Re: Using Windows 11?

Postby st7 » September 28th, 2024, 3:17 pm

adnj wrote:
st7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
st7 wrote:can you move the task bar to the side instead or is that still locked to just the bottom and top sides?

so dumb

Win10 and Win11 have always allowed the task bar to dock on the side. You must unlock the Taskbar position in Settings first.

with Windows 11, at least when i upgraded my PC to windows 11, didnt have that option at all... as there was no way to do so natively at the time i reverted to windows 10

as far as i know, it still does not allow you to move it to the side without third party software
The recent Win11 versions did remove the manual setting in the registry. But if you don't want to use a software patch, I understand.

yeah dred... do you know if there's a way to get the full right-click menu instead of clicking show more options natively?

Postby adnj » September 29th, 2024, 8:39 am

Last edited by adnj on October 17th, 2024, 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2024, 9:11 am

Tried 11 for a week, was not impressed, actually got a bit annoyed with it at times. Mind you, this was after upgrading the CPU, adding another 8G of RAM to the existing 8, and adding another 2T HDD, upgraded the graphics card and installed 2 additional fans.
After a week of using 11 I decided to reinstall 10 and restored everything back to what it was, and as of right now, with the upgrades, machine running like greased lightning.

I can only speak for myself, but I believe this is a case of newer ain't always better.

I still have a few machines running XP, and imho even them better than 11. A tad slower, yes, but still better (easier to navigate, more user-friendly, etc)

YMMV

Postby st7 » September 29th, 2024, 6:51 pm

adnj wrote:I don't recall. Try shift+right-click.

booooo... windows 11 is meh.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » September 29th, 2024, 8:23 pm

88sins wrote:Tried 11 for a week, was not impressed, actually got a bit annoyed with it at times. Mind you, this was after upgrading the CPU, adding another 8G of RAM to the existing 8, and adding another 2T HDD, upgraded the graphics card and installed 2 additional fans.
After a week of using 11 I decided to reinstall 10 and restored everything back to what it was, and as of right now, with the upgrades, machine running like greased lightning.

I can only speak for myself, but I believe this is a case of newer ain't always better.

I still have a few machines running XP, and imho even them better than 11. A tad slower, yes, but still better (easier to navigate, more user-friendly, etc)

YMMV
Hopefully those xp machines aren't on the internet. Windows 10 goes end of life in a year so you'll have to move over to Windows 11, although if you're still running XP then that might be a long time from now.

My Windows 11 experience has been exceptional. I don't get the hate it gets.

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2024, 11:49 pm

st7 wrote:yeah dred... do you know if there's a way to get the full right-click menu instead of clicking show more options natively?

https://www.xda-developers.com/how-to-o ... indows-11/

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 30th, 2024, 2:16 am

My main rig is too old to support win 11 without modification (no tpm 2 module).

Of the few times I have used 11 it was annoying. The muscle memory from previous versions of windows; the start button location, the words cut copy and paste in the right click menu.

Installing is a pain cause they want everything online and they want to collect data about you, so they force you down a path to create a Microsoft account and on the surface they do not provide any alternatives. Yes you can jump through hoops to create a local account but it has only gotten worse. Win 10 just requires me to have it offline during the setup phase.

Win10 and 11 are both guilty of aggressively pushing updates, installing updates at the worst possible time, sending telemetry data back to Microsoft, forcing me to create a Microsoft account, or login to one, to switch out of S mode, not respecting the choices/changes I've made to the system after every update.

I don't want edge, I want my full menu bar, I want a search function that works properly

SurvivalMode

Postby SurvivalMode » September 30th, 2024, 7:56 am

I had win 11 for a few months because my 10 was glitching a lot. I thought I would get used to the interface but I couldn't, so I got myself a windows 10 home key oem which solved my glitching problem.
Last edited by SurvivalMode on October 2nd, 2024, 7:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2024, 8:23 pm

Captain Awesome wrote:Hopefully those xp machines aren't on the internet. Windows 10 goes end of life in a year so you'll have to move over to Windows 11, although if you're still running XP then that might be a long time from now.

My Windows 11 experience has been exceptional. I don't get the hate it gets.

They are all on the internet, however they are all covered under several layers of protection. Aftermarket firewalls and VPNs, etc., and the few people who use them know, no removable storage media, no personal activity, etc is allowed on those machines EVER.

Postby wagonrunner » September 30th, 2024, 10:45 pm

I have 11 on a laptop. I only use that when i''m out.
Single monitor, gets the job done.

This is why the main rig is still on 10. So far there has been no good reason why this function isnt available in 11 for multimontiors natively.
Screenshot (87).png

Postby st7 » October 1st, 2024, 10:16 am

wagonrunner wrote:I have 11 on a laptop. I only use that when i''m out.
Single monitor, gets the job done.

This is why the main rig is still on 10. So far there has been no good reason why this function isnt available in 11 for multimontiors natively.

haha... i just have it on the right side in my 2 monitor set up.

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2024, 10:23 am

boy my win10 machine did a mandatory update last week and now a driver not working
fedup of these updates