Mmoney607 wrote:PariaMan wrote:Traveling
Small business purchases
Bringing in their own vehicles to bypass the stealershipd
Buying hard to get parts for your vehicle while trying to avoid excessive markups
Ladies and Shein
Ect ect
Credit card could take care of most on that list
The_Honourable wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:PariaMan wrote:Traveling
Small business purchases
Buying hard to get parts for your vehicle while trying to avoid excessive markups
Ladies and Shein
Ect ect
Not everybody is qualified to get a credit card, harder to get if you have loans or mortgages
Even if you do get a credit card, the bank can give you one with a low forex limit. To make matters worse, banks are reducing forex on credit cards across the board.
Some understand the trappings of a credit card and choose to stay away from it.
Cash is king if your credit card is lost, compromised or the bank disables it while you are travelling.
Then there are those who believe that banks don't need to know all your legitimate transactions.
triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
Mmoney607 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:PariaMan wrote:Traveling
Small business purchases
Ladies and Shein
Ect ect
Not everybody is qualified to get a credit card, harder to get if you have loans or mortgages
Even if you do get a credit card, the bank can give you one with a low forex limit. To make matters worse, banks are reducing forex on credit cards across the board.
Some understand the trappings of a credit card and choose to stay away from it.
Cash is king if your credit card is lost, compromised or the bank disables it while you are travelling.
Then there are those who believe that banks don't need to know all your legitimate transactions.
Cash only applies to credit card and if you don't have two credit cards, traveling is risky, never know what could happen out there
paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
the banks does give you just enough rope to hang yourself
Predatory lending is the name of the game, there is no legislation for such so they exploit it to the fullest, Island finance is the worst , dealing with them is similar to selling your soul to the devil. The ppl who do business with these institutions have little to no financial management skillsVexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
People who can’t control finances hang themselves. The banking system is a useful tool for most normal working folks who use it to uplift themselves whether it’s a car or house. Not gonna say the banks blameless eh, them fawkers do some serious predatory lending too.
hover11 wrote:Predatory lending is the name of the game, there is no legislation for such so they exploit it to the fullest, Island finance is the worst , dealing with them is similar to selling your soul to the devil. The ppl who do business with these institutions have little to no financial management skillsVexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
People who can’t control finances hang themselves. The banking system is a useful tool for most normal working folks who use it to uplift themselves whether it’s a car or house. Not gonna say the banks blameless eh, them fawkers do some serious predatory lending too.
Evidence?adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Predatory lending is the name of the game, there is no legislation for such so they exploit it to the fullest, Island finance is the worst , dealing with them is similar to selling your soul to the devil. The ppl who do business with these institutions have little to no financial management skillsVexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
False.
hover11 wrote:Evidence?
PariaMan wrote:Went to FCB to borrow money to build an apartment below my house they said ok, they will lend me 60 to build, but they will keep 20 in a fixed deposit
I said, "How will I finish the apartment and rent it out to pay back the loan if you keep 20?"
That, to me, is predatory behavior.
I ended up getting a home equity loan from TTMF with the full amount in my account and roughly the same installment
hover11 wrote:Predatory lending is the name of the game, there is no legislation for such so they exploit it to the fullest, Island finance is the worst , dealing with them is similar to selling your soul to the devil. The ppl who do business with these institutions have little to no financial management skillsVexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
AlphaMan wrote:hover11 wrote:Predatory lending is the name of the game, there is no legislation for such so they exploit it to the fullest, Island finance is the worst , dealing with them is similar to selling your soul to the devil. The ppl who do business with these institutions have little to no financial management skillsVexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
I know someone who borrow a loan from island finance to buy a Nissan np 300..
Guy said he knows what he's doing.![]()
Lmao the money he borrowed from them he could have bought two vans when they done with him. If he says he knows what he doing leave him.AlphaMan wrote:hover11 wrote:Predatory lending is the name of the game, there is no legislation for such so they exploit it to the fullest, Island finance is the worst , dealing with them is similar to selling your soul to the devil. The ppl who do business with these institutions have little to no financial management skillsVexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
Guy said he knows what he's doing.
hover11 wrote:Lmao the money he borrowed from them he could have bought two vans when they done with him. If he says he knows what he doing leave him.AlphaMan wrote:hover11 wrote:Predatory lending is the name of the game, there is no legislation for such so they exploit it to the fullest, Island finance is the worst , dealing with them is similar to selling your soul to the devil. The ppl who do business with these institutions have little to no financial management skillsVexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:triniterribletim wrote:If you don't have the equivalent of 1000 USD just knocking around in a bank account, you're not the sort of person they would want to give a credit card to. Back in the day I had to secure my first credit card with a deposit of 500 USD, but they probably don't go that low now. If you don't have 7000 TTD that you can just let sit and chill in an Abercrombie, then unless you are independently wealthy, have a well paying job or a government job, it's hard luck for you. If you get your foot in the door, then it's only a simple matter of spending and paying a decent amount each month, like passing all your expenses through the card and then paying off your balance and the increases should come. My first increase went from 3500 to 8000 and the second three months after that to 17000. DO NOT FALL INTO A DEBT TRAP AND DO NOT USE IT LIKE A LOAN. ONLY SPEND WHAT YOU CAN COVER WITHIN THE CYCLE. This is very important.
Guy said he knows what he's doing.
So you mean trinis out here can't do simple maths to calculate how much they sinking themselves, na boi we reach.The_Honourable wrote:On one of them cheds about loans, island finance was 29-30% interest per annum.
Trinis signing up normal not understanding what that means and ignoring fine print.
The_Honourable wrote:On one of them cheds about loans, island finance was 29-30% interest per annum.
Trinis signing up normal not understanding what that means and ignoring fine print.
hover11 wrote:So you mean trinis out here can't do simple maths to calculate how much they sinking themselves, na boi we reach.The_Honourable wrote:On one of them cheds about loans, island finance was 29-30% interest per annum.
The_Honourable wrote:PariaMan wrote:Went to FCB to borrow money to build an apartment below my house they said ok, they will lend me 60 to build, but they will keep 20 in a fixed deposit
I said, "How will I finish the apartment and rent it out to pay back the loan if you keep 20?"
I ended up getting a home equity loan from TTMF with the full amount in my account and roughly the same installment
They tried that with me also during the "more the merrier" promotion two years ago. Wanted 80k borrow for renovations, they said no problem, all my docs in order, to tell me i am "approved" but you can only get 68k cash, 2k or so would go to fees and they keep 10k in an account to "build up my savings"
pugboy wrote:you have to understand how they think of it from a risk point of view
they put you in a position of full $20k collateral and assume that you would eventually be at least be able to have the means to pay $40k plus what ever interest
so their risk is only on the $40kThe_Honourable wrote:PariaMan wrote:Went to FCB to borrow money to build an apartment below my house they said ok, they will lend me 60 to build, but they will keep 20 in a fixed deposit
They tried that with me also during the "more the merrier" promotion two years ago. Wanted 80k borrow for renovations, they said no problem, all my docs in order, to tell me i am "approved" but you can only get 68k cash, 2k or so would go to fees and they keep 10k in an account to "build up my savings"
Chimera wrote:The owner of island finance
Screenshot_20240922_214932_Chrome.jpg
goalpost wrote:Ent once you pay minimum payment, no interest? Idk eh.
I use my CC for large purchases e.g. trips, hotels, groceries. I recently decided to use it for a downpayment on a new vehicle (I have the cash, wanted the points), and followed that up with plane tickets and hotel to Panama for Christmas (don't have all the cash, but will soon enough) , so I probably down by about 50k in cc debt. Will pay it off before the end of the year, but still, I've done this many times, and then pay it down. I do not use CC for anything else really.
goalpost wrote:Ent once you pay minimum payment, no interest? Idk eh.
I use my CC for large purchases e.g. trips, hotels, groceries. I recently decided to use it for a downpayment on a new vehicle (I have the cash, wanted the points), and followed that up with plane tickets and hotel to Panama for Christmas (don't have all the cash, but will soon enough) , so I probably down by about 50k in cc debt. Will pay it off before the end of the year, but still, I've done this many times, and then pay it down. I do not use CC for anything else really.