. The camera quality real nice too.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 9th, 2024, 10:41 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Just got back from the US. The wife say she wanted ah iPhone 15 to replace she Galaxy S22. Woman gone and pick out ah pink one from the Apple store. I've been playing around with it and getting it configured, and somehow I am really enjoying it. Apple really has a polished product, I have to give it to them. The camera quality real nice too.

Welcome to the light side. The dark side will come at you again when you’re chasing free apps or mods but the light side is nice and simple

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 9th, 2024, 11:07 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Just got back from the US. The wife say she wanted ah iPhone 15 to replace she Galaxy S22. Woman gone and pick out ah pink one from the Apple store. I've been playing around with it and getting it configured, and somehow I am really enjoying it. Apple really has a polished product, I have to give it to them. The camera quality real nice too.

If her main computer is a Mac and if she used an Apple Watch you'd see the iPhone shine even more.
The apple ecosystem is very polished, even more so now with iOS 18 and macOS Sequoia

one eye

Postby one eye » October 10th, 2024, 10:34 am

Tim it is never too late to make the switch.

The 15 pro blue titanium is a great option for you.

With Apple you get your monies worth if you utilize their ecosystem.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » October 10th, 2024, 11:16 am

one eye wrote:Tim it is never too late to make the switch.

The 15 pro blue titanium is a great option for you.

With Apple you get your monies worth if you utilize their ecosystem.

I have a MacBook and Mini myself, but I need an Android phone for certain things not available on iOS.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 10th, 2024, 1:22 pm

Got the 16ProMax. The black titanium is nice.
Camera quality is as expected, which is freaking fantastic. The spigen Aramid carbon case is also fantastic value for $.

Honestly, the incremental changes doh make sense to upgrade every generation. My device refresh cycles of 3 years for phones and 5 years for laptops make the upgrades noticeable and work for me.

Especially since I daily drive both for work with 12-16hours use daily on both devices.

one eye

Postby one eye » October 11th, 2024, 2:00 pm

My wife has a mini and I was surprised how good the battery life is.

I use an android for work only to make calls and message.

Even with my big hands I still find the pro max is too much.

Battery lasts for a day and a half on one charge from 80% to about 20% with moderate use on the pro.

I try not to let the battery go under 20%.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » October 11th, 2024, 3:07 pm

one eye wrote:My wife has a mini and I was surprised how good the battery life is.

I use an android for work only to make calls and message.

Even with my big hands I still find the pro max is too much.

Battery lasts for a day and a half on one charge from 80% to about 20% with moderate use on the pro.

I try not to let the battery go under 20%.

M1 Mac Mini, not iPad Mini. It's one of the best computers I've ever had.

nick639v2

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 16 Pro

Postby nick639v2 » October 11th, 2024, 9:47 pm

Oh gosh doh talk bout the Mac mini too much na… I’ve been eyeing one soooo badly
Last edited by nick639v2 on October 11th, 2024, 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » October 11th, 2024, 9:54 pm

mac mini is the best desktop machine ever made also new version suppose to come out before month end no noise low energy impact everything jut works smoothly ultimate posting battlestation

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - 2024 iMac Announcement

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2024, 1:01 pm

New iMac announcement

triniterribletim

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - 2024 iMac Announcement

Postby triniterribletim » October 29th, 2024, 2:54 pm

If you want a Mac Mini, now is the time. M4 Chip and 16 GB ram standard. All for 599 USD

https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2024/10/ ... elligence/

nick639v2

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - 2024 iMac Announcement

Postby nick639v2 » October 29th, 2024, 4:15 pm

Yup I’ll be buying one for sure for Christmas.

…Unless I can get $ off the M come thanksgiving