Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby paid_influencer » September 23rd, 2024, 7:00 pm

what many big multinational companies do is buy goods sold here in tt dollars and sell it regionally for the actually useful currencies

(the goods aren't locally made either. purely spinning a top to get the forex out)
Last edited by paid_influencer on September 23rd, 2024, 7:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2024, 7:03 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:them islands have a way more rational currency system than we. most have put their currency above the govt reach. no prime minister could individually do chit like printing money by giving loan off the central bank. no prime minister could say aye look election coming up lewwe adjust the rate. they cyar even say AS OF MIDNIGHT TONIGHT and change the money system dramatically. when you really look at it we trying to play a "real" country but doing banana republic chit all the time and like it so
Is that why no other country will even touch the tt dollar?

How useless is the TT Dollar outside of Trinidad and Tobago?

Worthless, even Travelex won't buy it.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » September 23rd, 2024, 7:06 pm

adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:them islands have a way more rational currency system than we. most have put their currency above the govt reach. no prime minister could individually do chit like printing money by giving loan off the central bank. no prime minister could say aye look election coming up lewwe adjust the rate. they cyar even say AS OF MIDNIGHT TONIGHT and change the money system dramatically. when you really look at it we trying to play a "real" country but doing banana republic chit all the time and like it so

Who is travel fx in the grand scheme of things

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2024, 7:25 pm

wtf wrote:
adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Who is travel fx in the grand scheme of things

The 30,000 foot view is that you can easily sell TT dollars -- if you happen to have a foreign address and proof of the source of the funds for TTDs in a foreign currency.

Because of increased regulatory pressure caused by various nation's implementations of the US Bank Secrecy Act and Anti-Money Laundering legislation, along with the so-called "de-risking" movement of foreign banks were once connected with the Caribbean, it is difficult to broker currency trade in most of the Caribbean.

Trinidad and Tobago dollars can be sold -- but not if you are in Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby eliteauto » September 23rd, 2024, 8:29 pm

Barbados is worse than us with regard to USD, can't even open a USD account there and all USD purchases need Gov't approval prior.
Our forex crunch is real not artificial, local banks are under pressure, some local companies have tens of millions in USD transactions and cannot get the USD out of the country.
Grenada is much much easier

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 23rd, 2024, 10:41 pm

adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

No idea who Travel FX is, Travelex is the Cambio that's present in basically every major airport worldwide, with thousands of locations, both airport and main street. Some company with one office in Middlesex and no other presence except for online doesn't pass the financial smell test.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 25th, 2024, 10:55 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I put in a request for US$ for a trip next month.
In August I was able to have received £300 which was almost 400USD.

Capture.PNG

Scotia has advised me I can get US$300
So that's US$540 in total.
Capture.JPG

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 25th, 2024, 11:16 am

triniterribletim wrote:
adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

No idea who Travel FX is, Travelex is the Cambio that's present in basically every major airport worldwide, with thousands of locations, both airport and main street. Some company with one office in Middlesex and no other presence except for online doesn't pass the financial smell test.

No response from adnj yes

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 25th, 2024, 1:05 pm

How much USD going for on the black market nowadays?

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2024, 1:27 pm

7.5-8.25

triniterribletim wrote:How much USD going for on the black market nowadays?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 25th, 2024, 3:09 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Money, if you need US$ from me, feel free to ask.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=714660&start=300#p10430181

Isn't that screenshot something different from what the poster was referring to?

Postby redmanjp » September 25th, 2024, 3:40 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:Is that why no other country will even touch the tt dollar?

Money, if you need US$ from me, feel free to ask.

https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vi ... #p10430181

Isn't that screenshot something different from what the poster was referring to?

it's not in US - what's the US rate?

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby hover11 » October 30th, 2024, 6:38 pm

PNM Performance
FB_IMG_1730327843411.jpg

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 30th, 2024, 6:44 pm

By next year it might be less than $1000/month at Scotia.

Scotia

As we continue to navigate the Foreign Exchange considerations prevailing within our country, please be advised that effective December 1, 2024, the maximum US dollar spending limit per calendar month on your Scotiabank credit card will be reduced as follows, until further notice: -

Aero® Mastercard Black: USD $5,000.
All other personal cards: USD $2,000.

This change includes all transactions conducted outside of Trinidad and Tobago along with all international online transactions. All local TT dollar transactions conducted online or at merchants remain unaffected. Further details will be sent to some credit cardholders advising of other adjustments. Additionally, your ScotiaCard Visa DEBIT will no longer offer overseas point-of-sale purchases nor ATM withdrawals.

Postby paid_influencer » October 30th, 2024, 6:49 pm

shaneelal wrote:By next year it might be less than $1000/month at Scotia.

Scotia

As we continue to navigate the Foreign Exchange considerations prevailing within our country, please be advised that effective December 1, 2024, the maximum US dollar spending limit per calendar month on your Scotiabank credit card will be reduced as follows, until further notice: -

Aero® Mastercard Black: USD $5,000.
All other personal cards: USD $2,000.

This change includes all transactions conducted outside of Trinidad and Tobago along with all international online transactions. All local TT dollar transactions conducted online or at merchants remain unaffected. Further details will be sent to some credit cardholders advising of other adjustments. Additionally, your ScotiaCard Visa DEBIT will no longer offer overseas point-of-sale purchases nor ATM withdrawals.

bodow.

ppl complaining say the Visa Debit only giving them limited at ATM or foreign Point of Sales -- take that. NONE for allyuh, it doh work at ALL now.

and yuh damn right, $1000/month limit on credit cards coming sooner rather than later.

trinis who doh hear need to feel

Postby sMASH » October 30th, 2024, 6:55 pm

Wtf imburt doing ...
FB_IMG_1730328878179.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » October 30th, 2024, 6:58 pm

trinis too facking happy. visa debit card was working good then inshan start to bawl up the limit too low etc -- jackhole cause scotia to shut down the whole thing.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2024, 7:01 pm

it’s not inshan fault
you think the bank doesn’t see all the foreign atm transactions repeatedly showing that a local has their card physically in usa or canada being sucked every day

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2024, 7:02 pm

will be even harder to open a bank acct and cc in other banks now

Postby Dave » October 30th, 2024, 7:03 pm

Blow by blow....
The masses would not take this lightly.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2024, 7:03 pm

they ain’t riot yet
and only want to go and buy cars

Dave wrote:Blow by blow....

Postby paid_influencer » October 30th, 2024, 7:10 pm

I like the language in the notice.

"We thank you for your continued understanding throughout these adjustments"

very clearly saying more adjustments to come

take bull.

Postby hover11 » October 30th, 2024, 7:17 pm

PNM people are very happy and contented throughout this entire forex issue which has been happening for years and not a dog dare bark at their master

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2024, 7:24 pm

and impsbert boasting about no inflation
when crunch time hits and black market usd takes over we can expect hyper inflation
but it will be interesting to see car prices remain the same since they getting the legal usd whilst everybody else sucking salt

Postby paid_influencer » October 30th, 2024, 7:28 pm

car prices funny because if the cars priced too high, less ppl would buy (less sales) except for the premium indefatigable consumers

allyuh still have a month to spend so suck harddd this black friday
Last edited by paid_influencer on October 30th, 2024, 7:30 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Dave » October 30th, 2024, 7:29 pm

pugboy wrote:and impsbert boasting about no inflation
when crunch time hits and black market usd takes over we can expect hyper inflation
but it will be interesting to see car prices remain the same since they getting the legal usd whilst everybody else sucking salt
Limiting Forex is inflation plain and simple.

computercentral

Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby computercentral » October 30th, 2024, 8:28 pm

Meh black card from scotiabank cut in half 5k USD now

Postby hover11 » October 30th, 2024, 8:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:car prices funny because if the cars priced too high, less ppl would buy (less sales) except for the premium indefatigable consumers

allyuh still have a month to spend so suck harddd this black friday
Range rover , kia and Corolla will still sell, banks will just extend the loan periods, instead of 10 years might be 15 years to pay off

Postby The_Honourable » October 30th, 2024, 8:49 pm

hover11 wrote:
PNM people are very happy and contented throughout this entire forex issue which has been happening for years and not a dog dare bark at their master

Because they studying grant, hdc and fete. You really think they understand what forex is?

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2024, 8:58 pm

yeah but when the prices start running away due to our continued excessive tastes it will be interesting to see how it plays out
mind you barbados has currency controls and i am not sure how their price inflation is or if stable and the haves continue to to have and the nots just live without

Dave wrote:
pugboy wrote:and impsbert boasting about no inflation
Limiting Forex is inflation plain and simple.